The Heroine’s Journey of Lena Braun

What is the best thing that I love about my work?
I love the variations, which appear. My work is never the same, it’s a river of no return, a movement, a path.

What is my idea of perfect happiness? 
To create through myself and my work for me and my audience a second reality: Glamorous, playful and full of joy.

What is my greatest fear? 
There is no fear, fear eats the soul.

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself? 
I am interested in evidence not in deploration.

Which living persons in my profession do i most admire?
I mostly admire people which are already gone, I like to keep them alive through remembrance. Living artists do not need admiration, they need attention.

What is my greatest extravagance?
I am born as an extravagance, without knowing it, totally naiv. I think my wildness will stay forever, its my nature.

On what occasion would I lie? 
To be polite.

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work? 
Storage & Transport: I really would like to be “Charming Jeannie”(actress: Barbara Eden in: I Dream of Jeannie) to have all my works in miniature format with me, placed in a beautifull IT-bag, able to make it big again, just with a twinkel.

When and where was I the happiest, in my work? 
What a question! There is no day like another! But I really liked to work with Kitty Wild and Joy Gutthardt as coperformer, with both each second was fun.

If I could, what would I change about myself? 
I would change myself into the richest person at this planet to have the capital to change everything, just everything.

What is my greatest achievement in work?
authenticity

Where would I most like to live?
Berlin is just great. But I dream as well from a second home at the seaside.

What is my most treasured possession? authenticity

What is my most marked characteristic?
authenticity

What is my most inspirational location, in my city? 
I like the ära of Revue-Theater, so its good to go to Friedrichstadtpalast, if you want to escape, to be inspired. Inspiration comes through movement, so I as well like to move my legs.

What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city?
Tell people about your favorite places and … you cant go there anymore.

What books influenced my life and how?
All good books influenced me, they become a part of my life.

Who are my favorite writers?
This is changing and the list could be endless. Here are some: Francoise Sagan, Violette Leduc, Leon de Winter, Margaret Millar, Truman Capote, Harper Lee, Carson McCullers, Banana Yoshimoto, Colette …

You Only Die Once. What music would I listen on my last day?
I died often and I think if its warm enough, birds will sing, like always.

Who is my hero or heroine in fiction?
Long ago I liked Natalie Portman in Léon. As well Le Cinquième Élément with Milla Jovovich was just great, Luc Besson has a good taste for heroines. If we speak about 2017 I have to say I loved Valeria Bruno Tedeschi in Paolo Virzis movie Like Crazy. She was just wonderful.

Who are my heroes and heroines in real life?
I dont see any. Heroines arent in fashion, we have a lash back into family life. So heroines mostly live in fiction.

Which movie would I recommend to see once in a lifetime?
I would recommend to see each day in lifetime a movie, like others eat apples to stay hale.

What role plays art in my life and work?
Art is everything. As well the colour of the fishes in the deep see is art.

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime? 
I do not understand the question.

Whom would I like to work with in 2017? 
I will work with with the curator An Paenhuysen in april and after that with the artist Wojtek Radtke and I like to find the right gallerist for my oeuvre this year.

Which people in my profession would I love to meet in 2017?
I trust fortune.

What project, in 2017, am I looking forward to work on? 
Like I said, I will be a part at the wonderfull project UP & DOWN of An Paenhuysen I write a book, I will as well illustrate it.
Everything else is secret.

Where can you see me or my work in 2017?
http://www.kindl-berlin.de/vorschau/

What do the words “Passion Never Retires” mean to me?
I would better say: Passion never sleeps

Which creative heroines should Peter invite to tell their story?
Magdalena Zyszkowska und Luisa Pohlmann

How can you contact me?
http://www.lenabraun.com
www.lenabraunberlin.com
www.berlin-ist-eine-frau.com

Books i have written: 

http://www.lenabraun.com/art-text/texte/prosa/

https://www.amazon.de/Nachtschatten-Tyler-Doppelband-Lena-Braun/dp/3944865014

Leave a Reply

