the Heroine’s Journey of Ana Garcia Blanco

What is the best thing that I love about my work?

El poder meterme en la piel de otros personajes, vivir muchas vidas en una, y por supuesto, cuando haces un buen trabajo y el público se emociona y lo agradece, esa sensación no se paga con dinero.

Being able to get into the skin of other characters, live many lives in one, and of course, when you do a good job and the audience is excited and thankful, that feeling is not paid with money.

What is my idea of perfect happiness?

Lograr un equilibrio entre mi trabajo y mi vida privada. Poder dedicarme a lo que me gusta mientras comparto mi vida con todos aquellos que amo. Y sonreír y reír. Reír mucho, pero siempre en buena compañía.

Strike a balance between my work and my private life. Being able to dedicate myself to what I like as I share my life with all those I love. And smile and laugh. Laugh a lot, but always in good company.

What is my greatest fear?

Tengo muchos. En este momento de mi vida quizás el mayor miedo que tengo es a la sensación de vacío, aunque hay que vaciarse para poder llenarse. Pero asusta.

I have many. At this point in my life perhaps the greatest fear I have is the feeling of emptiness, although it has to be emptied in order to be filled. But it scares.

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself?

Pienso y siento demasiado, analizo demasiado todo. Eso a veces me vuelve algo inestable.
I think and feel too much, I analyze everything too much. That sometimes makes me a little unstable.

Which living persons in my profession do i most admire?

Admiro a mucha gente, pero quizás diría que a Concha Velasco. Una actriz española que ha hecho de todo en esta profesión, y que a pesar de su larga y brillante trayectoria, es una persona real y humilde.

I admire a lot of people, but maybe I would say Concha Velasco. A Spanish actress who has done everything in this profession, and despite her long and brilliant career, is a real and humble person.

What is my greatest extravagance?

Tengo una forma muy peculiar y particular de ver el mundo. Pero más allá de eso no sabría decirte una muy grande en concreto. Quizás mi gran imaginación...

I have a very peculiar and particular way of seeing the world. But beyond that I could not tell you a very big one in particular. Perhaps my great imagination …

On what occasion would I lie?

Mentiría para ayudar a una persona a la que quiero mucho, o para evitar el dolor de alguien. Pero siempre es preferible no hacerlo.

I would lie to help a person I love very much, or to avoid someone’s pain. But it is always better not to.

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work?

El trabajo del actor es un trabajo intermitente. No siempre puedes vivir exclusivamente de esto. Tienes que estar dispuesto a vivir con la incertidumbre, tener la mente muy abierta, y confiar en ti por encima de todo. También tenemos que lidiar con muchos rechazos, tienes que tener un carácter muy fuerte, y estar preparado para crear tú mismo espacios donde trabajar si no surgen proyectos. No es fácil.

The actor’s work is intermittent work. You can not always live exclusively from this. You have to be willing to live with uncertainty, have a very open mind, and trust yourself above all else. We also have to deal with many rejections, you have to have a very strong character, and be prepared to create your own spaces to work if there are no projects. Is not easy.

When and where was I the happiest, in my work?

Probablemente la primera vez que me subí a un escenario de forma profesional. Cuando terminé y ví al público aplaudiendo de pie por primera vez en mi vida al terminar la función, fué una sensación maravillosa. La recuerdo con mucho cariño.

Probably the first time I stepped onto a stage professionally. When I finished and saw the crowd applauding for the first time in my life at the end of the show, it was a wonderful feeling. I remember her fondly.

If I could, what would I change about myself?

Cambiaría la necesidad que tengo de sentir que tengo el control sobre las situaciones complejas de mi vida. Básicamente porque es una sensación de control ficticia e irreal. Me gustaría que fuera más fácil para mí aceptar y soltar.

It would change my need to feel that I have control over the complex situations of my life. Basically because it is a feeling of fictional and unreal control. I wish it were easier for me to accept and release.

What is my greatest achievement in work?

