The Heroine’s Journey of Jennifer Mackay

What is the best thing that I love about my work?

J’aime l’état proche de la méditation dans l’acte de créer, quand je suis en totale harmonie avec ma pensée et la main qui crée. Etre seule et en même temps complètement connectée.

I like the state close to meditation in the act of creating, when I am in total harmony with my thinking and hand creating. Being alone and at the same time completely connected.

What is my idea of perfect happiness?

Savoir que chaque jour apporte une nouvelle idée, rencontre, création petite ou grande, humaine ou spirituelle.

Knowing that each day brings a new idea, encounter, small or great creation, human or spiritual

What is my greatest fear?

Mourir sans avoir suffisamment dis et donner mon amour à ceux qui m’entoure.

To die without having sufficiently said and to give my love to those who surround me

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself?

Mon pessimisme jamais très loin quand l’obstacle me parait trop grand.

My pessimism never very far when the obstacle seems to me too big.

Which living persons in my profession do i most admire?

Kiki smith, Mona Hatum, Javier Perez, Annette Messager

What is my greatest extravagance?

M’inventer une vie, un personnage, une situation et finalement le vivre quelques mois ou années après, croire encore et toujours aux rêves que j’avais enfant.

To invent a life, a character, a situation and finally to live it a few months or years later, to believe still and always in the dreams that I had child.

On what occasion would I lie?

Pour protéger ou épargner les gens que j’aime, trop de passion est dangereux !

To protect or spare the people I love, too much passion is dangerous!

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work?

La jalousie et la mesquinerie, mais en même temps c’est que mon travail devient de plus en plus juste, c’est donc un bon baromètre, il faut le prendre dans ce sens sinon on ne fait plus rien…

Jealousy and meanness, but at the same time my work is becoming more and more fair, so it is a good barometer, we must take it in this sense otherwise we do nothing more …

When and where was I the happiest, in my work?

Je suis la plus heureuse sur ma feuille quand le dessin coule tout seul ou quand la sculpture textile prend forme dans l’espace. Je suis la plus heureuse quand le public me parle de ce qu’il voit ou ressent et que je reconnais une petite part de l’intention que j’y ai mise.

I am the happiest on my sheet when the drawing flows by itself or when the textile sculpture takes shape in space. I am the happiest when the public speaks to me about what it sees or feels and I recognize a small part of the intention that I put there.

If I could, what would I change about myself?

Ne plus jamais douter que je suis à ma place, au bon endroit au bon moment. Avoir confiance !

Never doubt again that I am in my place, in the right place at the right time. Have confidence!

What is my greatest achievement in work?

J’espère que je n’ai encore rien fini ! tout reste à faire, tout est changement, tout reste à créer !

I hope I have not finished anything yet! Everything remains to be done, everything is change, everything remains to be created!

Where would I most like to live?

Là où il y a de la vie, mes enfants, des amis…

Where there is life, my children, friends …

What is my most treasured possession?

Ma pensée, personne ne m’appartient, et les objets ne sont intéressant qu’au moment où ils nous renvoient à nous même, mais c’est éphémère car on change tout le temps, le passé est passé, ne reste que la pensée.

My thought is that no one belongs to me, and objects are interesting only when they send us back to ourselves, but it is ephemeral because we change all the time, the past is past, only thought remains.

What is my most marked characteristic?

Mon rire, et ma voix qui porte très loin (j’ai quelques amis sourds depuis qu’ils me côtoient…)

My laughter, and my voice that bears very far (I have a few deaf friends since they are with me …)

What is my most inspirational location, in my city?

Là où je pose mes crayons, Le muséum d’histoire naturelle, l’abbatiale st Ouen et les quais réaménagés.

Where I put my pencils, The Museum of Natural History, the Abbey of St Ouen and the restored quays.

What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city?

Le Bistronome, un restaurant tout à côté de mon atelier, et pas très loin non plus un bistrot super kitch : »La Buvette du Robec »

The Bistronome, a restaurant next door to my workshop, and not too far away a bistro super kitch: »La Buvette du Robec»

What books influenced my life and how?

L’arrache-cœur de Boris Vian, pour différentes raisons : la dualité des sentiments dans le couple homme/femme, mère/père/enfants, et le surréalisme des mots. Tous les livres de David Lodge qui décortique à merveille les comportements humains tout en me faisant hurler de rire. Cent ans de solitude de Gabriel Garcia Marquez, magique, la vie est un conte…Le cœur cousu de Carole Martinez …. Car moi aussi j’aimerai être une « sorcière » ?!

The heartbreaker of Boris Vian, for various reasons: the duality of feelings in the couple man / woman, mother / father / children, and the surrealism of words. All of David Lodge’s books that perfectly decorate human behavior while making me howl of laughter. A hundred years of solitude by Gabriel Garcia Marquez, magic, life is a tale … The heart stitched by Carole Martinez …. For I too will like to be a “witch” ?!

