The Heroine’s Journey of Ana Salguero

What is the best thing that I love about my work? Painting and drawing are my natural ways of expression from childhood. My present job is the natural continuation of my fondness for art and books.

What is my idea of perfect happiness? – Being surrounded by family, having health and working on something I like.

What is my greatest fear? Being inable or lacking of health or resources.

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself? Some insecurity in myself, my shyness.

Which living persons in my profession do i most admire? Rebecca Dautremer, Gabriel Pacheco, Shaun Tan, Ana Juan, Elena Odrionzola, Jimmy Liao, Adolfo Serra…. a lot of them, the list is endless and growing day to day.

What is my greatest extravagance? I don’t know. Unlike the artists’ cliché, I consider myself quite flat from that point of view. Maybe that I like collecting books, lots of them…

On what occasion would I lie? If needed to save someone I love from any danger.

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work? I’d be happy to have more time…and more customers!

When and where was I the happiest, in my work? When I achieve to materialize an idea, and when the customer is satisfied with it. Where? In my studio, where the imagination flows. Fortunately, I work at home and can spend time with my family.

If I could, what would I change about myself? I’d be neater.

What is my greatest achievement in work? My most important objectives are for coming yet: doing my own illustrated books…and become economically independent.

Where would I most like to live? In Cádiz, my home city. Although nowadays living very happy in Extremadura, a lovely place too.

What is my most treasured possession? My family, my house, my books, my paintings…

What is my most marked characteristic? Hardworking, I think.

What is my most inspirational location, in my city? The best place for me is near the sea, in Cádiz.

What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city? One of the stores selling fried fish, a culinary tradition in Cádiz.

What books influenced my life and how? Impossible to answer. I am the result of many of them.

Who are my favorite writers? As before, difficult to decide. Until now, have two rooms full of read and re-read books, about many themes. And continue discovering.

You Only Die Once. What music would I listen on my last day? Vivaldi’s “Four Seasons”.

Who is my hero or heroine in fiction? Jo March was one of the first fictional characters that influenced me when youth.

Who are my heroes and heroines in real life? All that unknown women who look after the others all over the World, without any recognition. “Women hold up half of the sky”, an essential generosity to preserve life.

Which movie would i recommend to see once in a lifetime? Out of Africa.

What role plays art in my life and work? All my work turns around art, it’s completely mixed with the others aspects of my life.

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime? My husband. Without him I wouldn’t be able to dedicate to my passion.

Whom would I like to work with in 2017? In present, “Izana Editores” is the main publisher I work to. I’d like to enlarge the number of publishers of my list.

Which people in my profession would i love to meet in 2017? I always love to work with serious people, who love a job well done and who play interesting and inspiring things.

What project, in 2017, am I looking forward to work on? – Publishing my own illustrated book.

Where can you see me or my work in 2017? You can follow my work in: http://www.anasalguero.com/ http://anaartist.blogspot.com.es/ And in some exhibitions in Cadiz and Seville, to be confirmed.

What do the words “Passion Never Retires” mean to me? For me Passion is art, painting and drawing. Something that always goes with me. Something that sometimes whispers and othes screams to me. And of course I can’t let it go pass. In periods of my life, while doing other things (for instance I used to work as a nurse, my first job), I felt like something was died inside me…

Which creative heroines should Peter invite to tell their story? Marian Lario, Io Bru, Rosa Olea, Gloria Barranco, Gloria Garrastazul, Maria del Mar Robert, Celia Burgos, Concha Pasamar, Mila Parodi, Silvia Jareño Torés, Zuriñe Aguirre, Irene Roga, Inma Otero, Nazaret Escobedo, Adares Sánchez, ….

How can you contact me?  It’s easy. By email: anasalgueroart.@gmail.com By web: http://www.anasalguero.com/

Leave a Reply

