The Heroine’s Journey of Myriam Lo Prete

What is the best thing that I love about my work? Being able to learn always something new. I’m a fashion designer, and staying in fashion world is already something I love, expressing my creative ideas and see them realized. I especially love to illustrate and I would love to do this every day.

Poter imparare sempre qualcosa di nuovo e per me che sono fashion designer, poter stare nel mondo del fashion è già qualcosa che amo; poter esprimere le mie idee creative e vederle realiz-zate. In particolare amo illustrare e mi piacerebbe fare questo ogni giorno.

What is my idea of perfect happiness?  To wake up every morning and be happy, knowing that I am surrounded by people who I love. Be able to realize my dream, with the optimism and the desire to do despite the daily difficulties.

Svegliarsi ogni mattina felice sapendo che sono circondata dalle persone che amo e poter rea-lizzare il mio sogno, con l’ottimismo e la voglia di fare nonostante le difficoltà quotidiane.

What is my greatest fear?  To have no time. Time to do everything I want to do: I have a constant fear of time that goes so fast.

Non avere tempo. Tempo per fare tutto ciò che voglio fare; ho la costante paura del tempo che passa.

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself?  Get decisions wrong and not feel up in what I do.

Sbagliare decisioni e non sentirmi all’altezza di ciò che faccio.

Which living persons in my profession do i most admire?  Valentino Garavani, my favorite fashion designer. I admire him because he has decided to fol-low his dream, and despite the difficulties he has been able to become what he’s now, a fashion emperor. I share his ideal of woman, and despite the changing times he has always managed to carry on and defend his passion. He dedicated himself to this work. I’d love to succeed too.

Valentino Garavani, il mio stilista preferito. Lo ammiro perché ha deciso di inseguire il suo sogno e nonostante le difficoltà si è messo letteralmente in viaggio per riuscire a diventare poi quello che è ora, un imperatore della moda. Condivido il suo ideale di donna, e nonostante i tempi che cam-biano è sempre riuscito a portare avanti e a difendere la sua passione, ha dedicato tutto se stesso a questo lavoro. Vorrei tanto riuscirci anche io.

What is my greatest extravagance? I can’t stand the sounds that emit the same frequency for prolonged times (for example the Alarms).

Non sopporto i suoni che emettono la stessa frequenza per tempi prolungati (es. allarmi)

On what occasion would I lie? Usually I lie to avoid making a poor figure of myself on certain occasions.

Generalmente mento per evitare figuracce in certe occasioni.

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work?  Meeting people incompetent full of themselves, which usually don’t let me work peacefully.

Incontrare persone incompetenti piene di sè, che oltretutto non mi lasciano lavorare serenamente.

When and where was I the happiest, in my work? When, at the end of the academic year, I see true models wear the dresses I’ve created for the thesis walking on the stage. It was very satisfying, especially to participate in a real fashion show, not as a spectator but as a fashion designer.

quando, a fine anno accademico, ho fatto sfilare i capi realizzati da me per la tesi, è stata una vera soddisfazione, soprattutto vederli addosso a modelle vere e partecipare ad una sfilata vera, non come spettatrice ma come stilista.

If I could, what would I change about myself?  I would like to be less introverted and shy, sometimes this situation becomes an obstacle in what I do.

Vorrei riuscire ad essere meno introversa e timida, a volte diventa un ostacolo in ciò che faccio.

What is my greatest achievement in work? Become a fashion designer, or a fashion designer’s assistant, see realized what I love, participate actively in the collections.

Riuscire a diventare una fashion designer, o assistente a un fashion designer, per vedere da vicino e realizzare ciò che amo, partecipare attivamente alle collezioni.

Where would I most like to live? The city that I love most in the world is London. I’ve been there, it ‘s magic. I would like have a house in the city’s center, walk through the parks, visit the great museums and see the Thames. I would live there, but not alone.

La città che più amo al mondo è Londra. Ci sono stata, è magica. Mi piacerebbe avere una casa al centro, passeggiare tra i parchi, visitare i grandissimi musei e osservare il Tamigi. Ci vivrei, ma non da sola.

What is my most treasured possession? My precision mania. I have a pretty schematic mind. Even I guess the eye measurements.

La mia mania di precisione. Ho una mente abbastanza schematica. Addirittura indovino le mi-sure ad occhio

What is my most marked characteristic?  Being so patient and do many activities. More than one person say to me: “Hey, stop for a mo-ment, relax!”

Essere tanto paziente e fare tante attività resistendo ai limiti dell’umano. Più di una volta mi hanno detto “Ehi, fermati un attimo, riposati!”

What is my most inspirational location, in my city? Living in the Rome’s province and passing long time in the Capital city, I can say that every corner of this Empire is a piece of history, unique and magic. I get excited every time I pass the Al-tare Della Patria in Piazza Venezia or the majestic Colosseum, there are lots of place you want to be inspired by.

