The Heroine’s Journey of Elisa Boldori

What is the best thing that I love about my work?  It’s not worth to talk about reincarnation or past life, but I can feel my love for aesthetics inside myself since forever; my brain can produce very clear images of how things should be. In addition, having attended a fashion school (I.E.D., in Milan) and having worked for some years as a fashion designer, have helped me in sharpening my taste and making it real. Especially, I can mention my experience in Diesel, where the research and the study of vintage clothes and accessories were essential.

As a result, what I like more about Vanitas, as an organizer of events in the vintage and emerging brands world, is seeking and selecting the exhibitors and the people I cooperate with. I like to discover new talents and to create different concepts for each event, in order to inspire both exhibitors and visitors. That’s why I work a lot with Instagram (https://www.instagram.com/vanitasonline/) and Pinterest (https://it.pinterest.com/vanitasmarket/)

What is my idea of perfect happiness? In fact, perfect happiness is just an idea. It is an ambition I try to reach every single day, trying to stay true to myself and to not betray my passions and my heart. I do not believe in repression and sacrifice in the name of rationality. Human beings often forget their animal instinct, which is the real engine of life, and their basic physical and emotional needs; there is where illness and sadness begin.

What is my greatest fear? I fear loneliness, even if it is a condition that suits me. I like being and working alone, but I also have a strong need of getting in touch with other people, being loved, nurturing relationships, and sharing emotions.

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself? I am aware of most of my flaws, and now I learned to accept them and to drive them to something useful, both for my work and my life. Basically, I am very fussy and I tend to be jealous, mostly about female beauty. I pretend a lot from people and from myself as well. I tend to depression, and I’d like to have more vigor and positive energy. In addition to all this, I am lazy, but this helps me being very efficient in finding the most economic way to do things.

Which living persons in my profession do i most admire? I can’t think to a specific person. I owe a lot to Diesel, and to the people who helped me getting there. When I was working there I was too young to appreciate it to the fullest, but in the end it made me a more conscious person, and it gave me big opportunities for a girl in her twenties. It

opened my mind and filled it with aesthetic suggestions that are still inside me.
What is my greatest extravagance? Love.

                                                                                                                                                                      On what occasion would I lie? I intend to be always sincere. I would only lie if the pain I could arouse would be too hard to tolerate for the people involved. Sometimes, the confession is a way to clean our conscience and to face the fear of our mistakes.

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work? Being forced to have a strong willpower every single day. Working on your own is a daily rigor exercise. I often stay at home alone, working on my PC, wearing a pajamas. This certainly does not improve my self esteem and makes me nervous and unpleasant at the end of the day.

When and where was I the happiest, in my work? Every time I receive little demonstrations of regard: a nice note from a client, a sincere compliment, the loyalty of my exhibitors even when it happens that an event is under their expectations. Being aware that I worked well, and reaping the benefits of it.

If I could, what would I change about myself? I’d like to be less complicated, and more capable to loosen up. Physically, I would change my nose and breast. I’m not against nip and tuck, but I am forced to avoid surgery as much as possible due to serious past health problems.

What is my greatest achievement in work? Having built my activity from nothing, and still making it running after 10 years. I have been one of the first organizers of street markets in Italy, and I am proud of it.

Where would I most like to live? There is a gulf between me wanting to live where I grew, surrounded by old friends, and me wanting to live and breath fresh air. I like very much Berlin, Warsaw, Copenhagen, Hamburg…unfortunately, the weather there is so cold!

What is my most treasured possession? My daughter, Bianca, who is 4. She’s so special, but also very hard to handle. Sometimes, I would like her to be less smart and empathetic because I believe that this would simplify her life.

What is my most marked characteristic? My nose, the red lipstick, bangs haircut, and being a pain in the butt.

What is my most inspirational location, in my city? The banks of the Po river, where I ride my bike. It’s still a wild surrounding, green, where you can forget being yourself, and just be.

What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city? The Chocolat Cafè: it’s a meeting point for all my friends. My favorite dish is the cotechino burger with roasted potatoes, the Coteking. (https://www.facebook.com/chocolatcafecremona/?fref=ts)

What books influenced my life and how? House of Incest” by Anaïs Nin.

Who are my favorite writers? I read a little bit of everything, especially when the stories are thorny, contorted, sick. Isabella Santacroce, for example, who is an Italian pulp writer, and all her generation, like Enrico Brizzi and Niccolò Ammaniti.

You Only Die Once. What music would I listen on my last day? Teardrop” by Massive Attack, from the album “Mezzanine” (1998).

Who is my hero or heroine in fiction? Carmilla, the vampire protagonist of the novel by Sheridan Le Fanu.

Who are my heroes and heroines in real life? The ones who are able to give themselves to the others without giving up themselves.

Which movie would i recommend to see once in a lifetime? Velvet Goldmine (Todd Haynes, 1998)

What role plays art in my life and work? For me, Art is the union of aesthetic and emotion; a marriage between archetypes and innovative visions. Art lays in the handmade creations of my exhibitors, in the different concepts of my exhibitions, in the artworks of the artists and designers I cooperate with.

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime? The WWW. And my husband, the rational part of me.

Whom would I like to work with in 2017? With those who don’t want to work with me no more. I need to be very persuasive!

Which people in my profession would i love to meet in 2017? Same as last question!

What project, in 2017, am I looking forward to work on? I will continue organizing the Vanitas’ Market and I will seek new interesting locations, maybe also abroad! In addition, I have also a couple of completely different projects: a collection of short stories that reread some famous fairy tales in a modern and slightly erotic key. They will be illustrated by an artist I worked with for a past edition of the Vanitas’ Market, Notawonderboy (https://www.facebook.com/Notawonderboy-278049022217505/?fref=ts). I still need to submit them to my official proof-reader, my husband Paolo…so I don’t know if the collection will be ready within 2017! More, I have a project of a fanzine, but it’s still just in my head because I can’t find the time to make it real.

Where can you see me or my work in 2017? Online on my website (http://www.vanitasonline.com) and my Facebook profile (https://www.facebook.com/people/Elisa-Boldori/100000214866878), or in person at the Vanitas’ Market! The biggest events are those organized in Cremona three times per year (May, October and December) at the April 25th Gallery, in the city center.

The Vanitas’ Market could be find also in Iseo every first Sunday of the month, in this very nice little town near Brescia located by the Iseo lake.

What do the words “Passion Never Retires” mean to me? Passion is the engine of my life. Passion for what I love and for what I want: people, things, or situations. I hope that I will never ever lose it.

Which creative heroines should Peter invite to tell their story? Sara Costantini Riccomi, very talented costume designer (https://www.facebook.com/saret.costantini?fref=ts). Cleo Viper, burlesque performer (https://www.facebook.com/cleo.vipera). Roberta Garbin, muse of various contemporary artists and owner of the “Pazzesque” shop in Bologna (https://www.facebook.com/pazzesquepuntocom/). Cinzia Manfredini, mastermind of the project Vita Privata Home Gallery (Private Life Home Gallery): an art gallery set up in a beautiful ancient noble palace in Cremona (https://www.facebook.com/vitaprivatahg/?fref=ts)

How can you contact me?

Write me on Facebook (https://www.facebook.com/people/Elisa-Boldori/100000214866878)

or email- me: info@vanitasonline.com

Leave a Reply