Who are my favorite writers?

Boris Vian, Gabriel Garcia Marquez, David Lodge, Sartre et pleins d’autres encore !

You Only Die Once. What music would I listen on my last day?

Vivaldi ou/et Janis Joplin !

Who is my hero or heroine in fiction?

Mary Poppins !

Who are my heroes and heroines in real life?

Frida Kahlo, Louise Bourgeois et mon arrière Grand-mère.

Frida Kahlo, Louise Bourgeois and my great grandmother.

Which movie would i recommend to see once in a lifetime?

Le dernier que j’ai vu qui m’a cloué sur place : Alabama Monroe

The last one I saw that nailed me on the spot: Alabama Monroe

What role plays art in my life and work?

Je ne pourrais pas vivre sans l’art, c’est le seul moyen pour moi d’exprimer tous les sentiments humains en les alliant à l’invisible, c’est le meilleur moyen de se connecter aux autres, que ce soit la musique, la peinture, l’écriture etc….

I could not live without art, it is the only way for me to express all human feelings by combining them with the invisible, it is the best way to connect with others, be it music , Painting, writing etc ….

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime?

Mon Mari, qui m’a toujours soutenu malgré mon manque de confiance ou un orgueil parfois déplacé. Il s’est toujours bien gardé de juger mes créations aussi, et ça c’est de l’or…

My husband, who has always supported me despite my lack of confidence or a pride sometimes misplaced. He has always been careful not to judge my creations too, and that is gold …

Whom would I like to work with in 2017?

Dans ma Ville à Rouen, Dans des lieux comme le Muséum d’histoire naturelle, mais également à Paris ou ailleurs où tout reste à découvrir avec Des Plasticiens(nes) engagés et enjoués !

In my City in Rouen, In places like the Museum of Natural History, but also in Paris or elsewhere where everything remains to be discovered with Plasticists (nes) committed and cheerful!

Which people in my profession would i love to meet in 2017?

Toute personne qui voudra bien me faire confiance et croire en ce que je crée !

Anyone who wants to trust me and believe in what I create!

What project, in 2017, am I looking forward to work on?

Développer le « Collectif George », un projet ambitieux et simple sur la transformation d’un personnage féminin fictif que je crée avec mon amie Céline Fouchereau, photographe au travers des « greffons » textiles que je crée et son regard perçant sur l’existence ! Première vraie collaboration, beaucoup d’amour !!!

To develop the “Collectif George”, an ambitious and simple project on the transformation of a fictional female character that I create with my friend Céline Fouchereau, photographer through the textile “grafts” I create and her piercing look at existence! First real collaboration, a lot of love !!!

Where can you see me or my work in 2017?

A Rouen, à l’atelier 160 rue Beauvoisine, 76000 Rouen, Début Mars 2017 :Collectif George

23 Mars au 2 Avril : Présentation d’Art « Contemporeines» Du 8 Avril au 5 Novembre 2017

Exposition A Corps et Âme. La médecine à la Renaissance (Château de Kerjean- Chemin du patrimoine en Finistère, 29440 Saint-Vougay)

18 Septembre au 6 Octobre Centre Culturel Maurice Ravel, 12ème Paris, Présentation d’art Contemporeines par l’association DiverZarts

In Rouen, at the workshop 160 rue Beauvoisine, 76000 Rouen, Early March 2017: Collectif George

23 March to 2 April: Presentation of Art «Contemporeines» From 8 April to 5 November 2017

Exhibition A Body and Soul. Medicine in the Renaissance (Château de Kerjean – Heritage Route in Finistère, 29440 Saint-Vougay)

18 September to 6 October Cultural Center Maurice Ravel, 12th Paris, Presentation of art Contemporeines by the association DiverZarts

What do the words “Passion Never Retires” mean to me?

Tant que mon cœur battra, je créerai !

As long as my heart beats, I will create!

Which creative heroines should Peter invite to tell their story? L’encrière Tatoo girl ! https://www.facebook.com/ClemJam/?fref=ts Céline Fouchereau https://www.facebook.com/fouchereau.celine?fref=ts Laure Forêt https://www.facebook.com/mademoisl?fref=ts Joëlle Bondil https://www.facebook.com/joelle.bondil?fref=ts Anne Laure Maison https://www.facebook.com/annelaure.maison.1?fref=ts

How can you contact me? Jane.mckay@free.fr atelierdejennifermackay@gmail.com http://mackayjennifer.com

https://blog-jennifermackay-world.tumblr.com/

http://www.facebook.com/jennifer.chapalainmackay http://www.collectifgeorge.fr collectifgeorge@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

