The Heroine’s Journey of Maylin Pultar

What is the best thing that I love about my work? The best thing about my work is the excitement of doing a variety of different things. I write songs with partners or alone, I’m in the studio recording, I perform live, I go on tour. I enjoy the fact that it’s not just one type of activity and so I can express different aspects of my personality : the introspective sensitive person, the creator, the performer, the traveller, the solitary, the outgoing, social person. There is a tremendous discipline involved in what we do but there is no boring routine.

L’excitation de faire des choses variées : j’écris des chansons avec des partenaires ou seule, j’enregistre en studio, je fais des concerts, des tournées.Les différentes facettes de ma personnalité s’expriment : la personne sensible, créative, introspective, la « show-woman », la solitaire, la sociable, la voyageuse. Notre travail demande beaucoup de discipline mais pas de routine ennuyeuse.

What is my idea of perfect happiness? I don’t believe in perfect happiness. I believe that we experience recurring instants when we feel blessed or in a state of harmony and grace, because what we do in that moment makes sense. I try not to be attached to the idea of feeling happy. It is more important to me to feel whatever is there, and to know that if it is something rather painful, I will have the courage and patience to get passed it.

Je ne crois pas au bonheur parfait, il y a des instants récurrents où je me sens dans un état d’harmonie et de grâce parce que dans ces moments-là tout a un sens. J’essaie de ne pas m’attacher au sentiment de bonheur. Ce qui est important c’est d’être vraiment en phase avec ce qu’on ressent et si c’est un sentiment inconfortable, d’avoir alors le courage et la patience de le traverser et le dépasser.

What is my greatest fear? My greatest fear would be to be abandoned by my close ones and to be isolated.

Ma plus grande peur est d’être abandonnée par mes proches et d’être isolée.

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself? I wish I didn’t push myself so hard all the time, I’m a perfectionist and so I put a lot of pressure on myself.

J’aimerais ne pas constamment me pousser au max. Je suis perfectionniste et par conséquent je m’inflige beaucoup de pression.

Which living persons in my profession do i most admire? Bob Dylan is the person I admire most in my profession. Thanks to his phenomenal talent, culture and hard work, he is an artist who has experienced incredible longevity in his field, despite his very singular voice and sometimes mysterious lyrics. He has remained sincere and authentic throughout his life. Embracing and expressing who one truly is takes tremendous courage.Tom Waits is another artist I admire, for similar reasons, he is an original.

J’admire Bob Dylan. Grâce à son talent phénoménal, sa culture et son travail, il connaît une longévité dans son domaine, tout en ayant une voix très particulière et des textes obscurs. Il est resté sincère et authentique tout au long de sa vie.Accepter et exprimer qui on est véritablement demande énormément de courage.Tom Waits est un autre artiste que j’admire pour des raisons similaires, il est en dehors des normes.

What is my greatest extravagance? My greatest extravagance is to believe once in a while that my work counts.

Penser parfois que ce que je fais compte pour les autres.

On what occasion would I lie? I have lied when I thought the truth would hurt someone and not help a situation.Another reason why I’ve lied was because I thought that the truth would not be accepted. I realize that being truthful starts with being truthful to oneself, and there is nothing wrong with that. In the end, we are the ones we lie to, most of the time.

J’ai menti en pensant que cela pouvait faire de la peine à quelqu’un sans améliorer la situation. Ou aussi quand j’ai pensé que la vérité ne serait pas acceptée. Je me rends compte qu’être honnête commence par l’être avec soi-même, et qu’il n’y a rien de mal là-dedans. Au final, la plupart du temps nous sommes nous-même ceux à qui nous mentons.

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work? Not having enough people around in charge of administrative matters, which takes time off my creative work.

Ne pas avoir assez de personnes pour m’aider aux tâches administratives qui m’éloignent de mon travail créatif.

When and where was I the happiest, in my work? Right now actually, as I am recording my new album « naked truth ». I am surrounded by extremely talented people with whom I have great human and artistic chemistry and respect. The music I’m doing really matches how I feel at the moment, plus I have now reached a level of artistry that gives me more creative freedom than ever before. All of these elements combined are making this experience the most exciting I have ever felt. The result is an act of pure sincerity and love.

Acuellement, en train d’enregistrer mon album « naked truth ». Je suis entourée de gens très talentueux avec qui j’ai des affinités artistiques et humaines et beaucoup de respect mutuel.La musique que je fais reflète bien qui je suis en ce moment et mes progrès techniques me donnent maintenant plus de liberté créative que jamais. Tous ces éléments font que c’est une expérience très gratifiante. Le résultat est un acte de grande sincérité et d’amour.

If I could, what would I change about myself? I try to accept where I’m at, and not be disappointed that I’m not the ideal person I dream of being.

J’essaie d’accepter là où j’en suis et de ne pas être déçue de ne pas être la personne idéale que je rêverais être.

What is my greatest achievement in work? My greatest achievement in my work is probably the fact that I am still doing it despite all the obstacles I’ve been through and despite the disappointments. I enjoy my work and I believe in it.

Mon plus grand accomplissement est probablement le fait de toujours faire ce métier malgré les obstacles et les déceptions dont j’ai pu faire l’expérience. Je crois en mon travail et j’apprécie de le faire.

Where would I most like to live? Anywhere ! I am willing to discover a completely different lifestyle, different customs, etc, I am open, as long as I am with people I love and who love me.

