The Heroine’s Journey of Eleanora Roaro

What is the best thing that I love about my work? As an artist, I would probably say that I love it when people are inspired, amused or moved by what I do. It is great to be able to see and make other people see from different perspectives.

What is my idea of perfect happiness? I think it is about being completely in the present and enjoying what you have and where you are in that moment.

What is my greatest fear? It is probably a very selfish and narcissistic fear. I always say that I am afraid of losing memory as I think that we are our stories. I am very scared by the idea of being still alive without being aware of what I have been doing for my whole life. All the people I have met, all the experiences I have made just gone… It is like losing everything at the same time: both who you love and who you are.

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself? I think that I constantly deplore myself for everything. I should be a bit more generous with myself.

Which living persons in my profession do i most admire? Who manages to make a living on what they love with few compromises.

What is my greatest extravagance? I would ask what is normal! I think I do extravagance things everyday, starting from some clothes, hats and shoes I own…

On what occasion would I lie? I would quote a song by Fleetwood Mac because I think that lies sometimes make just life more pleasant. So… “Tell me lies tell me sweet little lies”.

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work? A lot of sacrifices and time spent working on things that in the end you find useless; few money and free time.

When and where was I the happiest, in my work? I think that it was the first time I was asked to exhibit my work when I was a student. Maybe I was just naive, but I thought that it was not only a dream: it could be doable!

If I could, what would I change about myself? I would like to have longer legs. As for the character, I think you can make an effort and try to become a better person. I have always forced myself to do things that I was not originally confident in. I think people can change if they want to. We are not rocks.

What is my greatest achievement in work? I am very proud of myself when I realize how many things I am able to do just by myself.

Where would I most like to live? That is a very difficult question. I do love my city, which is Milano: I feel at home there and this is a very precious feeling. Moreover, I think it is a good moment for the arts. I have spent my last five months in Plymouth (UK), which I appreciated particularly for the landscape. Indeed it was great to be so close to the Ocean. I think that it depends on what I would like to do with my life: if I want to be an artist it does not make sense to live far away from society, which is a thing that always fascinates me. As I am very restless, I would like to travel a lot and spend some time in different parts of the world.

What is my most treasured possession? I am very dedicated and curious.

What is my most marked characteristic? I might say “elegant”, because it is the adjective I hear more frequently from people. But probably it is just the most visible one.

What is my most inspirational location, in my city? I do not have a favorite spot, but I think that what I like of my city is that it is full of hidden beauties: all of the sudden you find a beautiful church or palace among ugly buildings. I do love to cross the city by bike during the night, from piazza Duomo to Navigli (where I live).

What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city? Here in Plymouth I would say “The Bread and Roses” pub; in Milano there are many nice places I love in different parts of the city. Now I would like to go to Fukurou, my favorite Japanese restaurant

What books influenced my life and how? There are loads of them for each period of my life. I would say “Uno nessuno centomila” by Luigi Pirandello that I read when I was 13, even if it was too difficult for that age. It was a kind of challenge, as I was dealing with something bigger than me. It made me fall in love with literature.

Who are my favorite writers? This list could be quite long. Ingeborg Bachmann, Italo Calvino, Dante, Don DeLillo, Gunter Grass, T.S. Eliot, Jonathan Franzen, Franz Kafka, Giorgio Manganelli, Michele Mari, Amélie Nothomb, Georges Perec, Luigi Pirandello, Philip Roth, José Saramago, Virginia Woolf.

You Only Die Once. What music would I listen on my last day? I think it depends on my mood on that day. I might decide to feel even more miserable, and for that Leonard Cohen would be perfect, or to dance and have fun instead, so I would listen to some synth pop from the 80’s.

Who is my hero or heroine in fiction? I do not have a real model of course. But for instance I like the fictional character of Coco Chanel in the movie “Coco Avant Chanel”.

Who are my heroes and heroines in real life? All the people that I know that always try to do their best.

Which movie would i recommend to see once in a lifetime? That is the hardest question to ask to a person that loves movies! I think it depends on who is asking that… If he or she is somebody like me and I want to avoid suggesting art fims, I will probably say “Harvey”, a movie from the ‘50s with James Stewart about a man whose best friend is an invisible rabbit. He is considered insane, but I think he was much wiser than everybody else.

What role plays art in my life and work? I am an artist and I write about art. Do I need to say something else?

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime? Probably my aunt.

Whom would I like to work with in 2017? I will make a project with an artist I met here in Plymouth.

Which people in my profession would i love to meet in 2017? You cannot predict who you are going to meet. I would say people with interesting ideas that could be helpful for my career.

What project, in 2017, am I looking forward to work on? I would like to develop a project with the Oculus Rift and another one, probably a video installation, based on a childhood memory of my grandmother.

Where can you see me or my work in 2017? I will be at MIA, the photography fair in Milano, in March.

What do the words “Passion Never Retires” mean to me? It means that life is hard. Despite there are many difficulties and this is a very complicated historical moment it is always worth the effort. If there was no passion, I would have probably given up ages ago.

Which creative heroines should Peter invite to tell their story? If I was Peter, I would invite the talented illustrator Gaia Bernasconi, alias Isoì, based in Milano.

How can you contact me? hello@eleonoraroaro.com http://www.eleonoraroaro.com

Leave a Reply

