The Heroine’s Journey of Carola Ci

What is the best thing that I love about my work? Creativity is a matter of content that can take a lot of artistic forms: poetry, music, photography, life… Most of people is inclined to think that the photographer is the artist and the model is a beautiful woman, but at the end, the passive side of the photographic art. Instead, for me, to be a model is a way to express what I think about beauty, sensuality and elegance through myself. It’s like using my body as a camera, it’s like using myself to do conversation with people.

What is my idea of perfect happiness? Happiness can never be perfect, so you have to be happy with imperfection of everyday life. You have to love every season and to love each one exactly when it happen. For me, true happiness is a way of thinking.

What is my greatest fear? My greatest fear is to lose time around people and things that are not important for me. Our biggest richness is time, in truth, we have got only time, someone more than others. What matters it’s how you use your time, it allows you to get a perception of your life longer or shorter than the real duration.

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself? I am not very capable to apologize. I’m getting better over time.

Which living persons in my profession do I most admire? Peter Lindbergh as photographer, Marpessa and Kate Moss as models.

What is my greatest extravagance? I hate the metals to the point that, when I was a child, I never touched coins, hairpins and keys.

On what occasion would I lie? Everybody lie in everyday life, most of times they are small and innocent lies. Instead, I can say on what occasion I would never lie: with the few people I love.

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work? Too often, photography is not the purpose, but it’s used as a medium to have human relationship. Too often photography becomes the battlefield on which people fight to affirm themselves. Too often, battles are fought on social networks and are won the basis of quantity and not quality.

When and where was I the happiest, in my work? After my first shooting with Enrico Burani, I was at beginning of my course and until that moment I didn’t get a high level of quality. It was the first time I saw myself as well as I see me.

If I could, what would I change about myself? There is nothing that I would change about myself. I’m not perfect, but I cohabit well with my defects.

What is my greatest achievement in work? I always say “my greatest achievement is the next”. It’s my way to reach more goals and to put enthusiasm into future challenges.

Where would I most like to live? There are two places in the world where I’d most like to live: United States, where I’ve traveled, and Rome, where I actually live with my partner. So I can be satisfied. In the future, I just would like to get a biggest house, with more walls to hang my pictures and maybe a corner with my paint tools.

What is my most treasured possession? I have a great possession sense towards all my things to the point that I keep an updated list I keep a list updated with al my shoes, my jewels, my bags, etc… and I also categorize them by the color, the style and a short description. I know, this behavior is a little obsessive compulsive. Anyway, my most treasured possession concerns my emotive objects, things related to memories, like the blanket given by my grandmother, my mother’s apple pie or my cat’s pillow.

What is my most marked characteristic? My eyes. Without any doubt.

What is my most inspirational location, in my city? It’s impossible to answer because my city is Rome, the eternal city, where you can find too many inspirational location.

What is my favorite place to eat and drink, in my city? La Veranda a restaurant in an ancient convent where it was filmed a scene of “La Grande Bellezza”. I love the atmosphere of that place also more than food.

What books influenced my life and how? I began reading very late, despite my mother’s insistence. At the age of 12, “La grande fuga dei magnifici magnolici”, a totally unknown book, was love at first sight for me.

You Only Die Once. What music would I listen on my last day? “I’ll be missing you” by Puff Daddy. That song is a mystery because it should be dramatic (it was composed in memory of Notorious B.I.G.) but it brings joy.

Which movie would I recommend to see once in a lifetime? “Memoirs of a Geisha” because it reflects my vision of the woman. Beyond what may seem, the real woman is a bit like a man, she is not fragile but she is still in front of difficulties, like the water she can find her way and change her life.

What role plays art in my life and work? Art and life are not two separated dimensions, on the contrary, the first artwork of an artist is his own life.

Whom would I like to work with in 2017? I have a big list for that, but it is also a surprise.

Which people in my profession would I love to meet in 2017? Giovanni Gastel, I’d like to talk with him.

Where can you see me or my work in 2017? As usual, you can find my works on social networks, my website and some exhibition.

What do the words “Passion Never Retires” mean to me? For sure I’ll stop posing, I’ll retire myself as a model, but Passion Never Retires… so creativity need to express in other forms, in other ways.

Which creative heroines should Peter invite to tell their story? I want to suggest him a hero: Enrico Burani and a heroine: Gaia Maria Franciosi.

How can you contact me?

Facebook: Carola Ci (www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100010658736161)

Tumblr: carolamente.tumblr.com

Instagram: http://www.instagram.com/carolamente

e-mail: kiara.js.c@hotmail.it

Leave a Reply

