The Heroine’s Journey of Annamaria Molnar

What is the best thing that I love about my work? I am amazed by the visual and intellectual challenges that contemporary art provides me every day. I love to work independently and at the same time being part of something great, the international community of art lovers and professionals.

What is my idea of perfect happiness? Being fully relaxed and calm after a good sleep and enjoying the present moment. If I can spend these peaceful times with those I love it is even better.

What is my greatest fear? Deadlines and lack of time for things which are important in life.

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself? Being a perfectionist.

Which living persons in my profession do i most admire? I feel great respect for some gallerists in the international art scene. To run a gallery, systematically implement their vision, manage artists on a long term and being financially successful as well needs enormous courage, commitment and talent. Being a gallerist is a complex job, a demanding business and a sort of cultural mission at the same time.

What is my greatest extravagance? Maybe cooking. I enjoy creativity and experimenting in the composition of ingredients, spicing without any cookbook. I never make the same dish the same way twice, I am always reinventing.

On what occasion would I lie? I hate lies in any form, but our everyday life is full of them. In Hungarian language we have an expression “kegyes hazugság” (white lie), which means lying (or rather not telling the whole truth) can be acceptable in situations when they serve the “good” or when the truth would hurt somebody and would cause damage. Sometimes it might be necessary, but I prefer to rather keep silent in such situations.

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work?Administrative tasks and generally working too much with the computer. Running a gallery functions on your good relations with people. Networking, finding your crowd and nurturing personal relationships is the essence and beauty of it, not the paperwork.

When and where was I the happiest, in my work? I am always happy and enjoy the company of open-minded, smart and intelligent people, I like to talk, change ideas and work with them. I am very lucky as there are lots of people of that kind in the art world. I also like visiting artists’ studios and being lost in admiration of artworks and the different artistic practices.

If I could, what would I change about myself? I would like to have 1 size bigger foot.

What is my greatest achievement in work? I came as an outsider to the art world from a completely different profession. However, with enthusiasm, dedication and persistence I managed to systematically build an internationally acclaimed position for my gallery against all the odds of operating basically in a peripheral marketplace.

Where would I most like to live? In my childhood and in my twenties I always wanted to live abroad, but after a couple of shorter and longer adventures abroad I finally ended up again in Budapest, where now I love to live. It is also due to the positive development of the city which is a vibrant metropolis again.

What is my most treasured possession? The wall-clock, what I inherited from my beloved grandmother.

What is my most marked characteristic? Innovation and creativity, always searching for better solutions, trustworthiness, reliability and empathy.

What is my most inspirational location, in my city? My gallery is located in the so called “Palotanegyed” (Palace District), a downtown area, which was a neglected neighbourhood for decades, but now is on the right track to gain back its historical glory as a result of developments and renovations. When strolling around in the streets nearby, I still discover hidden architectural treasures from time to time.

What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city? There are many great places for eating out in Budapest, which I find hard to resist. However, there is a small and simple restaurant in Veres Pálné street called Halkakas (which means fishcock) where you can get great fish dishes from Hungarian lakes and rivers, I can not get bored of it. Another one, which I would highly recommend to visitors as an entry to Hungarian culinary delights is Gettó Gulyás, which offers traditional Hungarian food with healthy contemporary twists.

What books influenced my life and how? All the books which keep my attention alive until their very end had influenced my life. Contemporary literature –like Péter Nádas’ “Párhuzamos történetek” (Parallel stories) inspires my soul and intellect. As a relaxing activity I read a lot about spirituality and books on positive psychology, which help keeping me on the positive side of life.

Who are my favorite writers? Peter Nádas and Gabriel García Márquez.

You Only Die Once. What music would I listen on my last day?Mozart Piano Concerto No. 21, this is the joint secret music of my children and me, and Shostakovich’s Waltz No.2, my favourite “love song”.

Who is my hero or heroine in fictionI do not have such heroes. My favourites in literature are novels about “average” people who stand for their ideas, ideals or loved ones

persistently.

Who are my heroes and heroines in real life? People fighting for human rights, and those who are saving other people’s life or helping magnanimously to others.

Which movie would i recommend to see once in a lifetime? I would recommend three Hungarian movies: one is the Oscar winning Son of Saul directed by László Nemes, White God by Kornél Mundruczó and one experimental movie by Peter Forgács, artist represented by my gallery titled “My own death”, based on a novel by Nádas.

What role plays art in my life and work? Art is an enduring passion and everyday work, also the basis of my earning for a living.

Who is my greatest fan?  My greatest admirers and enthusiastic fans are my sons Balázs (13) and Bálint (9) and vice versa.

Whom would I like to work with in 2017? I appreciate my gallery manager Eda Meggyesházi’s work a lot and hope to work on great projects, exhibitions, art fairs with her and with the artists of the gallery. I am also planning on cooperating with other international galleries.

Which people in my profession would I love to meet in 2017? I have lots of friends and acquaintances all over the world whom I regularly meet in the real or virtual space. I hope I will have enough time to maintain these precious personal relationships. And I am always open to get to know new people as well. I have many names in mind, but life always brings pleasant surprises.

What project, in 2017, am I looking forward to work on? First of all, I would like to move my gallery to a new space within the glorious Palace quarter. When ready, I can start to implement some of my long-standing plans to broaden the activities and artist circle of the gallery. And last but not least, my aim is to maintain the gallery’s presence in prestigious international art fairs.

Where can you see me or my work in 2017? Art Brussels is the next major international fair where I will exhibit, but the best is to jump on an airplane and fly to Budapest to see me in my gallery.
What do the words “Passion Never Retires” mean to me? A life-long commitment to maintain and develop my dreams, amongst them the gallery, which I hope will be an endless source of inspiration and joy in my life. And of course, to bring up my kids in passionate love and peace, in an inspiring family atmosphere.
Which creative heroines should Peter invite to tell their story? Georgina Adam, Sunny Rahbar
Leave a Reply

