The Heroine’s Journey of Karrie Ross

What is the best thing that I love about my work?

• The nature of it showing me who I am, and am becoming. How I resolve the issues on a subconscious level in a way that I finally can see them and make changes to my life. I also love when another person is totally taken into and by my work, by me.

What is my idea of perfect happiness?

• when balance appears and is consistent overall aspects of my life and my mind is free from self-imposed fears and insecurities.

What is my greatest fear?

• the how long it will take for me to “right” the balance in my life once it’s been “upset”. The process of notice / accept / action.

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself?

  • I am sometimes overly sensitive.

Which living persons in my profession do i most admire?

• I have not met one yet that holds my continuous admiration. Many hold my attention, and inspire me to that possible eventuality.

What is my greatest extravagance?

• art supplies, especially watercolor brushes

On what occasion would I lie?

• I have found that if I tell even a “little” lie, its still a lie… and the thought of telling it follows me my whole life… I don’t like that feeling and prefer to respond to requests for my opinion with “I prefer not to answer unless you can accept a sincere-for-me response that you might not agree with.”

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work?

• no answer here—my work is me, even if its uncomfortable at times.

When and where was I the happiest, in my work?

• many places, especially when I have worked on a series for years and all of a sudden a piece shows up that is the accumulation of all efforts and the series is then complete…and that I can see that complete in the final piece… the exploration and accomplishment of…result.

If I could, what would I change about myself?

• nothing until it shows up—a forced change that comes from outside me would then not be me! If anything needs to be changed, a circumstance will arise that will bring the need to my attention and then ‘it’ (change) will happen when I am ready.

What is my greatest achievement in work?

• the finish of each piece I create. And my son being the kind, wonderful person he has grown to become…and becoming. Yes, children are work too.

Where would I most like to live?

• over looking the ocean in an open living/work space, warm, windows, seclusion yet just around a corner from great art supply stores and services and galleries and like minded people.

What is my most treasured possession?

• I really like my mind it truly is MINE…most other “possessions” are just items, and here until they are gone.

What is my most marked characteristic?

• confidence, compassion, sweet… I’m a Mom.

What is my most inspirational location, in my city?

• my inner mind. Meditations…Pacific Ocean. Having coffee and conversations with a friend.

What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city?

• I like the restaurant Thyme on Ocean Park Ave, Santa Monica, CA it has a great quiche and rich coffee… and Gilberts has a really good chicken taco, salsa, and beans. I do not go out as much as I used to.

What books influenced my life and how?

• My father loved SciFi and when I was young I loved to look at their covers and get lost in the fantasy of what they represented, as I grew older I took more to mysteries. I am one of those people who read and forget… the info just doesn’t stay in my mind. But I’m sure they all influenced me in some way. ie: In Search of the Miraculous; Sherlock Holmes; Dune (series);

Who are my favorite writers?

• Mary Roberts Reinhart, A. Conan Doyle, P.D. Ouspensky, Ray Bradbury; several others that came to me at different times in my life and gave me insights and who helped to guide me to who I am today.

You Only Die Once. What music would I listen on my last day?

• Mostly I sit in quiet. I like rock’n roll; boogie woogie; blues rock; and classical. Beatles, Stones, Dylan, Traveling Wilburys, Canned Heat, Stevie Ray Vaughn; can’t think of the others. And also love the sound of being near a rushing river or ocean waves breaking to shore, rain on a tin roof and so many other simple sounds, and silence.

Who is my hero or heroine in fiction?

• Cartoons… I was a big fan of Mighty Mouse and Casper the Friendly Ghost. I know that’s not what you mean but as a child they influenced me and had a lot to do with how I acted in life. Books… don’t do much reading so limited. Movies… my mind knows its all fiction so none that I can think of, however I tend to like deep thought, discovery, and introductions to new ways of seeing/thinking.

Who are my heroes and heroines in real life?

• My son. My sister. My Father and Mother. People who are among those that influence industry, and use their influence to better a situation not just for personal gain. Those who give freely, openly, and anonymously. In the art-world I appreciate the people who encourage, create opportunities for community involvement, and social exposure. Artists: Walt Disney, Picasso, Miro, Frank Frazetta, Caveman art.

Which movie would i recommend to see once in a lifetime?

• Yikes, there are many that I can see over and over and never tire of and at this moment I can’t think of any. Usually there are only moments in a movie, the moment that MAKES it special for me.

What role ART plays in my life and work?

• My life is Art. Art is a process of balance, exploration, consideration, realizations, actions, and results… as is in living.

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partners in crime?

• There have been many influencers over my 67 years of life. From my high school art teacher, to my two husbands, to the many designers I’ve worked with over 45 years, as well as clients and collectors. Once my son was born he became the one who seemed to see me clearly and was not afraid to tell me what he thought. He continues to surprise me, and I value him beyond. I have two long time friends (over 35 years), Greg and Terry who I consider my greatest fans. Sponsors come and go and the partners in crime show up different for each occasion opportunity, even one of my dogs was a partner, teacher, sponsor.

Whom would I like to work with in 2017?

• thinking more about what projects would I like. I applied for the Guggenheim Fellowship and several other grants and residencies. I would very much like to be able to explore what those types of opportunities will open up for me, in the way of community, industry, process, expansion, etc.

Which people in my profession would i love to meet in 2017?

• Meet. That thought makes me a little sad…I know a lot of artists, and know about a lot of artists, and at this moment there isn’t one living artist I know enough about, to want to “love to meet”.

What project, in 2017, am I looking forward to work on?

• I so far have had 7 events and each one is looked forward to and especially excited for the ones that have not entered my radar yet… I love to anticipate.

Where can you see me or my work in 2017?

• I have a News page set up on my website where I post all the upcoming events I engage in each year… you can visit it at any time to see what I’m up to. http://www.karrierossfineart.com/news/

What do the words “Passion Never Retires” mean to me?

• Art is life, is living, is love—allowing for my passions to continue to “give” beyond my living.

Which creative heroines do I recommend for Peter to invite to tell their story?

• I will share the blog post on fb along with contact info for getting in touch with Peter… I know many who would like to be a part of this.

How can you contact me?

Website(s) http://www.karrierossfineart.com and http://www.karrieross.com

instagram http://www.instagram.com/karrieross_la/

Facebook http://www.facebook.com/karrie.ross

Books I’ve written with links to amazon for purchase http://www.karrierossfineart.com/books-by-karrie-ross/

and the amazon listing at: (just type in my name for my books to show up). http://tinyurl.com/gmtboju

My EverGreen News page for Fine Art http://www.karrierossfineart.com/news/

 

Leave a Reply

