The Heroine’s Journey of Sandy Kim

I am an actress and filmmaker

What is the best thing that I love about my work? I have a burning need to tell stories through character and images. To be able to connect to others by embodying different characters in varying circumstances is the greatest gift.

What is my idea of perfect happiness? I don’t believe there is such a thing, but I embrace the notion of imperfect happiness. Being grateful for what you have. Choosing to find joy wherever and whenever you can. I believe you will always be disappointed if you think that someday you will find some magical “perfect” state.

What is my greatest fear? On a personal level my greatest fear is of making mistakes as a mother that will negatively impact my child’s life. On a professional level it is to “play it safe” and not fight hard enough for my characters and stories.

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself? That I sometimes allow my self doubt to paralyze me.

Which living persons in my profession do i most admire? There are so many but in the filmmaker category I admire Deepa Mehta – because she doesn’t back away from making films that deal with topics that often inspire controversy and are banned in some countries. She continued to make films even after receiving death threats for films such as “Fire” which dealt with a lesbian relationship between two sisters in law in a Hindu family. In the actress category I deeply admire Meryl Streep, not only for her extraordinary versatility in that she can portray any type of character brilliantly, across many genres, but because she has stood up for herself as a performer and did not just obediently take orders from Directors or writers who she worked with.

What is my greatest extravagance? I do love to shop for clothes and shoes. I wouldn’t say it’s an extravagance though.

On what occasion would I lie? I have always said that I won’t kick someone when they are down. So if someone asks me my opinion about their work and I believe in them, I always try to find something positive to share, because I believe that you can always find something positive to say if you look hard enough. However sometimes I am not in love with their work or their approach. I don’t think that’s lying per se. But I may not tell them exactly what I feel in that moment, because that’s more about me than them, and I’d rather encourage someone than shoot them down.

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work? As an actress, filmmakers who are flaky, completely disorganized and who lack real respect for their actors and crew. As a filmmaker, the administrative and business part of filmmaking is a drudgery. A necessary evil, but a creativity killer.

When and where was I the happiest, in my work? I just wrapped filming on Portrait of an Addict, a story that I wrote, produced and acted in. It was far from perfect, but it was the first time that I ever watched myself perform and didn’t immediately hate it and tear myself down. I am happiest when I leave my EGO at the door and focus on fighting hard on behalf of my characters.

If I could, what would I change about myself? I struggle with this philosophically, but truth be told I would change my physical appearance if I could. I would also strive to be more patient. But since neither will happen, I work on learning to accept and embrace and work on continuous self improvement.

What is my greatest achievement in work? I have had a number of people (actors, students, aspiring writers, filmmakers) over the years tell me that I was an inspiration to them. I love to mentor others and push people to take risks in the pursuit of their art and passion. That has meant the world to me.

Where would I most like to live? I would ideally love to have a home in Phoenix and near NYC.

What is my most treasured possession? Photographs of cherished memories and milestones in my life.

What is my most marked characteristic? Tenacity to the point of being highly annoying to those around me.

What is my most inspirational location, in my city? My current city is a suburb outside of Phoenix. Hiking any of the mountains here always brings my inspiration and grounds me. But more often, I will see a place and find that it makes me think of a story that might take place there. It could be anything – an abandoned warehouse, a graffiti filled alley.

What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city? Lately I am obsessed with an Ethiopian restaurant called GOJO in Phoenix.

What books influenced my life and how? The Giving Tree by Shel Silverstein because it is such a simple yet beautiful reminder of unconditional love. Ralph Waldo Emerson’s Self Reliance and Other essays because it was the first time I was introduced the idea of non conformity.

Who are my favorite writers? Hard to say but lately I have gone back to try to read Albert Camus’ The Stranger. I have always loved J.D. Salinger –The Catcher in the Rye.

You Only Die Once. What music would I listen on my last day? This is a tough one because music is so important to me and I have such a broad range of musical tastes. I would probably have the Grateful Dead channel on.

Who is my hero or heroine in fiction? I have recently been reminded how much I adore Princess Leia of the Star wars movies because she was bad ass as they come.

Who are my heroes and heroines in real life? My parents for sure. My father taught me by example that you can overcome any obstacle if you choose to. My mother because she continues to grow as a person and has great inner strength too. My husband because he has such a combination of strength and humanity. My son because he pushes through so many obstacles and is such a quiet hero.

Which movie would i recommend to see once in a lifetime? The Godfather!

What role plays art in my life and work? The broadest definition of art plays a crucial role in my daily life and work. I believe that to be an actress, or filmmaker you must be an artist. You create characters from words and ideas and bring them to life.

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime? My husband Dave Limone is definitely the biggest supporter in my life. My brother Marcus A. Stricklin has been my filmmaker partner and has had my back always.

Whom would I like to work with in 2017? Local filmmakers LeeAnn Cone, Lee Quarrie, Gita Farid, Kevin Phipps, Shanice Malakai, Carla Griffin

Which people in my profession would i love to meet in 2017? Anyone willing to pursue their passions and create, but no one in particular.

What project, in 2017, am I looking forward to work on? My lastest film Portrait of an Addict is being edited and I am beyond excited to watching the raw footage materialize into the story I envisioned. I am working on writing some very short films this year so that I can learn more about writing and directing.

Where can you see me or my work in 2017?

On Youtube under the name FutureLegendProd. https://www.youtube.com/user/FutureLegendProd

or at my personal Youtube channel at https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCBaejUdKqCRdXJ5Aju15oWw

What do the words “Passion Never Retires” mean to me? When you love what you do, it is not work and you will relentlessly pursue it for as long as you can.

Which creative heroines should Peter invite to tell their story? Lee Ann Cone, Gita Farid, Shanice Malakai, Lee Quarrie

How can you contact me? Via facebook at https://www.facebook.com/sandykimactor or email at Sandykimactor@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

