The Heroine’s Journey of Veronika Persche

What is the best thing that I love about my work? I can create art with the most interesting technique I know. Using the knitting machine to create fabrics is fascinating. You have to follow the threads into all the narrow and crooked ways they make through the construction of the cloth. Plus, you have to understand how the machine is putting things together.

What is my idea of perfect happiness?  I live very well without the idea of perfect happiness.

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself?  Being insensitive and rude to others because I am overwhelmed by my own issues.

Which living persons in my profession do i most admire? Francoise Tellier-Loumagne, Lysanne Latulippe

On what occasion would I lie?  In order to hide my own faults.

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work? Working under close deadlines so the results are not as good as they could’ve been otherwise.

When and where was I the happiest, in my work? Many times: getting good feedback from a client. Especially when working on the distance. The feeling when the client is happy with the design and it turned out exactly as they imagined is extremely satisfying and reassuring.

If I could, what would I change about myself? It’s the essential challenge to change your self to the better during what you experience in life.

What is my greatest achievement in work? Managing my own business in a way that is sustainable, although circumstances are precarious. Working on inspiring projects with amazing artists.

Where would I most like to live? In my hometown Vienna.

What is my most treasured possession? My digital knitting machines.

What is my most inspirational location, in my city? Many places: music clubs, artist run spaces, coffee houses, every place where creative minds get together.

What books influenced my life and how? children books by Christine Nöstlinger and Roald Dahl

Who are my favorite writers? Christine Nöstlinger, Ernst Jandl, Kurt Schwitters, Roald Dahl

Who are my heroes and heroines in real life? Margarete Schütte-Lihotzky, Pussy Riot, Billy Holliday

What role plays art in my life and work? Applied Arts is my daily bread. Art in it’s various forms is “Lebensmittel” – life’s necessity.

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime? Mischa Reska: I am collaborating on a series of scarves and textile “paintings”. Also interior designer Miki Martinek, whith whom I was working on exceptional pieces.

What project, in 2017, am I looking forward to work on? I have an idea for a performative installation I would love to realise soon.

Where can you see me or my work in 2017?
http://cargocollective.com/persche
also some costumes on theatre stages like Saarländisches Staatstheater, Vorarlberger Landestheater. 

What do the words “Passion Never Retires” mean to me?  I am lucky I found my passion in my work and I do hope it is never going to fade.

Which creative heroines should Peter invite to tell their story?
Mischa Reska, Alexandra Mia Monkewitz, Kerstin Bennier

How can you contact me?

www.persche.com
v_persche@yahoo.com
https://www.facebook.com/veronika.persche

Leave a Reply

