The Heroine’s Journey of Ghislaine van Erp-Kruse

What is the best thing that I love about my work?
The power to create beauty that touches people. I love it that there are people that find a piece they adore and cherish and will, literally, carry with them. I love it when I do markets and people find that certain piece and you see their eyes light up and their faces turn into a beaming smile.

What is my idea of perfect happiness?
This life I have with it’s ups and downs, being with my love, doing what I love, that is perfect happiness.

What is my greatest fear?
To lose my loved ones. To lose my ability to create.

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself?
I always understand everybody, this might not seem like a problem, but it is not fun sometimes when I need to stand up for myself, I tend to be too soft because I always understand what motivates others, where they come from, so yeah, then I am not as firm in my demands or do not get angry when I actually should….I do not like it that I am a softie, hahahaaaa

Which living persons in my profession do I most admire?
I absolutely love Mary Tucker’s jewelry (Wired Elements), her work really inspires me to reach higher and explore my boundaries.

What is my greatest extravagance?
Wearing black each and every day, hahahaaaa

On what occasion would I lie?
I don’t lie, I might leave out or bend some of the truth, mainly if it would hurt people if I would tell them the truth straight up, but I will not lie.

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work?
Pricing items, it is so hard to put a price on something!!

When and where was I the happiest, in my work?
Every time I manage to actually materialize a vision I have and it works out the way it looked in my head, I am in my happy spot!

If I could, what would I change about myself?
I would love to be able to feel more confident, not doubt myself so much.

What is my greatest achievement in work?
The hand tufted 16 by 18 foot wall hanging we (the Textile museum) made for Theaters Tilburg in the Netherlands.

Where would I most like to live?
Wherever the love of my life resides. 🙂

What is my most treasured possession?
Of course I do not literally possess them, but I greatly treasure my friends.

What is my most marked characteristic?
I think my empathy, positivity and having a smile for everybody.

What is my most inspirational location, in my city?
Fischer park, especially in the spring, it is a park that is working hard to bring back the original plants of the blackland prairie and so it is full of wildflowers, butterflies and even birds that you would normally not spot in this area. I always feel invigorated after a walk there!

What is my favorite place to eat and drink, in my city?
I have two favorite spots here in New Braunfels; the Phoenix saloon and the newly opened Krause’s cafeMy favorite spots in my ‘other city’, that in my heart still is my home, are music venue 013 and I love hanging at the Buitenbeentje.


What books influenced my life and how?
The lord of the rings, it was the first book I read that was pure fantasy of epic proportion. I have since then been ‘addicted’ to fantasy novels, they are my escape from the reality of daily life.

Who are my favorite writers?
Robert Jordan, J.R.R. Tolkien and Robin Hobb

You Only Die Once. What music would I listen on my last day? I love extremes, music by F.Y.P., Lisa Gerrard, either solo or with Dead can Dance, and any music by Mike Patton for example with Faith No More, Mr. Bungle, Fantômas, Lovage, etc. (he has so many projects I love) are my go to music.

Who is my hero or heroine in fiction?
Maude from the movie Harold and Maude, for how she teaches to live life to it’s fullest, to experience art everywhere and for making clear that life in itself is the most precious gift of all gifts.

Who are my heroes and heroines in real life?
I have many friends in my life that I greatly admire and who inspire me to take on anything, but especially my friend Heather for overcoming everything she’s been through and being the positive and loving person she is. Also my mother for putting up with me when she was raising me, hahahaaa.

Which movie would I recommend to see once in a lifetime?
An older favorite would be Harold and Maude and besides that The Fisher King from Terry Gilliam (although any movies by him I would suggest)

What role plays art in my life and work?
Art plays a big part in my life, it is all around me in our house and in our studio, I am creating and listening and watching it, drinking it in every day. It motivates me to take that step further in my own creations, it challenges me every day, art is life.

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime?
My husband and biggest friend, Chris.

Whom would I like to work with in 2017?
I am looking forward to be able to follow some courses that Leslie Kail Villarreal offers, I have waited for over a year doing that and I always look forward to have some studio time together with my friend Heather!

Which people in my profession would I love to meet in 2017?
That would be a toss up between Mary Tucker and Leslie Kail Villarreal I would not mind sitting down and exchanging ideas and techniques with either of them some time.

What project, in 2017, am I looking forward to work on?
Putting together my new studio once the sale of the house we are buying is finalized!! I can not wait!

Where can you see me or my work in 2017?
I will at last start doing my markets again after a break of over a year (since we were selling our house and had it staged for that purpose and next are waiting to buy a new place) so I will be back in Gruene, New Braunfel, Austin and San Marcos once we have started up our studio again!

What do the words “Passion Never Retires” mean to me?
I will never stop creating!!

Which creative heroines should Peter invite to tell their story? My creative friends: Lizabeth Knight, Monique Coppens, Dianne Sylvan, Karen MacInerney, Monica Knaapen, Steph Byrne, Erin Lynch…….actually too many to name!!! They are all wonderful talented people each in their line of work!


How can you contact me?

Through my website www.kruseartllc.com
Through my facebook page www.facebook.com/KruseArt

Leave a Reply

