The Heroine’s Journey of Ulea Wesemeyer

What is the best thing I love about my work? There are many things I love, synoptic the Book of Life, learning to turn the pages. The Variety of Emotion. Working with different painting techniques. Experience the World. All is connected with everything in Life. From travelling in the Beauty of Mother Earth and living with other Human Beings. With my Eisenlandschaft, my Art, I can communicate with others without needing to talk or explain. In the beginning of my career I was often overwhelmed from all this creativity inside of me. I met 10 Years ago a professor of stage design from a famous opera house, and thru him I found my path of an Artist. In seconds he draw my attention to what had been there already. The first Eisenlandschaft came to surface in 2006, she is my future and my bridge to the complex world out there. The nonverbal communication between the artwork and the betrayer always amaze me. The comments from people being attracted to my art and the endless possibility of doing and exploring with the Eisenlandschaft makes the future look bright.

What is my Idea of perfect happiness? For me there is not just one perfect Happiness. Pleasure, Joy, Gratification, Glee and Delight all in different means are altogether the Familiy of Happiness. When I can´t do anything but smile, I am overwhelmed from the atmosphere, and how it connects to the moment when its happening. Happiness is the best for us and others. It uplifts, it mobilizes the Impulses and Plans for the Future.

What is my greatest Fear? Fear, what is fear really. Feeling uncomfortable,blocked, being afraid of. Most of my life I was known as a courageous and brave woman. Positive thinking, giving eveything a chance that’s typical me. This changed after a benign brain tumor diagnosis in 2004. It was shocking, and yes at that momemt I felt fear. I overcame the fear and grew with it. Now I handle fear different. I learned to listen and go very vigilantly through life. Fear is a big chance and it let´s you grow enormous.

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself? Learning to live easy with smaller steps.

Which living persons in my profession do I most admire? There are many. Some I am honoured to have met in person, and they have contributed to the person I am right now. I am happy to have choosen that I always looked in different professions. Chungliang Al Huang from The Living Tao Foundation in Oregon comes to mind. We met at one of his Tai Ji Workshops and I experienced the Chi energy. It was spooky at first and than just became something no words can describe. My Mentor Rosmarie Andrea von Schnoy lead me 1992 to the path I decided to go on and saved me from drowning in the world of ties. A friend from Canada helped me through a tough time. Antonio Tapies and Audrey Hepburn, Meryl Streep, some of the many out there in the world.

What is my greatest extravagance? To be honest, I can`t say – I believe friends, acquaintances could answer this better.

What is the thing I dislike the most in my work ? Absolutely to much time needed for buerocracy. I am working on it that maybe one day somebody else will do it for me so I can have more time for my art and other important projects. These days, even the Internet is great for many things, the flood of information is killing the fragile seed of creativity. I need more moments of nothing to think about going deep. Networking is important but you really have to be careful to not get swamped from the Informationtsunamis from social networks, don`t forget to talk and hug each other.

When and where was I the happiest in my work? I remember the moment working on a new Eisenlandschaft. Just before the artwork was finished something overwhelmed me and I had to cry, it was one of these moments I felt an immense rise and blessing.

Where would I most like to live? The place where I live right now I feel really happy. Having my flat and my studio in one building. When I am in a position to be able to choose I would love to live close to a lake or the ocean. Nature is for me the biggest inspiration and healer when I feel low on energy. The wind and smell of the air, just great.

What is my most treasured possession? I am not really addicted to anything, what really would enhance my comfort is to not have to wear glasses. To see clear is very important for me, people might understand that a fine artist needs there eyes the most.

What is my most marked characteristic? Friends and other People say that I am a great Networker, optimistic, reliable, laugh at lot and sometimes I´m a bit crazy…. whatever that means.

What is my most inspirational location, in my city? There are many but foremost mother nature. To look or hear people talk can be inspirational, a breeze of the wind, the rustle of a Bird looking for something to eat. Nothing specific.

What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city? The home of family and friends. I dont like to go out in restaurants anymore. Too crowded.

What books influenced my life and how? In the early days I loved to read comics like Tim and Struppi and Asterix and Obelix later on my interest went to lyric literature.The Variety of knowledge and fiction attracted me and was forming my personal growth. From the Dalai Lama to Marge Piercy, from Gerdt von Bassewitz to Plato, from Siri Hustvedt to Werner Siefer and many more.

You only Die Once. What music would I listen on my last day? I don’t think about passing away, I am alive and that’s the most important thing. I enjoy every day. If I would become sick and be able to choose, I might think about it , will tell you than.

Who is my hero or heroine in fiction? I don’t have one hero, there are to many around to name them.

Who are my heroes and heroines in real life? Absolutely my best friend Gudrun. She is just amazing and the best example what is possible in life. Always stand up, nothing is impossible, you gotta believe and trust whatever comes and goes. She supported my career to be able to live the life as an artist. If you read this Gudrun, I love you from the deepest of my heart.

Which movie would you recommend to see in a lifetime? Intouchables with Francois Cluzet and Omar Sy. With all these questions from Peter de Kuster, that’s just a pick from so many marvelous, amazing movies worldwide.

What role plays art in my life and work? Art is my Life that’s why its not work. Work is the bureaucracy attached to it.

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime? 2016 was my 10th year celebrating the Eisenlandschaft. It took me many years with frustration to find out how to work on steal, the surface I choose for my art. Without stamina, belief and foremost the support of Man with enormous knowledge of material its uses. Thank you Mathias Faber and artist and dear collegue Marek Braun. You guys are so warmhearted and have been so supportive. Sometimes there is something unpredictable that happens but all over I can focus on the process of coming into being. 3 Years ago more and more people began to visit my studio, exhibits became art collectors and fans, and galleries also began asking to do business with me. Now from Southamerica to Canada, from Switzerland to Sweden my Eisenlandschaften received new homes, that feels really good. I don’t want to forget to mention my supporter the Carl Spaeter Gmbh from Hamburg, Bodo Beck the best boss I have met yet. A wholesaler for steal products. Another supporter is the film director Patrick Merz from Switzerland. We are in the production of a documentation about me and the Eisenlandschaft planning to finish 2017.

Which people in my profession would I love to meet in 2017? There are some artist colleagues from around the area and I am looking forward to meet the first time in person a couple of Facebook friends.

What project, in 2017, am I looking forward to work on? Last year I met Tarek Noor from Afghanistan, he travelled for a long time worlwide as a war photographer. The human connection was there right away and after our first meeting it was clear that we needed to do an exhibit together. “Connections“was born. More information soon at my website or Facebooksite.

Where can you see me or my work in 2017? You are welcome to visit me in my studio, please call in advance. Information about exhibits and other news on my website and Facebooksite.

What does the words “Passion never retires” mean to me? Passion is the blood for a creative person, without blood nothing would move or happen. Retires I associate with retirement. For an artist there is no retirement. You can do, live your art till the moment you stop breathing and than, your art still continues to live. I like this thought very much.

Which creative heroines should Peter invite to tell their story? Singer and Songwriter Eva Keretic, Hamburg, Germany Katja van den Enden, Artist, Ontario, Canada

How can you contact me? Homeoffice (49) 40 800 300 73 or mail to mail@ulea.de Ulea Wesemeyer | Eisenlandschaften Brandstücken 41 22549 Hamburg/Osdorf, Germany http://www.artdoxa.com/uleawesemeyer http://www.facebook.com/uleaseisenlandschaften

Leave a Reply

