The Heroine’s Journey of Maura Biava

What is the best thing that I love about my work? The thing I love about my work is that I experience it as an engine that propels a flow of interesting research, endless surprising new things to study and discoveries to undertake. All these things keep me trilled about what I’m about to discover and work on.

What is my idea of perfect happiness? This is a crucial question. Society tries to sell us happiness trough consumerism, but unfortunately nothing one can buy can fulfill his or her soul. Not an island, not a look. I believe that happiness comes with inner fulfillment and with the discovery of what we are and where we are. I’m perfectly happy when I learned something new about our universe, or for instance when I see and learn about an amazing achievement of some one .

What is my greatest fear? That we will destroy our creativity and replace it with productivity.

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself?  I try to use my imperfections in positive ways.

Which living persons in my profession do i most admire? I admire many people in my profession. All the ones that are working on exploring and developing their interests and ways of seeing.

What is my greatest extravagance? To laugh as much as I wish

On what occasion would I lie? just to tell things as I like.

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work? That is often in the hands of people that try to make the art world more commercial or more functional.

When and where was I the happiest, in my work? I’m always happy when I’m working

If I could, what would I change about myself? It’s ok, I’m not perfect but I like to learn to accept my imperfections rather than wish things to be different and change them.

What is my greatest achievement in work? To have always followed what truly interested me. Creating this way a body of work has developed with me.

Where would I most like to live? Where I am. In Amsterdam, Europe

What is my most treasured possession? The air that enables me to breathe and the water in my eyes that makes them sparkle.

What is my most marked characteristic? My loud laugh

What is my most inspirational location, in my city? The garden of my studio. It’s an artist project by Debra Solomon. By the way, on Tuesdays it’s open to the public.

What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city? The terrace of cafe Winkel, because it’s in the sun all day long.

What books influenced my life and how? Books about the complexity theory and quantum physics.

Which movie would i recommend to see once in a lifetime? One of my favorite and formative films, perhaps also because I saw this film when I was 7 is : ” Close encounters of the third kind ”

What role plays art in my life and work? It’s not a role I would say. It’s a way of life. It’s all I experience, even if I meditate it’s to connected to what informs me as an artist.

What project, in 2017, am I looking forward to work on? This year I would like to focus on two mathematical forms, creating a deep research on each of them. The first form I like to explore is the “Torus”. A mathematical formula that informs a shape that is fundamental to so many systems and living forms. The toroidal dynamic can be found in an apple or an orange, but also in a galaxy or a hurricane. A great torus shape has been built in CERN Switzerland to create and study particles. We know this shape best as the shape of the
donut. The way the energy flows trough this shape can be found in so many more
existing forms, including our planet and the sun. They both have a so called
toroidal field surrounding them. The other shape I like to work on is the “Star”. It is a mathematical shape that has been studied by artist like Albrecht Durer and that informs many existing things from diatoms to cactuses to fruits to starfish and many others.
Since the Vitruvian man, the star shape, like the torus, is also linked to the
energy field of the human body.

Where can you see me or my work in 2017? At C&H gallery in Amsterdam. It will also be featured in a number of group shows.

Which creative heroines should Peter invite to tell their story? Elspeth Diederix, Roma Pas, Maaike Schoorel, Jennifer Scappettone, Eylem Aladogan, Jennifer Tee, Viviane Sassen just to mention few.

How can you contact me?

on my website you find my email address www.maurabiava.com

I have a book or sale here:

http://www.konnotation.com/shop/maura-biava-form-informed

Leave a Reply