Peu importe ! Je suis partante pour découvrir d’autres styles de vie, d’autres coutumes, etc. à condition d’être entourée de personnes que j’aime et qui m’aiment.

What is my most treasured possession? My résilience.

Ma ténacité.

What is my most marked characteristic? My booming laughter.

Mon rire tonitruant.

What is my most inspirational location, in my city? Crossing the bridges of Paris (such as le « pont des Arts ») at the break of dawn is magic, I like to watch the river flow and the historical buildings in the background.

Traverser les ponts de Paris (comme le pont des Arts) au lever du soleil est magique, j’aime regarder glisser la rivière avec en arrière-plan les bâtiments historiques.

What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city? I love to go and share a meal at my friend Carine’s house. She is a great cook, and makes everything from scratch. I love the family atmosphere with our kids running around and playing as we have our own conversations. For an afternoon coffee, a friendly or professional meeting I like to go to Le Pigalle, rue Frochot, it is cosy: you sit in couches, it’s not a scene, but it’s lively enough so you feel human warmth. And it is elegant but not stiff .

J’adore partager un repas chez mon amie Carine. Elle est très bonne cuisinière et prépare tout elle-même. J’aime l’atmosphère familiale avec nos enfants qui courent partout et jouent alors que nous avons nos propres conversations. Pour un café l’après midi, un rendez-vous amical ou professionnel, j’aime bien Le Pigalle, rue Frochot dans le 9e. C’est intime : on est assis sur des canapés, ce n’est pas branché mais c’est vivant et chaleureux. Et puis c’est élégant sans être coincé.

What books influenced my life and how? The letters to a young poet by Rilke : I read it at a period of my life when I was considering embracing a career as an actress, and I felt like Rilke was talking to me directly.

Les lettres à un jeune poète de Rilke, je les ai lues à un moment où il était question pour moi d’entamer une carrière d’actrice, et c’était comme si Rilke s’adressait à moi personnellement.

Who are my favorite writers? Too many. Different writers speak to me at different times.

Il y en a trop, certains me parlent à des moments différents.

You Only Die Once. What music would I listen on my last day? Music that puts a smile on my face and makes me want to get up and dance, like « Tekere » by Salif Keita.

Une musique qui me mettrait le sourire aux lèvres et me donnerait envie de danser comme « Tekere » de Salif Keita.

Who is my hero or heroine in fiction? Ogami Ittō, The hero of the 70’s manga « Lone Wolf and Cub ». I love Samourais, and their history.

Ogami Ittō, le héro de la série manga des années 70 « Lone Wolf and Cub ». J’adore les samourais, et leur histoire.

Who are my heroes and heroines in real life? Nelson Mandela

Which movie would I recommend to see once in a lifetime? « Down by law » by Jim Jarmusch.

What role plays art in my life and work? I go and see art exhibitions on a regular basis. It inpires me as a person and as a performer. I like to be inspired by artistic disciplines outside my own because they feed other dimensions.

Je vais régulièrement voir des expositions d’art. Elles m’inspirent en tant que personne et en tant qu’artiste. Les autres disciplines artistiques nourrissent différentes dimensions chez moi.

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime? My husband, my 6-year-old son, Ricardo and Alex my band-mates, and my aunt Pamela who also is a songwriter.

Mon mari, mon fils de 6 ans, les musiciens avec qui je joue : Alex et Ricardo et ma tante Pamela qui est elle aussi auteure de chansons.

Whom would I like to work with in 2017 : Ben Harper, Joni Lang, Jim Jarmusch.

Which people in my profession would i love to meet in 2017? I would love to meet passionate people who can help our musical project grow, such as : booking agents, people who can help promote the album in a creative way. We would need an artistic/musical director to work on the live shows with us. And also investors /sponsors for the album production and the promotional part (PR, touring, etc.) or even patrons.

J’aimerais rencontrer des gens passionnés qui pourraient aider notre projet musical à grandir, tels que des programmateurs de concert, des tourneurs, des personnes pouvant faire la promotion de l’album de manière créative. Nous aurions besoin d’un directeur artistique/musical pour travailler avec nous sur l’aspect scénique des concerts. Et aussi des investisseurs/ sponsors pour la production de l’album et la promotion (RP, tourneurs, etc.) ou même des mécènes.

What project, in 2017, am I looking forward to work on? Finish producing the new record « naked truth » (anybody can be part of the journey by contributing at https://www.helloasso.com/associations/before-june/collectes/l-album-naked-truth-de-maylin-the-mad-machine) and get the live show on the road to share the songs with people.

Finir la production de mon album « naked truth » (tout individu peut faire partie de notre aventure et contribuer en allant sur https://www.helloasso.com/associations/before-june/collectes/l-album-naked-truth-de-maylin-the-mad-machine) et emmener le spectacle en tournée pour partager les chansons avec le public.

Where can you see me or my work in 2017? http://www.facebook.com/maylinmusicqueen has regular updates.

What do the words “Passion Never Retires” mean to me? Passion is the fuel that keeps me going through thick and thin.

La passion c’est ce qui permet de persister à travers les périodes fastes ou difficiles.

Which creative heroines should Peter invite to tell their story? Milja Kaunisto, a magnificent best-selling author in Finland who is also a musician I used to play with.

How can you contact me? maylinpultar@yahoo.com

Leave a Reply