Llevo poco tiempo de profesional, así que considero que mi mayor logro por ahora es haber dado el paso para poder vivir de lo que más me gusta y me apasiona y el no rendirme a pesar de las dificultades que a veces surgen o la incertidumbre.

I have only a short time to work as a professional, so I consider that my greatest achievement for now is to have taken the step to be able to live what I love and passionate about and not to give up despite the difficulties that sometimes arise or the uncertainty.

Where would I most like to live?

La verdad es que España es un país en el que se vive bastante bien a pesar de todo. Me gusta vivir aquí. Pero quizás París…me parece una ciudad muy artística y estimulante.

The truth is that Spain is a country where you live quite well despite everything. I like living here. But perhaps Paris … seems to me a very artistic and stimulating city.

What is my most treasured possession?
Mis amigos y familia.
My family and friends.

What is my most marked characteristic?

Soy muy cabezota. Generalmente cuando quiero algo, voy a por ello y no paro hasta que lo consigo. Y aunque haya dificultades, siempre insisto hasta que finalmente lo logro, o desisto, pero para desistir, tiene que ser ridículamente obvio que ya no se puede hacer más.

I’m very stubborn. Usually when I want something, I go for it and do not stop until I get it. And even if there are difficulties, I always insist until I finally achieve it, or give up, but to give up, it has to be ridiculously obvious that it can not be done any more.

What is my most inspirational location, in my city?

Me gusta mucho pasear cerca de la ribera del Río Ebro, y también en el Parque Jose Antonio Labordeta.

I like walking very close to the banks of the River Ebro, and also in the Parque Jose Antonio Labordeta.

What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city?

Qué difícil elegir uno…al que más suelo ir es a un pequeño bar llamado “Barrio Sur”, desde hace muchos años. Me gusta la comida, el precio, el ambiente…

How difficult to choose one … the one that I usually go to is a small bar called “Barrio Sur”, for many years. I like the food, the price, the atmosphere ..

What books influenced my life and how?

Es muy difícil elegir…”Veronika decide morir” de Paulo Coelho, “Cartas a un joven poeta” de Rainer Maria Rilke y “El último verano de Klingsor” de Hermann Hesse son probablemente los que más. Los tres me han inspirado a ver más allá de lo que percibimos a simple vista, a valorar mi bienestar y felicidad y a luchar por lo que realmente anhelo. Sobre todo a tratar de comprender y vencer “al reino de las ilusiones” como dice Hesse.

It is very difficult to choose … “Veronika decides to die” by Paulo Coelho, “Letters to a young poet” by Rainer Maria Rilke and “The last summer of Klingsor” by Hermann Hesse are probably the most. All three have inspired me to see beyond what we perceive with the naked eye, to value my well-being and happiness and to fight for what I really yearn for. Especially to try to understand and overcome “the kingdom of illusions” as Hesse says.

Who are my favorite writers?
Vuelvo a repetir y nombro a Hesse y por supuesto, Shakespeare.
I repeat it again and I name Hesse and of course, Shakespeare.

You Only Die Once. What music would I listen on my last day?

Buff, imposible decidir…trataría de escuchar toda la música que me ha acompañado durante los momentos importantes de mi vida. Sería una mezcla muy extraña…jaja…sonaría desde Michael Jackson a Chopin…

Buff, impossible to decide … I would try to listen to all the music that has accompanied me during the important moments of my life. It would be a very strange mix … haha … would sound from Michael Jackson to Chopin …

Who is my hero or heroine in fiction?

Es curioso, pero no sabría decirte uno o una en concreto…

It’s funny, but I could not tell you one in particular …

Who are my heroes and heroines in real life?

Admiro mucho a Gandhi y a Martin Luther King. Lamentablemente no están entre nosotros. En cuanto a gente más cercana, admiro a muchas de mis mejores amigas, por su fuerza, valentía y sabiduría.

