The Heroine’s Journey of Mimmi Kandler

What is the best thing that I love about my work? The independency. The freedom and at the same time personal responsibility for my own time, development, success and content.
What is my idea of perfect happiness?  It is when body and soul speaks the same “language”. When I have the opportunity to go all-in in a project physical och mental and enjoy the process. When something inspiring,  that I have created or being involved in with hard work and passion, gives positive results. The insecureness and uncertainty in a freelancers world are in contrast with the happiness to feel free doing what you love most in the world, every day. It is worth every second of it.
What is my greatest fear? That I can´t continue doing what I love. Though my body is my tool I would be very sad if I, for example, could´nt speak anymore, if I loose my hands or if I got ill and don´t have the strength to fulfill my dream. But in another hand, when you are a creative person, I think you always finds a way to express yourself and be creative somehow. Creativity is my greatest inner strength so I hope that ability always will keep me alive.
What is the trait that I most deplore in myself? The sensitivity has, during my lifetime, given me some problems. Uncertainty, misunderstanding, fear, concern and sadness… But the most problem I have had with my sensitivity is that I have listened to much on others and cared about what they think. Nowadays, when I am older, I have realized that I can´t please everyone to be loved. Everyone can´t love you! That´s a fact. Of course I still concern sometimes, because I´m a human, but not as far as I concerned before. Ever since I decided to live my dream full-time and all-in I have been more and more comfortable with my self and I don´t let others dedicate who I am or what I should do. People thinks different anyway and it would be impossible to please everyone.
Which living persons in my profession do I most admire? There are some strong women I admire that are still alive. The most of them are older women than myself with a lot of pondus, confidence and intelligence. Some of these women are, for example, Michelle Obama, Maryl Streep, Madonna, Oprah Winfred, Ivana Chubbuck and the Swedish Lena Ohlin, Marie Göranzon, Ingmari Lamy, Maria Fahl Vikander and Britten Löfqvist, as for mention some. But also younger women than myself as Alicia Vikander and Kicki Edgren, for example. All of them are absolutely amazing!
What is my greatest extravagance?  My greatest extravagance is that I can´t decide in what way I will express my creativity. Several paintings are then in progress, besides a script to read or write, or a song to create at the same time that I have several assignments in my recording studio and a long “must”-do-list of other things, both work- and private related. This is often very productive, but sometimes I have to force myself and do less things at the time and make a priority so nothing will be half-done, as for example the laundry or having the dinner ready in time… But at the same time…this is me. And when I have the opportunity to do whatever my heart tells me, I bloom and create more and better.
On what occasion would I lie? When I was little, we had a christmas gift arrangement in my school where we should change gifts with each other. In some way I knew which gift that I should have and from which person. Someone in my class knew what it was inside the gift before the opening moment and whispered it to me. I got panic, because I did´nt want that gift, so I decided to be honest and went to the person with the gift and said “Sorry, I dont want your ugly Santa”. Of course she got mad and don´´t want to be my friend anymore. It ended with that I didnt got any gift at all, except my own gift that I had bought: a ugly chistmas candle. Since then I got scared about the situation, I didnt want to hurt people and I went diplomatic or didnt say the whole truth in some situations, not to risk to loose a friend. Sometimes in my life I have been to coward to be fully honest and that never felt good, so in a point in my life I decided to be as honest I can be without hurting people, realizing that to be diplomatic and pedagogic is also a honest way to communicate without brutaly hurting people, and since then I feel much more clean in both mind and soul, taking a risk that not everybody likes me. Because everybody can´t anyway. But I try to be as good and nice as possible. You have too choose your battles…
What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work? The thing that I most dislike with my work, especially as an actress, is that the struggle, most of us are going thrue, especially in the beginning of our career, sometimes gives expression of competition and jealousy instead of trying to help and support each other. I understand that it really is a hard competition and I respect that each one of us have to make our own journey, but sometimes I miss a little more empathy, kindness and supporting, not only between actors, I mean in the whole business. I think the hard climate among actors and actresses comes from a huge stress being at the lowest level on the link in the business and are extremely dependent of, for example, casting directors, directors and producers that have the power to choose and behave inaccessible. An actor or actress needs to deliver all the time, being positive and strong, to survive, even those times they are getting a “no”, getting shameless paid, getting ignored or getting a unpleasant treatment occasionally.
My goal is trying to understand that all of us have our own struggle, by trying to put myself in the other´s side of the story, and that helps me being more humle against other people and how they act. And in the end it hopefullly will help me to be a better person.

When and where was I the happiest, in my work?  I´m always happy when I do what I love. It is quite hard to find a specific moment actually.

