The Heroine’s Journey of Izabelė (Isabella) Kuzelytė

What is the best thing that I love about my work? I work as an aerial trainer and as an artist. This is just perfect because I can spread my knowledge and experience to others, create a circus community and raise awareness of it. This area is only forming in Lithuania and I am happy to be a part of it. Sometimes I think that I do this only to create a friendly environment to train for myself and for others with people who also love circus. I love working as a performer too; I do express myself through movement.

What is my idea of perfect happiness? To work as an artist with my own ideas, my own performances, to be recognized and train with teachers sometimes not just by myself.

What is my greatest fear? To have an injury that would not let me do aerial acrobatics ever again.

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself? I like sticking in my comfort zone; I like to deny that because I cannot admit it to myself.

Which living persons in my profession do i most admire? Iona Kewney and Will Davis.

What is my greatest extravagance? Always thinking that I will have time for everything and I will make it.

On what occasion would I lie? I would lie only on those occasions to avoid misunderstandings.

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work? Sometimes training people becomes the main thing I do. Expressing myself through artistry and performing takes up the second place and while I am young I would like to be a performer first and a trainer second.

When and where was I the happiest, in my work? After about a half of year passed when we started an aerial studio, teaching people aerial silks. There was a moment when I realized that there are people who like circus and we are forming a little community here which in time will be bigger. And the thought ,maybe some people in Lithuania that found or will find circus because of what we do will continue and this will be a start of another person’s journey, made me happy.

If I could, what would I change about myself? To be not afraid of extreme changes.

What is my greatest achievement in work? So far I would say that I am most proud of opening up an aerial studio in Vilnius.

Where would I most like to live? At the moment I do not have a determined place in mind. I would love to perform and travel a bit and then see where life takes me.

What is my most treasured possession? My mother’s piano. When I think about moving I consider what things I would pack and after a lot of thinking I realized that most of them are replaceable except this one. Its value exists because of the memories not its price.

What is my most marked characteristic? Stubbornness.

What is my most inspirational location, in my city? There is a bridge with swings over the river. That place is small and cozy especially at night.

What is my favorite place to eat and drink, in my city? An Asian food restaurant called SOYA.

What books influenced my life and how? Sartre “La Nausée“ helped me to look at things in the different angle. Everything is based on your own perspective and can be described in multiple ways that are true.

Who are my favorite writers? Friedrich Nietzsche , Irvin D. Yalom

You Only Die Once. What music would I listen on my last day? Igorrr -Tout petit moineau or Mozart – Lacrimosa. I always admired classical music, Igorrr might seem too strong for your last day but I really admire this masterpiece created from Beethoven’s Piano Trio, opera singing and breackore.

Who is my hero or heroine in fiction? I could say that I’m a Marvel’s nerd a bit, but answering this question I have no choice but to say Sailor Moon. I grew up with this cartoon, even though I watched a lot of others this one I remember the most.

Who are my heroes and heroines in real life? With no doubt it is my Mom. She was a single mother and raised a child on her own in a really harsh economy, had really hard times and with a little help from her parents she nailed it. I’ve seen how music and singing helped her through life and considering what she has been through I have noticed a really important role of art in her life and that is why various forms of art are so important to me too.

Which movie would I recommend to see once in a lifetime? Predestination

What role plays art in my life and work? As I mentioned before – a big one. Various art forms like painting, playing the piano or violin, singing, dancing always kept me busy. It inspired, made me laugh, made me cry, helped me relax.

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime? My Mom, she always told me that I could be anything I wanted if I try really hard and my friends that are always pushing me to my limits.

Whom would I like to work with in 2017? I would love to work with theatre shows.

Which people in my profession would i love to meet in 2017? There are so many great aerialists and teachers around the world I would love to meet but I do not travel that lot.

What project, in 2017, am I looking forward to work on? Now we have a theatre project going on also I am looking forward participating in IPAAT (International Pole and Aerial Tournaments).

Where can you see me or my work in 2017? It is only the start of 2017 and I do not know all my plans throughout this year, but what I do know that at the end of spring you can see me in one of the theatre dance shows created by a Master’s student in choreography and shown in Arts Printing House.

What do the words “Passion Never Retires” mean to me? I think whatever I’ll end up doing in life I will always feel complete if I have a small place to train and to create. I might grow old but I like to imagine myself still hanging there on silks.

Which creative heroines should Peter invite to tell their story? I think my friend Elena Nechiporenko also has an inspiring story to tell.

How can you contact me? Facebook : https://www.facebook.com/Izabelea Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/isabella_airdance/

Email: izabelesv@yahoo.com

Leave a Reply

