The Heroine’s Journey of Aurelie Bauer

What is the best thing that I love about my work?  

The best thing that I love about my work is the freedom that I have. I feel free, no hourly, no boss, I work in my own creation space and I live with my rules.

What is my idea of perfect happiness?  

My happiness idea is not so difficult to reach. For being happy I have to enjoy the present moment, make one with my environment and my work. I need to be surrounded by my friends and my family

What is my greatest fear?  

Lose someone I love.

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself?  

I’m very angish and I’m never satisfied. I know that I have to enjoy what I have and not project what I will have.

Which living persons in my profession do i most admire? 

I admire a person like Francois Boisrond. He was my teacher at school and he showed me the way to be a painter. When I started, I had a wrong idea of what being successful is. Thanks to him, I saw  that it’ s nothing. He is very famous on his discipline but he continues to move foward without paying attention to the notorious… The only real strength is working.

What is my greatest extravagance?  

I’m not an extravagant person, I work everyday in my studio like a monk.

On what occasion would I lie?  

I always make the same lie. When I have an exhibition I like to finish my work at the very last moment. This is where I am better so when my gallerist ask me if all is a right I always lie. Nothing is ended 2 days before but by magic all return to normal D-day

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work?  

My financial insecurity. You never know what you will be two months later. Sometimes I dream to have a regular salary. That the only thing that I dislike in my job for everything else it’s the dream Job 

When and where was I the happiest, in my work?  

I’m always happy when I can work on my studio listening music 

If I could, what would I change about myself?  

I learned to love myself like that. I would’t changed nothing not by vanity but because my defaults, my fears, my anxiety are my motors.

What is my greatest achievement in work?  

Keep being a painter till my golden years. Henri matisse said that he began to be a good painter around 80 years old, I want to know what it does.

Where would I most like to live ? 

I actually live in Paris because I love this city but also because it’s more convenient for my job. In my dream I would like to have a studio at the seaside. 

What is my most treasured possession?

My hands and my eyes. Without them I’m screwed. If the question was what the material possession is my treasure, I have nothing that I will take in my grave, except my cat 🙂 

What is my most marked characteristic?

I’m a very perforating person even if everybody advices me to abandon, if my instinct feel something, I’m going to follow it no matter the cost.

What is my most inspirational location, in my city?  

I’m a painter but every evening, I go and see my sister performing on stage. We also work together, she writes and play her role and I build decorations. she plays her own Piece of theater. I love that, feel the stage, watch the public during the show, the actors enter and leave the stage behind my theater sets. 

What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city?

As a lot of parisians I like all the terraces where we spend a lot of time with a glass of wine and friends… If I have to mention one of them it will be “le petit rétro” rue mesnil. 

What books influenced my life and how?

Cyrano de Bergerac by Edmond Rostand is my favorite book. I’ve read it when I was 15 years old and that is why I love literature, painting and theater… 

Who are my favorite writers?

Victor Hugo, Rimbaud, Gilles Deleuze

What music would I listen on my last day?

Kings of Léon  “sex on fire”, “Rap God” Eminem, all Serge Gainsbourg, “What Ya Want” jaz-y, “Nuthin’ but A G thang” DR Dre, Dax rider

Who is my hero or heroine in fiction? 

Ingrid Bergman In “Notorious” and Humphrey Bogart In “Casablanca”

Who are my heroes and heroines in real life?

My mother who fights the disease and show me the reals values of life.

Which movie would I recommend to see once in a lifetime? 

“The lady Vanishes” by Alfred Hitchcock 

What role plays art in my life and work?

Arts gives meaning to my life and occupies all my time.

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime?  

My sister. We are like twins, she is one year younger and we are all together to face life. We work together, hangout together, travel together, have fun together…. 

Whom would I like to work with in 2017?  

David Lynch. 

Which people in my profession would i love to meet in 2017?

Pierre soulages.

What project, in 2017, am I looking forward to work on?  

I prepare three personal painting exhibitions and I look forward to see if people will be responsive to my painting. I choose a new theme because of a high light of my life and I tried to convey my émotions at best 

Where can you see me or my work in 2017?

Febuary in jean Louis Danant Gallery avenue Matignon In Paris 

March in adrien Kavachnina Gallery avenue du faubourg st honoré in Paris 

September in Elizabeth couturier Gallery Lyon 

October YIA art Fair In Paris 

November : “evening drawing” at guimet muséum Paris 

How can you contact me?

Aurelie.bauer@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