If I could, what would I change about myself? I would tell my younger me to not listen so much to others, to belive in myself and my ability and follow my heart. I would tell myself that I´m okay as I am, to do my thing and not to be afraid to say “no” and “stop” until it is to late or has gone too far. But, as the philosophy about life that I belive in, at the same time I wouldnt change anything, because everything that has happened to me has made me as I am today. Today I have the courage to bloom and hopefully help others to bloom as well, based on my own experiences.
What is my greatest achievement in work?  My greatest achievements is when I starred in a TV series in Sweden, when I got the opportunity to portray a Russian star surgeon. It was fun and exciting and I understood that the chance to portray such a special character would not come so often, so I took the opportunity to enjoy the moment.
I also have had the opportunity to work in the US for filmshoot, participate in various film productions in Sweden and commercial productions in Sweden, Norway, Denmark and England. As a voice actress I have great success when I decided built my own home studio after 15 years as a professional VoiceOver artist in Sweden, in where I now work with the whole world and with nearly 70 different clients. One of the greatest voice achievements, besides a large number of TV commercials and documentary films, is reading an audiobook, which has been a dream since I was a child and my goal is to continue reading audio books regularly.
Where would I most like to live? I would like to continue to have my base in Sweden but though the rest of the world are my job field I would like to visit different places during my life.
What is my most treasured possession? My artistic vein…hands…eyes…voice… My body, brain, and my soul is my tool that gives me the opportunity to do what I love most and to live my dream. And of course, my children. They give me huge strength.
What is my most marked characteristic? It is my sensitivity that gives me a wider perspective of life and definitely stimulates the creativity.
What is my most inspirational location, in my city?  By the sea. From that place, I can experience different coulours, textures, weathers, motions and emotions and reach a horizont that opens my mind for new thoughts and inputs.
What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city? For now, I have a restaurant/café called LePetit, located in Gothenburg Sweden, as my favorite. Excellent lunch with a great sallad buffé, coffee and bread included, very cosy and beautiful and very nice staff. I can sit there for hours and a lot of thoughts and discussions that I had at that place have, after that, been realized.
What books influenced my life and how? Books about strong women destinies…
Who are my favorite writers? Paulo Coehlo, Donna Woolfolk Cross and several more…
You Only Die Once. What music would I listen on my last day? What a wonderful world; Louis Armstrong.
Who is my hero or heroine in fiction? I don´t really have heroes in fiction… but I got very fascinated about Pope Johanna and her struggle as a women in a mans world.
Who are my heroes and heroines in real life? Michelle Obama, Laleh Pourkarim, Alicia Vikander, Frida Kahlo, Maryl Streep, Astrid Lindgren and Dennis Petersen for their intelligence, strength, unique natural warm hearted personality and courage. Both Laleh and Alicia come from my town Gothenburg in Sweden and that makes me extra proud of them.
Which movie would i recommend to see once in a lifetime? Benjamin Button and Titanic. Benjamin Button and Titanic. And I really love Gerard Depardieu as an actor… Once in my life, when I was younger, I saw every movie where he participated. Sometimes I  went alone to see a film with Mr Depardieu, because none of my friends at my age appreciated his more artistic movies. I liked it a lot, because I didnt felt any stress and I could totally get into the movie with all senses.
What role plays art in my life and work? Very much. It is my life. And therefore also a very important ingredience in my work.
Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime?  Dennis Petersen (Swedish Film Director and also my life partner).
Whom would I like to work with in 2017? Oh, there are a lot of people I would love to work with… I can´t choose. Challenge me, I´m free minded. :).

Which people in my profession would i love to meet in 2017? I would love to meet people that inspire me to develop, that are ready to take my hand and run with me forward in my career, with the same energy and determination as myself.

What project, in 2017, am I looking forward to work on? I am looking forward to the next project I will work on and that is a indie feature drama film, in where I play a mother to a teenage girl.
Where can you see me or my work in 2017? On my website www.mimmikandler.com and on IMDb www.imdb.me/mimmikandler.
You can also follow me on Instagram @mimmi_kandler where you can see some of my paintings as well. 
What do the words “Passion Never Retires” mean to me? If you have a genuine passion for something it will be a part of your private life. The dividing line is eliminated between private life and your passion, so if your passion also is your work, you will never stop working as long as you live. Perhaps you don´t have the health or the opportunities to work with your passion in the same way during your whole lifetime, but it will always live inside you somehow and will always be expressed in any way as long as you give it life.
Which creative heroines should Peter invite to tell their story? Aminah Al Fakir, Kicki Edgren, Bahar Pars, Anja Lundqvist, Maria Fahl Vikander, Britten Löfqvist among others…
How can you contact me?
Thrue my website www.mimmikandler.com
Leave a Reply

