The Heroine’s Journey of Mary Githahu

What is the best thing that I love about my work? I love how positively my work impacts other people’s lives

What is my idea of perfect happiness? perfect happiness is the joy I feel whenever I do something without expecting any kind of pay on return.

What is my greatest fear? I fear repeating a mistake I previously made be it in my work, studies, family, love and life.

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself? Perfectionism- I am like the perfect planner, organizer, timekeeper, and in a way I expect the people I come across to be the same, and this obviously comes with its own disappointments.

Which living persons in my profession do I most admire? Her Excellency Mrs. Margaret Kenyatta, First lady of the republic of Kenya for her beyond zero initiative that has greatly improved the maternal health of women and infants in Kenya. Oprah Winfrey – for her great projects that have empowered women from all over the world giving them an opportunity to access higher education and for being a confident and diligent woman leader.

What is my greatest extravagance? Shoes, clothes and jewelry…..i love to look good, and constantly do update my wardrobe.

On what occasion would I lie? When covering for my sister’s lateness in family meetings and functions, I have found myself telling my grand Mom that she is just around the corner, when I know clearly that she won’t be around for at least 2hours…..

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work? I dislike that many national Volunteers can not make to volunteer in various centre’s because they cannot afford to meet their own transport costs and we have not yet found willing individuals to sponsor them.

When and where was I the happiest in my work? I was happiest on Sunday 15/01/2017 at Holy Eucharist Church King’eero when we had our first Mentorship session this year. It was so interactive and we got to share so much of the high and low moments that we individually experienced in 2016. Seeing this mentorship program being of so much value to the youths just Four month since its launch made me very, very happy.

If I could, what would I love to change about myself? I would love to change the limitations towards attaining success. These limitations are among others, networks, finances, opportunities, likeminded people.

What is my greatest achievement in my work? My greatest achievement in my work has been up cycling paper to lovely jewelry. This is my profit earning business that supports the various humanitarian projects I run and also sustains my personal financial needs. The Jewelry brand, hand Crafted Nyokabi African beads has beautifully crafted earrings, necklaces and bracelets.

Where would I most like to live? I would most like to live in maasai mara Kenya! It is such a lovely place, and everyday would be so peaceful enjoying Safari, looking at the lion’s Cheaters, Elephants, Antelopes, and many more wild animals. But, since this is not realistic, I would love to live in Runda, a beautiful, green and peaceful suburb, very near my working place in Nairobi city, and not very far away from my matrimonial home in Lower kabete.

What is my most treasured possession? A blanket Shawl that my dad bought in our local market,( Wangige market) when I was born. My Mom tell’s me that it was my Sunday best blanket! She covered me in it on Sundays and during occasions, then kept it as a souvenir for me.

What is my most marked characteristic? I am God fearing

What is my most inspirational location in my city? Our lady of Consolata Shrine Westlands . It is a place I have loved to go to since I was a child. It is welcoming and peaceful.

What is my favorite place to eat and drink, in my city? The restaurants: (Vogue and Sun Valencia) in the national museums of Kenya. It’s a great combination of cultural and modern dishes, peaceful environment, great security and prompt free parking area.

What books influenced my life and how? The secret of staying in love by John Powell. This book changed my perspective towards family, friendship, intimacy, and general perspective towards life relations. It’s an amazing book to read, actually a must lead for everyone.

Who are your favorite writers? Ngugi wa Thiong’o for the book, The river between. John Powell for the book, the secret of staying in love, Margaret Ogola for the book, The River and the source. Harvey Kaye for the book, Decision power

You only die once. What music would I listen on my last day? German Requiem by Johannes Brahms, specifically the piece, how lovely is Thy Dwelling place

Who is my Hero or heroine in Fiction? Rambo, this guy was never defeated; I loved his creativity of making his own weapons from branches of trees, stones, and his deep voice….

Who are my Hero and Heroines in real life? My Mom and Dad are my hero and Heroine in life. They have brought my sister and i up from such humble beginnings, always working hard to provide for the basic needs, molded our characters in to disciplined, confident and responsible young women we are today.

Which movie would I recommend to see once in a lifetime? Kahaani- It is an Indian Hindi-Language mystery thriller of a pregnant woman searching for her missing husband. I watched this Movie in 2012, and was fascinated by the mystery around it, and the life lesson of not judging people by their cover was well delivered home.

What role plays art in my life and work? The role of being calm in all situations keeps me focused in my work, helps me strategize and learn how well to relate with the people around me in my work and life.

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor and partner in crime? My sister Jackie is my greatest fan, sponsor and partner in crime. She is also my greatest critic, and can play any role in my events from being a vendor, dresser, photographer, cheer leader and encourager in difficult times.

Which people in my profession would I love to meet in 2017? I would love to meet her Excellency the first lady of the republic of Kenya Mrs. Margaret Kenyatta, and hopefully get to work in her beyond zero projects. I so much want to meet Oprah Winfrey, the amazing woman who is touching many lives by empowering Women.

What project, in 2017, am I looking forward to work on? I am looking forward to creating a harmonious interaction link between international and national Volunteers that we place in public and private institutions in Kenya, so that the volunteers can exchange ideas, learn from each others’ cultures, and widen their networks. I am also looking to opening more market for our jewelry here in Kenya, and abroad.

Where can you see me or my work in 2017? Our blog: http://www.hocvolunteers.wordpress.com , http://www.nyokabiweb.wordpress.com. Face book @ Humanitarian Outreach centre-Volunteers Trust. @ Hand Crafted Nyokabi African Beads

What do the words “Passion Never Retires” means to me? It means that one can never get tired of being themselves, our passions in life are the things we love and they make us the people we are everyday. One never gets tired of doing the things they love to do, and the things we do will thus for ever exist in us.

Which creative Heroines should peter invite to tell their stories? Adela Dejak a successful Woman Jeweler in Kenya, Her Excellency Mrs. Margaret Kenyatta

How can you contact me?

On twitter @ nyokabigithahu

Instagram @ Nyokabi Githahu

Face book @ Nyokabi Githahu Email @ info.hocvolunteers@gmail.com Blog @ http://www.nyokabiweb.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

