The Heroine’s Journey of Nika Fontaine

What is the best thing that I love about my work? My work is my passion. Even through the biggest stress of production I feel delighted I can do what I love the most.
Through my art I research and express my spirituality and grow constantly as a person.

What is my idea of perfect happiness? To love and be loved. To create beautiful and meaningful art for others. To put my talent and knowledge to the service of others.
To be in abundance and share it.

What is my greatest fear? Power mongers and those who lack empathy.

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself? I would like to be more available for friends and family.

Which living persons in my profession do i most admire? There is actually so many..
As a visual artist: David Altmejd
As a performance artist: Ivo Dimchev
As a musician: Apigeon and Cameron Carpenter

What is my greatest extravagance? I tend to invest everything in my projects and working spaces. The new studio I am about to get is gracefully decadent!
The swimming pool I want to build inside is definitely extravagant!

On what occasion would I lie? I order not to hurt someone if the truth cannot be constructive.

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work? Of course I should mention all the administrative parts and the paperwork it require.

When and where was I the happiest, in my work? Each time I create a strong work, there is a state of grace and fulfillment that fills my heart and space around me.
For different reasons I enjoyed every studio I had. Either they though me life and survival, or they had their own poetry or they were in exceptional contexts and cities.

If I could, what would I change about myself? I am working on getting healthier and quitting smoking is the first thing I would change.
Also for my gender transition there is a few things still to be done.

What is my greatest achievement in work? I would say it is the fact I can now live of my art basically since I left school.

Where would I most like to live? I am soon moving to Spain in a beautiful village in the mountains.

What is my most treasured possession? I should say my memories. They hold all my loved ones, many cities and landscapes and the knowledge that made who I am today.

What is my most marked characteristic? Creativity is my best asset as well as patience and hardwork. This very much summarize everything i do in life and work.

What is my most inspirational location, in my city? In Berlin i love to go to the liquidrom Spa. This is one of the few moments i can disconnect from my work and relax, that is often when the ideas come 😉 Otherwise I love to attend classical music concerts and operas.
Sometimes at night I go sit on a park bench and watch the sky while thinking about projects.

What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city? I love the Little Tibet restaurent which is close to my place in Berlin. It is not the best restaurent I went but surely the one I went the most with close friends. It is owned by a small tibetan community who also organize meditations and yoga events.

What books influenced my life and how? Gender Outlaw by Kate Bornstein opened my eyes on gender diversity and gave me the courage to transition. Le Kybalion opened many doors.

Who are my favorite writers? Deepak Chopra, Alejandro Jodorowsky, Dion Fortune, Rumi, Hildegard von Bingen

You Only Die Once. What music would I listen on my last day? Atalanta Fugiens by M. Maier

Who is my hero or heroine in fiction? I am tempted to say Jesus for his love and compassion. I grew up in a catholic context and I always loved the teachings. Although i don’t consider myself christian or neither I practice any religion, my faith is strong and my spiritual life very rich.

Who are my heroes and heroines in real life? Many many people.. Those who devote themselves to the wellbeing of others, physically, emotionally, spiritually.
I am fortunate enough to know many great human beings like this.

Which movie would i recommend to see once in a lifetime? All the movies from Alejandro Jodorowsky are wonderful! The holy mountain is of course a classic.

What role plays art in my life and work? It is at the core of my work and it is the language I use to transmit my ideas and testimonies.

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime? Definitely my mother and my brother but soon after my friends and gallerists Alex Meffert and Jorge Sanguino.
Many friends are great sponsors and partners in crime, but just to name one I will say Benjamin.

Whom would I like to work with in 2017? I would like to work with my great friends and astounding artists Apigeon and Jérôme Havre. Eventually working with Ivo Dimchev would be fantastic !

Which people in my profession would i love to meet in 2017? Elmar Trenkwalder

What project, in 2017, am I looking forward to work on? I am looking forward to get back to sculpture with my first outdoor fountain/gate. Also I look forward to finish my Tarot series by 2018.

Where can you see me or my work in 2017? I will be showing work in Germany, France, USA, Canada and maybe China. The gallery Wildpalms is my main representation and they work very hard to spread the work in Europe and America.

What do the words “Passion Never Retires” mean to me? This is exactly the way I perceive my future. I cannot imagine to stop making art one day.. If i get blind, I will write books and music or do sculptures. Since my work is my passion, i don’t know why I should ever retire.

Which creative heroines should Peter invite to tell their story?

Apigeon
Alex Meffert

How can you contact me?
www.nikafontaine.com

Leave a Reply