I admire Gandhi and Martin Luther King a lot. Unfortunately they are not among us. As for close people, I admire many of my best friends, for their strength, courage and wisdom.

Which movie would i recommend to see once in a lifetime?
El Gran Dictador.
The great Dictator.

What role plays art in my life and work?

Todos estamos creando arte de alguna manera continuamente. Todos somos creadores de nuestra existencia de alguna forma. Está en nuestras manos el crear algo bello y que sea la versión más auténtica y real de nosotros mismos. El arte es terapéutico y debe hacernos libres y expandirnos. Trato de que mi vida sea lo más artística posible en ese aspecto. Al igual que mi trabajo.

We are all creating art in some way continuously. We are all creators of our existence in some way. It is in our hands to create something beautiful and be the most authentic and real version of ourselves. Art is therapeutic and must make us free and expand. I try to make my life as artistic as possible in that respect. Just like my job.

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime?

No podría decirte sólo una persona. Quizás la primera persona que creyó en mí como actriz antes de que yo misma lo hiciera sea la más importante o la que más me ha ayudado. Pero en general, mi familia y amigos más cercanos. Tengo la suerte de estar rodeada de gente maravillosa, que me aguanta, apoya y quiere cuando yo no soy capaz de hacerlo.

I could not tell you just one person. Maybe the first person who believed in me as an actress before I did it was the most important or the one who helped me the most. But in general, my family and friends are closer. I am lucky to be surrounded by wonderful people, who support me, support me and want when I am not able to do it.

Whom would I like to work with in 2017?

Buff, con tanta gente que sería imposible mencionarla por aquí en tan poco espacio…jaja

Buff, with so many people that it would be impossible to mention it here in such a small space … haha

Which people in my profession would i love to meet in 2017?

Cualquier artista de cualquier disciplina que pueda ayudarme a ver más allá de mi propia visión de la vida y de la interpretación. Gente apasionada por lo que hace y con fuerza y valentía para poder luchar por sus proyectos.

Any artist of any discipline who can help me see beyond my own vision of life and interpretation. People passionate about what they do and with strength and courage to be able to fight for their projects

What project, in 2017, am I looking forward to work on?

Estoy trabajando con varias escenas de microteatro y con vistas a realizar otra obra de teatro de larga duración. Por supuesto estoy abierta a cualquier proyecto que suponga un reto y me haga crecer a nivel personal y profesional.

I’m working with several scenes of micro theater and with a view to another long-duration play. Of course I am open to any project that is challenging and makes me grow personally and professionally.

Where can you see me or my work in 2017?

En salas y teatros de mi ciudad y otras de España (Madrid por ejemplo), y espero que en muchos más sitios…jaja

In rooms and theaters of my city and others in Spain (Madrid for example), and I hope in many more places … Haha

What do the words “Passion Never Retires” mean to me?

Cuando realmente amas algo, lo haces con pasión, y a pesar de los miedos que puedan surgir o las dificultades, el amor apasionado hace que se evaporen, lo convierten en real, y nada real puede ser amenazado.

When you really love something, you do it with passion, and in spite of fears that may arise or difficulties, passionate love causes them to evaporate, make it real, and nothing real can be threatened.

Which creative heroines should Peter invite to tell their story?

En mi ciudad hay muchas mujeres tanto artistas como de otras profesiones que se dedican a vivir su vida con pasión y a crear un mundo mejor y más bello. A mí personalmente me interesan especialmente las mujeres de edad avanzada que nunca han renunciado a sus sueños y que han abierto puertas a todas las que vamos detrás.

In my city there are many women, both artists and other professions who are dedicated to live their lives with passion and to create a better and more beautiful world. I personally am especially interested in older women who have never given up on their dreams and who have opened doors to all of us who are behind us.

How can you contact me?
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/AnaGarciaBlancoAnneli/?fref=ts
Twitter: https://twitter.com/Anneli_Blanco
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/anneli_blanco/?hl=es
Web: http://anagarciablanco.es/

Leave a Reply

