The Heroine’s Journey of Maeva Rieu

What is the best thing that I love about my work? In my work, I love being on stage because I’m an other person on stage and I feel so good when I dance with lights on me, music…

What is my idea of perfect happiness? For me, the perfect happiness is dancing all my life, in some countries and I would like to create a new type of dance.

What is my greatest fear? My greatest fear is to be abandoned by a person that I love.

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself? I’m always so perfectionist and I can making myself ill because of that. Then, I have a strong personality and some people don’t accept it but I just say the things that I think.

Which living persons in my profession do i most admire? I love Pina Bausch’s work because she works with emotions of each of his dancers and they alone represent a masterpiece. She’s dead but it’s my favorite dancer.

What is my greatest extravagance? When I hear music in the shop, in public transport or when I listen to music in the street or in public places, I’m compelled to dance: people look at me and they must think that i’m crazy but I love it!!

On what occasion would I lie? I lie when I don’t want to hurt a person.

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work? In my work, I don’t find negative aspects, I love learning new things and it’s not a chore.

When and where was I the happiest, in my work? I’m the happiest when I was on stage in the Opera of Avignon. I did dancing shows and I loved the time where we repeat the choreographies in this place. I felt so good in this place because I felt really “me” and I thought “it’s what I want to do all my life”: give pleasure to people, make them happier in one second with my smile and my dance.

If I could, what would I change about myself? I wouldn’t change myself because I always fought to be accepted as I am and I’m not perfect but I’m happy like that. I always say “if you don’t love me, I don’t care”.

What is my greatest achievement in work? My work permited to me to gain self confidence and for me, it’s the must important thing and the most important achievement.

Where would I most like to live? I would like to travel all around the world to discover some civilizations to mix differents type of dances and create a new style of dancing.

What is my most treasured possession? My treasured possession is undoubtedly my mother, my grand mother and my “Fantastic Four” who are my best friends and my boyfriend.

What is my most marked characteristic? I’m a very funny person, I love making people laugh. I’m very faithful and I most think about the happiness of my friends that me.

What is my most inspirational location, in my city? It’s my childhood house which inspire me because it’s a place where I love being and there are so much remembers in this place, it is full of emotions and it is for the reason that my dance is also.

What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city? In my city (Avignon), I love drinking a “Monaco” (beer + strawberry syrup) in a place named “Place Pie”.

What books influenced my life and how? I must confess that I don’t like reading but John Green made me want to read because his books are real: we can easily identify with the characters. Sometimes, he brought me some answers about the life in general or about my life. I don’t want to release his books and my parents were very surprised and very happy. I love Molière too because he turns serious subjects in a overwhelming humour.

Who are my favorite writers?My favorite writers are John Green, Oscar Wilde, Molière.

You Only Die Once. What music would I listen on my last day? I would listen to “Plume” by Nekfeu, a french rapper then I listen to happy songs to not think about the dead.

Who is my hero or heroine in fiction? I don’t have a hero because I don’t like venerating a person. I admire a person when I know her personally and because I share some strong moments with her.

Who are my heroes and heroines in real life? My heroine is my mother because she’s so strong! I know that she carried so much heinous things.. She is my example!! I’m so proud that she is my mother because she gives me her strenght every day and her determination. I AM NOTHING WITHOUT HER!!!

Which movie would i recommend to see once in a lifetime? I think that we need to look “Seven Lives” with Will Smith because it’s a real life lesson.

What role plays art in my life and work? Art is just my life. I wake up, I’m dancing, as soon as I do anything, I’m dancing: since the day I walked, I danced. Me and the dance, it’s a love incomprehensible.

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime? I love this question, aha! My greatest fan is my grand mother (76 years old) who do stretches with me and my best friend, Julie who is always present for me.

Whom would I like to work with in 2017? I would like to work with hip hop dancers and open me to others forms of dance (dancehall, african, street dancing..) to become the most complete as possible.

Which people in my profession would i love to meet in 2017? I would like to meet dancers who dance all around the world because I love knowing the process of others dancers, what they have crossed in their life and why they do this work.

What project, in 2017, am I looking forward to work on? I will realize some videos about my work to share my passion with people again and again. And I would like to obtain certificates to allow me to teach dancing.

Where can you see me or my work in 2017? I think you can see this videos on social networking (youtube, facebook…).

What do the words “Passion Never Retires” mean to me? “Passion Never Retires” mean to me that if we have a passion, never we come to stop it because it’s a part of us, without our passion, we die. My passion is the reason why I wake up every morning the smile on my face and why I go to bed with the feeling to have grow.

How can you contact me?
You can contact me on my adress mail mvrieu@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

