The Heroine’s Journey of Eloisa Menegoni

What is the best thing that I love about my work? The submission of a paper to an international review: the submission happens after one or two years of work, and you are excited about the impact that can have on the scientific community. It’s like to give a birth to a baby because it is your work…I think is the emotion felt by artist when they complete their opera and they feel excitement but also panic because you don’t know the reaction of people around you.

What is my idea of perfect happiness? Swimming in the sea on a sunny day…I love summer, and love lonely beaches were you can have relax, maybe with a good book.

What is my greatest fear? Maybe the height, I am terrified also if I am on the balcony at the second floor. I am not able to solve the problem of vertigo.

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself? Insecurity.

Which living persons in my profession do i most admire? Norma Sanchez. She is a researcher at the Observatory of Paris: a very strong woman who always fight for her ideas.

What is my greatest extravagance? About food, I mean if there are colors that doesn’t mix in the plate I don’t eat, unless in two different plates, in this case colors don’t mix and I am fine. But it’s not for every color..I mean I don’t like yellow and red in the same plate, something like that. Yes, it’s strange.

On what occasion would I lie? Maybe, if I have to protect a beloved person. But only in the case he/she is not guilty.

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work? The fact that you have to looking for founds several years to obtain a permanent position in some University.

When and where was I the happiest, in my work? In the 2013, when my code was selected from Planck Collaboration to analyze the value of the fine structure constant (a fundamental parameter in physics) over another code.

If I could, what would I change about myself? Nothing I am fine like that…..or maybe just be thinner ?! But you can easily have a skinny body with gym. No, seriously I am fine.


What is my greatest achievement in work? Maybe when a Nobel prize for Physics  cited a work which I did with other 4 colleagues. I was very proud that day. Now I am looking for a step more 🙂

Where would I most like to live? Rome or Paris.

What is my most treasured possession? An old watch which is a gift of my aunt.

What is my most marked characteristic? My smile. I try to be optimistic despite everything.

What is my most inspirational location, in my city? Actually is outside the city,

in Sabaudia, a place not far away from my home…the landscape is amazing, the beach the sea….it’s a place where I feel in peace with myself.

What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city? I really love eating at “Misticanza” and for drink “Cul de sac”. Also if t
he best restaurant in Rome is “Le Metamorfosi” but it is a place when you go to celebrate something very special. It’s not
for everyday in my opinion.

What books influenced my life and how?
We Always Treat Women Too Well’ Queneau. It was a challenge with one of my ex-boyfriends, just because I understood what was the meaning of being too much kind with women.

Who are my favorite writers? Nabokov, Canetti, Calasso, Goethe, Tolstoj, Le Goff, Nietzsche, Leopardi.
You Only Die Once. What music would I listen on my last day?Ok I will start in the morning with Hendrix, The Doors, Who, Beatles, Janis Joplin and
The Velvet Underground, Nirvana, Pearl Jam, Sonic Youth, Radiohead, Cohen andin the evening jazz..like Ornette Coleman, Coltrane, Billie Holiday…at the very end Mozart and Beethoven.

Who is my hero or heroine in fiction?  Alice in Wonderland, she is curious like me.
Yes, she has fear about the unknown, however,  she tries to fight this feeling just to satisfy the desire to find something new.

Who are my heroes and heroines in real life? My mother. Second my father and one of my two aunts.

Which movie would i recommend to see once in a lifetime?
‘Nell’anno del Signore‘  by Luigi Magni, I don’t know if there is the English version..it’s a very old movie, and “Following” by Nolan.

What role plays art in my life and work? In my life a big role, I can’t stay one day without listening to music (like jazz, rock, classical), and I love visiting museums ….so plays a big role….in my work maybe less, but sometimes I need music to work and be concentrated.
                                                                                                                                                                  Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime? Simone Franchini.

Whom would I like to work with in 2017? There are a lot of people….Daniel Baumann, Alessandra Silvestri, Paolo Natoli, Leonard Susskind, Pier Stefano Corasaniti, Ricci-Tersenghi.                                                                                                                                                                        Which people in my profession would i love to meet in 2017? Brian Greene.

What project, in 2017, am I looking forward to work on? I will focus to find a way to see primordial gravitational waves: they are not yet observed, they are a relic of Big Bang, and their existence can confirm the theory of inflation.

Where can you see me or my work in 2017? On international reviews like Physical ReviewD, JCAP or journals which are connected with science and physics.

What do the words “Passion Never Retires” mean to me? It means that you have always fight for your ideas and dreams…..also when it’s hard.

Which creative heroines should Peter invite to tell their story? Veronica Nena Maida, Linda Blot, Valentina Presutti and Silvia Galli.

How can you contact me? I prefer e-mail: eloisa.menegoni@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

