The Heroine’s Journey of Elinrós Dianadottir

 

What is the best thing that I love about my work? Exploring possibilities, being a creator and inspiring people. I go from art to fashion to glassware to digital design and writing in one day sometimes, and I love it all. So, being able to create something that is adding value to other people’s life is the greatest gift.
What is my idea of perfect happiness? I don’t have a fixed idea of happiness, I think all experiences are interlinked. Life is full of many different emotions, and they are all of equal importance.
What is my greatest fear? Dying before inspiring/touching enough people in the world.
What is the trait that I most deplore in myself? Deplore is a strong word, and I don’t think any growth comes out of that sort of judgement.
Which living persons in my profession do i most admire? I have a mixture of professions… so in the creative field in general, I would say Bjork. She is a truly unique creative spirit who never asked for permission. And Vivienne Westwood for the same reasons.
What is my greatest extravagance? I love quality and beauty… and coffee, lipsticks,  flowers and scented candles. I am up for an amazing cappuccino any time of the day.
On what occasion would I lie? When it is necessary.
What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work? The need of selling oneself is a tough one, and social media can be draining.
When and where was I the happiest, in my work? I experience a lot of euphoria in my work, it comes and goes in waves. I am happiest when I am truly present in the moment and appreciate everything with a clear mind, and know how lucky I am just to be doing what I am doing.
If I could, what would I change about myself? I believe in evolution, so change is always important. Change is more like a continuous part of life.
What is my greatest achievement in work? Each creation is an achievement in its own right, so I can’t answer that.
Where would I most like to live? I am happy to be based in London, but I wish I could teleport myself whenever I wanted, wherever I wanted.
What is my most treasured possession? My grandmothers ring.
What is my most marked characteristic? Creative, probably.
What is my most inspirational location, in my city? Sitting at a cozy café with a cappuccino, looking at the city and breathing it in. Our lovely parks and forests are incredible too.
What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city? The beauty with London is that you never have to settle for one, because the options are endless! I love exploring.
What books influenced my life and how? Reading Virginia Woolf’s “A Room of One’s Own” was very significant to me in many ways.
Who are my favorite writers? That depends on what day you’re asking me.
You Only Die Once. What music would I listen on my last day? I would play acoustic guitar and sing with a group of friends.
Who are my heroes and heroines in real life? My mother is definitely my number one heroine; biggest heart, loudest laugh and the strongest spirit. Then I admire everyone in this world who fight for a more equal, accepting, loving, beautiful and cleaner planet.
Which movie would i recommend to see once in a lifetime? Hmmm… depends on who I am talking to.
What role plays art in my life and work? Well, without art there would be no life and no work.
Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime? My mother again. She is a limitless source of encouragement, motivation, love and support. And partner in crime too at times.
What project, in 2017, am I looking forward to work on? There will be more art, more fashion and more design! I am also working on a book.
Where can you see me or my work in 2017? In London and online for a start.
What do the words “Passion Never Retires” mean to me? We who are graced with bottomless passion must motivate others to keep it alive. Because it retires for too many people, too fast.
How can you contact me?
Instagram & Twitter: Dianadottir
Leave a Reply