Vivendo in provincia di Roma e passando molto tempo nella capitale, posso dire che ogni an-golo di questo Impero è un pezzo di storia, unico e magico. Mi emoziono ogni volta che passo da-vanti all’altare della patria a Piazza Venezia o al maestoso Colosseo, ci sono tantissimi luoghi da cui essere ispirati.

What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city? Pompi Tiramisù. Insuperable.

 Il tiramisù di Pompi. Insuperabile.

What books influenced my life and how? Biographies of Hollywood actresses. I love reading the story of their lives, unique and always very interesting, because before being divas they’re women, and each of them has a story to tell, like “behind the scenes”. They’re icons also in the fashion world, muses that in my way I try to imitate.

Le biografie delle attrici hollywoodiane. Amo leggere la storia della loro vita, unica e sempre molto interessante, perché prima di essere dive sono donne, e ognuna di loro ha una storia da rac-contare, come se fosse un “dietro le quinte”. Sono icone, anche nella moda, muse ispiratrici che nel mio piccolo cerco di imitare.

Who are my favorite writers? Oscar Wilde. At his time he already knew very well how the society was made, the customs and people’s way of doing, that he describes in an interesting way.

Oscar Wilde. Già a quell’epoca aveva capito molto bene come era fatta la società, i costumi e i modi di fare delle persone, che descrive benissimo e in maniera interessante.

You Only Die Once. What music would I listen on my last day? Without doubts one of Mika’s songs. He’s the singer who I love most, and since this is the last day of my life I would choose “Last party”, for its theme, and one of my favorites.

Senza ombra di dubbio qualcuna di Mika, il cantante che più adoro in assoluto, e dato che si tratta dell’ultimo giorno della mia vita sceglierei “Last party”, molto a tema, e una delle mie preferite.

Who is my hero or heroine in fiction?   I love so much Ms. Peggy Carter, the protagonist of Marvel series that take place in 40s. She’s a beautiful woman, sensual but strong physically and in her mind.

Amo alla follia Ms. Peggy Carter, della serie Marvel ambientata negli anni 40. Una donna bel-lissima, sensuale ma forte sia fisicamente che psicologicamente.

Who are my heroes and heroines in real life?  My parents.

I miei genitori.

Which movie would i recommend to see once in a lifetime?  All 1900’s classic movies of Hollywood, in the golden years. In particular movies with the great divas like Grace Kelly, Marlene Dietrich, Audrey Hepburn etc…

Tutti i classici del ‘900, della Hollywood negli anni d’oro. In particolare quelli con le grandi dive (Grace Kelly, Marlene Dietrich, Audrey Hepburn ecc).

What role plays art in my life and work? Art is very important in my work, everyday. Without art and creativity you can’t expect to do something.

L’arte è il pane quotidiano nel mio lavoro, senza arte e creatività non si può pretendere di fare qualcosa.

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime?  My family and friends.

Whom would I like to work with in 2017?   I would like to work for a fashion brand, in particular my dream is to work for Valentino fashion group.

Mi piacerebbe lavorare per un brand di moda, in particolare il mio sogno è lavorare per Valentino.

Which people in my profession would i love to meet in 2017? Anyone in the fashion industry.

Chiunque faccia parte del settore moda.

What project, in 2017, am I looking forward to work on? I would like to participate in various contests and events, fashion shows. I have already started a small project of a fashion event to show my clothes and my style, so as to spread it as much as possible and let me know. Also I would work in a company with a permanent position.

Vorrei partecipare a diversi concorsi e manifestazioni, sfilate. Ho già cominciato un piccolo pro-getto di una sfilata per far conoscere i mei abiti e il mio stile, in modo tale da diffonderlo il più pos-sibile e farmi conoscere. Inoltre vorrei inserirmi in un’azienda con un posto fisso.

Where can you see me or my work in 2017?  You can see everything I do on my Instagram profile: https://www.instagram.com/diwata_fashion/ or Linkedin: https://www.linkedin.com/in/myriamloprete/

Potete vedere tutto quello che faccio sul mio profilo instagram.

What do the words “Passion Never Retires” mean to me?  It means that you have to keep on, all the way, chasing what you want to realize. I like to see me here, in 50 years, traveling, showing creative ideas around the world. Realize my plan.

significa che bisogna andare avanti sempre, fino in fondo, inseguire quello che si vuole realiz-zare, per questo mi piace vedermi qui, tra 50 anni, in giro per il mondo a raccogliere idee creative e a realizzare i miei progetti.

Which creative heroines should Peter invite to tell their story? There are lots of women who have many stories to tell, and they are everyday small “heroines” , but no one cares about them. If they want to tell their story I suggest to do it by Peter.

Ci sono tantissime donne che hanno molte storie da raccontare, e sono delle piccole “eroine” quotidiane, ma di cui nessuno se ne cura. Se vorranno raccontare la loro storia consiglio di farlo tramite Peter.

How can you contact me? You can contact me on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/myriam.loprete or e-mail: myriamloprete@gmail.com

Mi potete contattare su Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/myriam.loprete o tramite email: myriamloprete@gmail.com

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

