The Heroine’s Journey of Nadège Liliac

I am a costume designer, photographer and also a model .Trying to combine it all of this to create artworks and bring people in my fantasy.

What is the best thing that I love about my work? My art is not for now my true job but trying to put lot of efforts to make this dream come true. I would love to combine my costume creations with photography (being a model and also a photographer) and if possible to create events to share this passion with people. The thing I love with my work is the opportunity to meet really incredible people and share our passion but also to express myself and show my little world using these supports.

What is my idea of perfect happiness? Living of my art for real and travelling. Cinema is something which interest me a lot because the costumes and the things you want to show become real in front of the camera and stays forever. I also really love to travel, meet different people, culture is something really important to me and really inspiring (I am actually working on a costume project wich use traditional costume roots and trying to modernize them with some touches of my own universe).

What is my greatest fear? I am someone who likes when things are going really fast so each time I am starting a project, I am afraid to be frustrated or to fail. But I think this frustration helps me to struggle though difficulties and leads me to achievement in my projects.

Which living persons in my profession do i most admire? I’ll say for sure Joan Bergin (who is the costume designer of the Tudors Tv show) but also Lady Amaranth as a model. I do love so many photographers, but the one I was following when I was younger is Viona art, her universe is really close to mine and I had the chance to meet her several times and more than an artist I admire, she is also a really kind person and inspiring one

What is my greatest extravagance? I am quite food addict haha It depends of what we call extravagance, I am sure for lot of people my art is something really extravagant, it is only a different point of view.

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work? I ll say the people who are too selfish and trying to be omnipresent on social media by “liking” everything or literally spamming with stuff , it seems a bit childish to me as I like more spending my time on doing what is important to me . I also really dislike people who are not honest but it more something I dislike as a human value.

When and where was I the happiest, in my work? When I can attend big costume events with people who are also passionate by this work. Sharing our passion together and feeling out of the real world for a day. You can express who you truly are or want to be. I going to say the WGT festival which takes place every year in Leipzig which is a really big festival. There are really incredible costumes and inspiring people.

If I could, what would I change about myself? Being less impatient! It is really frustrating when things are not going as fast as I would like.

What is my greatest achievement in work? I have made plenty of exhibitions in the past in Paris but also in Europe, it was really amazing to meet all of these people who told me my pictures were speaking deep to their hearts. Generally, I ll say the chance to meet people who are passionate by the same work and to share our passion , ideas and moments together , kind of ephemere moments in such grandiose events

Where would I most like to live? I really love the way the Germans or the Nordics sees life. I like living in big cities for the museums or artistic opportunities but I also need nature and historical heritage close by as castles or ruins. I also love my city (Paris) but I think it is not a city to live your whole life because it is just a really busy way of life and it is always full of people everywhere.

What is my most treasured possession? I am not a materialist person, so I am going to say the gratitude from the people I had the chance to meet and be part of such magical events but also the chance to be able to create that much art because I always still remember I am autodidact.

What is my most marked characteristic? I can really speak a lot. I think it is a mark of passionate people. I am someone who don’t like to feel bored so I am always going through new projects and learning new stuff.

What is my most inspirational location, in my city? The Opera garnier for sure, it is such a magical place! You feel like out of the real world. But close by there also plenty of lovely castles like Versailles or the Loire’s castles. I think Paris is one of the more inspiring city for artists.

What is my favorite place to eat and drink, in my city? I really love to go to the Montparnasse 1900. It is an art nouveau restaurant in Paris and it is like you are time travelling in the belle époque era. I like to discover new charming places with good food and nice atmosphere.

What books influenced my life and how? The flowers of evil from Baudelaire for sure but also the gothic novels and romantic wave books of the 19th century. The most notable to me is Alice in Wonderland which is kind of related in a philosophical way to my past life. The romantic, dark atmosphere, Victorian and fantasy is something which inspire me a lot in my art! Lot of my photography are inspired by books and I have made one serie about my reinterpretation of the flowers of evil.
I really adore philosophy, I am writing a blog since two years about literature and philosophy to express myself and with the idea of help people to love these beautiful discipline.

