The Heroine’s Journey of Elena Sigmund

What is the thing that I love most about my work?
Making stained glass windows is a love and passion of mine. I love seeing hundreds of tiny pieces of glass coming together to form amazing pictures.

What is my idea of perfect happiness?
The idea of perfect happiness for me is when I feel totally connected to the universe and all things within. It makes me feel that anything is possible and I all my dreams attainable.

What is my greatest fear?
Violence is one of my biggest fears.

What is the trait that I like least about myself?
Everyday I work on my patience because it is something I know that is hard for me to control and this is one trait I like least about myself.

Which living person or people do I most admire in my profession?
The people I most admire in my profession would have to be Alexander and Elena Arcibusheva because they bring to stained glass art a new style and concept not done by others. I also admire Eric Bonte with his great domes. They are absolutely stunning!

What extravagant things do you like most in your life?
I love dressing extravagantly like most women in Russia.

On what occasion would I lie?
I don’t like to lie and the only place I would feel most comfortable doing so would be if I was an actor on stage or film.

What is the thing that I dislike the most about my work?
I dislike when the glass cuts my fingers and it happens quite a bit.

When and where was I the happiest, in my work?
When I start a new project I am most inspired and happy. I can feel my dormant forces, faculties and talents becoming alive.

If I could, what would I change about myself?
If I could change anything about myself it would have to be waking up in the morning much easier then I do now.

What is my greatest achievement in work?
My greatest achievement is when a client asks me to make them something and when I’m done their reaction is priceless.

Where would I most like to live?
I enjoy a big city like Paris during the fall and winter months but would also love to have a quite villa in Greece during the summer and spring months.

What is my most treasured possession?
My family is my most prized possession.

What is my most marked characteristic?
I am very passionate about beauty and style.

What is the most inspirational location, in your city?
It’s Sevnica Castle, where i was married and i opened my first exhibition.

What is my favorite place to eat and drink, in my city?
I like to eat at home even though we have amazing restaurants where I live. Comfort from within.

What books influenced my life and how?
The book that has influenced my life the most is The Glass Bead Game by Hermann Hesse. This book taught me how Art is created, and explains that you need to use all of your senses, intuition, gut feelings and mind. You have to go deep inside yourself to be able to see clearly; arts, science, medicine, philosophical cosmology and so on. Then you will feel and know that all have the same thing in common, vision of the universe manifestations of the process from absolute to relative.

Who is my favorite writer?
I like Aleksandr Pushkin. I feel like his poems were created for my soul.

You Only Die Once! What music would I listen to on my last day?
I would like to listen to “The Swan” from The Carnival of the Animals by Camille Saint-Saëns.

Who is my hero or heroine in fiction?
I like Margarita from the book “The Master and Margarita” by Mikhail Bulgakov. Margarita is a beautiful, generalized and poetic character of a woman who knows love.

Who are my heroes and heroines in real life?
My hero in real life is my Grand Dad Ivan. He was prepared to die in the Second World War for my peaceful future.

Which movie would I recommend to see at least once in a lifetime?
I would recommend the science fiction film Solaris directed by Andrei Tarkovsky.

What defines my life and work?
Art is my life. And my life is art. My story in art began with ballet classes when I was 4 years old. Then from 6 years till 20 years I played the piano. When I finished getting my degree, I said, “ok, I know what I want my future to look like. I want to be an artist”. And I did. For me art is a way of seeing the world, a way of expressing myself and oftentimes a compulsion. I simply must create and follow my heart!

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime?
It’s my husband.

Whom would I like to work with in 2017?
I would like to work with fashion designer who works in Haute Couture. It can be great experiment to use stained glass like elements in dresses.

Which people in my profession would i love to meet in 2017?
I would like to go more deep on stained glass design and i would like to visit some Murano glass firms and to meet professions. I would like to study this art, then i can create new project and use for it different techniques.

What project, in 2017, am I looking forward to working on?
Im looking forward to some very big stained glass projects for a church.

Where do I see myself with work in 2017?
I would like to see some of my projects in various public places. But mostly I see myself creating for private residents and with each clients permission I would love to build my social media pages displaying my artwork.

What do the words “Passion Never Retires” mean to me?
Passion Never Retires means to me that because I have my vision and passion I will never give up on my dreams.

Which creative heroines should Peter invite to tell your story?
My mom Olga. She works in fashion. Sometimes she create dresses for me.

How can you contact me?

www.ef-art.net

https://www.facebook.com/sigmund.elena/

https://www.facebook.com/stainedglassprofesional/

https://www.instagram.com/ef.art/

Leave a Reply

