The Heroine’s Journey of Mia Papaefthimiou

What is the best thing that I love about my work? My work is my passion! My life as an architect and curator can be very demanding, but I love the feeling of creating every day, as well as the long-term creative process. I love to keep exploring the limits of what is feasible and what not, under the given circumstances. It’s a constant puzzle game!

What is my idea of perfect happiness? Happiness is moments for me and it can be found in the smallest things everyday. Happiness is a sustainable balance between my logic and my intuition… It is a state of mind.

What is my greatest fear? I have many great fears but as I grow older I am fighting to get over them. As the greatest, I would say it is the fear of stop being curious – not finding enough stimulation to be curious.

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself? Inevitably due to the busy lifestyle, I tend to multitask a lot. And although that counts as a positive aspect, I would need to try on certain occasions, to take the time and focus on one thing at the time.

Which living persons in my profession do i most admire? I admire my partner, music director and violinist Yury Revich in the concert and exhibition series ‘Friday Nights with Yury Revich’ that I curate as an art director. He is super talented, challenges my perception of the world around me, broadens my horizons and expands my limits.

What is my greatest extravagance? Internet off, phones off and time for me !!!

On what occasion would I lie? I certainly prefer not to, as I believe that truth is a powerful tool.

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work? I try to see any negative in my work as a challenge that I need to overcome. However, what I find really difficult to deal with, is negative and narrow-minded people.

When and where was I the happiest, in my work? The happiest moment I can recall from the top of my mind, is certainly the audience’s applause after the first music and art performance of the ‘Friday Nights with Yury Revich International Tour’ in Megaron Athens Concert Hall last January. It was a long lasting, warm applause from a sold out hall, reflecting the success of our project, after all the months of hard work, struggles and obstacles. Seeing two very familiar pair of eyes in the audience was the cherry on the top of the cake!

If I could, what would I change about myself? Almost everyone says: ‘nothing, I love the way I am’, or ‘all I have done so far brought me to where I am now’, etc. To be honest, I can say that I also believe the words above and I am heading towards signing the peace agreement with myself. But, one thing that I could change for sure is going back to the age of 5, letting my stubbornness away and allow my mother to teach me German.

What is my greatest achievement in work? The next to come…

Where would I most like to live? I have lived in different countries and cities in Europe, and all of them have given me great pleasure and valuable experiences. However, by far, Athens, my birthplace and hometown, is my favourite place to live.

What is my most treasured possession? With no question, my parents and my sister. They are my power and strength.

What is my most marked characteristic? My passion and commitment to what I do.

What is my most inspirational location, in my city? I share me time between Vienna, London and Athens on a monthly basis. Therefore, in Vienna would be, running along Donau Canal, in London, a Royal Academy of Arts visit and in Athens, walking along D. Aeropagitou Str. by the ancient Akropolis hill.

What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city?

Vienna: Japanese Shiki and Robertos American Bar

London: Italian Ripe Tomato in Notting Hill to eat and Savoy Americal Bar

Athens: My mother’s kitchen and Barreldier Bar in the city center

What books influenced my life and how? ‘When Nietzsche Wept’, a novel by Irvin D. Yalom, on how I perceive my deepest desires and fears in life.

Who are my favorite writers? Socrates, Plato, Aristophanes and Shakespeare

You Only Die Once. What music would I listen on my last day? ‘I Will Survive’ by Gloria Gaynor

Who is my hero or heroine in fiction? Dory, the Regal blue tang fish

Who are my heroes and heroines in real life? My parents

Which movie would i recommend to see once in a lifetime? Lobster by Y. Lanthimos

What role plays art in my life and work? There is no life without art!

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime? My greatest partners in crime are Yury Revich (MY ARTS non profit organisation for cultural support, http://www.fnights.com) and Madhusha Wijesiri (CODE Atelier, http://www.code-atelier.com)

Whom would I like to work with in 2017? Marina Abramovic and Alejandro Aravena

What project, in 2017, am I looking forward to work on? Our October 2017 Charity Gala for SOS – Kinderdorf in Austria and the Ellinikon Regeneration Project in Athens, Greece.

Where can you see me or my work in 2017? As a curator and art director, in Vienna from April to October in Musikverein Brahms-Saal Vienna, in Belvedere Museum, Liechtenstein Palais and Hotel Imperial among other locations. ‘Friday Nights International Tour 2017’ will continue after Athens, to Salle Gaveau Paris in June (www.fnights.com).

As an architect, I am part of a team renovating a shopping mall in the center of Moscow and the construction will start mid – end 2017.

What do the words “Passion Never Retires” mean to me? Retirement is just a state due to age, creativity and passion has no age limits.

Which creative heroines should Peter invite to tell their story? The first super heroine that comes to mind is Nina Granda (FB: https://www.facebook.com/nina.strovs?fref=ts)

How can you contact me? You can contact me via my email address: curarchitect@gmail.com

and via my FB page: Mia Papaefthimiou (https://www.facebook.com/mia.papaefthimiou)

Leave a Reply