Who are my favorite writers? Tolstoi, Benjamin constant, Maupassant. I quite a classic’s literature reader. I especially love French literature but also English literature and German one. It seems like each of these books are related to something really personal and I love to have all of my of books at home.

You Only Die Once. What music would I listen on my last day? The Mozart requiem, really breathtaking and deep for the classical music. If I had to choose a modern music, I’ll say The host of seraphin from Dead can dance, for the atmosphere . Music is something really important to me, as it transmits such deep emotions like joy,perfect beauty ,sadness ,melancholia or more complicated feelings .

Who is my hero or heroine in fiction? My heroine in history Is Elizabeth the 1st of England. Strong and powerfull woman who ruled a kingdom. This period is called by historians “the golden age “. I really adore Alice (from alice in wonderland) as a heroine in fiction, she is struggling between two worlds and who she is truly are, and she shows we can get everything we want despite the obstacles.

Who are my heroes and heroines in real life? Lady Amaranth, she is such a talented women who is able to put lot of creativity in her art and also in her life. But more than that, I love lot of unknown people who I admire so much for trying to live their dreams doesn’t matter what It costs.

Which movie would i recommend to see once in a lifetime? Dracula from Coppola without hesitation. It is deeply romantic.

What role plays art in my life and work? It is what motivate me to wake up every morning , the love of art is really deep, I always got it since childhood but I wasn’t able to express myself as I was looking for . I’ve always been really creative, having lot of hobbies .But now, It also helps me to live in past times because like lot of people,there is a bit of nostalgia for some periods . We all could be our true self (being a princess , a Victorian lady, a warrior … ), and this is something which is quite complicated in the uniformity from our time . I also feel really different wearing a costume, like if all of my fears and the lack of self-confidence in real life are behind me .

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime? My closest friends are my best fans for sure but each of these strangers who says really kind things about what I am doing or who I am.

Whom would I like to work with in 2017? I am already planning to work with professional costume designer to get better skills on sewing and also pattern design skill. For the model part, I ll make bigger shooting with really awesome photographers and locations.

Which people in my profession would i love to meet in 2017? I would love to meet all of these creative minds I’ve met before and share again nice moments. About being a model, There are plenty of photographers I would love to meet or dreaming to work with as “le turc photographie” and “Annie Bertram”.

What project, in 2017, am I looking forward to work on? First of all, I am going to get better skills on costume design. I ll also be part of lot of events in Europe where people can meet me, and trying to organize a small event myself in Paris into a gothic romantic theme . I am also going to build wedding dresses prototype into a romantic style . This year will be the year to progress on my skills but 2018 is going to be a really awesome year with truly amazing stuff in coming !

Where can you see me or my work in 2017?
On my costume projects website : https://liliacdesigns.com , facebook profile also ( with the model part ) : Nadège Liliac or Nbpix photographie fanpage on facebook for the photoartwork . I’ll also be part of bals or festivals in Europe if you want to meet me in real .
What do the words “Passion Never Retires” mean to me?
As I said before , it is something in me, something which cannot be removed as It is part of my true self . It always helped me to go further and struggle in life .

Which creative heroines should Peter invite to tell their story?
Lady Amaranth for sure as she is such an inspiring person, but also my dear friend Marie Mélusine who is living from her hats designs and living in a such romantic lifestyle .Viona art is also someone which I will highly recommend !

How can you contact me?
By mail at: liliacdesigngmail.com, or website : https://liliacdesigns.com/
I am on facebook, you can find my photo artworks on : nbpix photographie fanpage , or also find my profile : Nadège liliac ( no fan page for the moment about my sewing projects or model ones but going to create one really soon ), feel free to pm me 🙂

Leave a Reply

