The Heroine’s Journey of Mana Afshar

What is the best thing that I love about my work?
I get to express myself creatively
What is my idea of perfect happiness?
Such a thought is inconceivable to me. With happiness comes strife and sadness, that’s what brings out the inner artist in me, my struggles. Nothing makes me happier than being an artist, So I guess you can say my perfect happiness must includes sadness.
What is my greatest fear?
Commitment & routine
What is the trait that I most deplore in myself?  
I’m an OCD perfectionist, and constantly beat myself up over everything. I’m really hard on myself.
Which living persons in my profession do i most admire? 
I have many mentors I admire. The list is long but just to name a few…My mentor who has guided me in my journey, Donna Mee.
My inspiration Alex Box, her art is so cutting edge, she’s an amazingly talented artist. And of course The Godfather’s of Makeup Artistry, Way Bandy & Kevyn Aucoin.
What is my greatest extravagance?  
I’m really not an “extravagant” type of person, most of my splurging pertains to makeup tools & products so I can spoil my clients and truly give the best service possible. I am however a glutton for sushi. I must feed my sushi addiction. 😉
On what occasion would I lie?  Lol i really don’t lie, I’m pretty blunt and honest. I lose my friends that way….
What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work?
Dishonest people who take advantage of new artists.
When and where was I the happiest, in my work?
Anytime my brush is in my hand, I am happy.
If I could, what would I change about myself?
I don’t let people in, and I have trust issues due to my past experiences, I’m very weary of who I let into my life. But maybe that’s not such a bad flaw to have?
What is my greatest achievement in work?
Being published 27 times and obtaining 6 IMDb credits in 2 years 😉
Where would I most like to live? 
London. It’s my home town, and one day it is my aim to move back.
What is my most treasured possession? 
My pitbull, Kapone & all our memories together. #rip
What is my most marked characteristic?
I literally have zero patience. Lol
What is my most inspirational location, in my city?  
I get inspired everywhere, not just one place. Most of the time I get inspired by the graffiti and art all over the city of Los Angeles. The homeless person on the corner inspires me, or a sad clown on a wall, or a billboard. My mind sees thing and twists every scene into a story that could be told through art.
What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city?
My current obsession is the sushi restaurant in Orange, Ca. Called Mika sushi, best yellowtail.
What books influenced my life and how? The secret, it opened my eyes and helped me see through a different perspective. Kevyn Aucoin-Making Faces, his story is so inspirational, and teaches you so many Makeup Techniques. It’s like my bible. & Anthony Kiedis’ auto biography, “Scar Tissue”, it really helped me while I was getting sober.
Who are my favorite writers?
I’m really not into fiction, I like non fiction and autobiographies. I enjoy the writings of Napoleon Hill and other inspiration authors.
You Only Die Once. What music would I listen on my last day? AFI. They will also be playing at my funeral. Davey Havok is a god.
Who is my hero or heroine in fiction? 
Batman
Who are my heroes and heroines in real life? 
Anyone who battles their demons and strives to be better everyday, people who have overcome drug/alcohol addictions, and people who help others. If you fit into those categories, you are a hero to me.
Which movie would i recommend to see once in a lifetime? 
Clockwork Orange.
What role plays art in my life and work? 
Art is life. Without artistic expression, my life wouldn’t be worth living.
Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime?  
My mom. She never gave up on me, even while I had given up on myself. She’s tough, but always had my back no matter what. I could never thank her enough or apologize enough for the things I put her through.
Whom would I like to work with in 2017?  I would love to work with Marilyn Manson and Davey Havok, they are both HUGE inspirations in my life and have been since the mid 90’s.
Which people in my profession would i love to meet in 2017?
I would love to work with Alex Box one day….
What project, in 2017, am I looking forward to work on?  
You’ll see….
Where can you see me or my work in 2017? My website is www.makeupbymana.com
Follow me on Facebook. Www.facebook.com/dollparts
AND my IG, www.instagram.com/midnitemascara. I keep them all pretty up to date, so you can check out my work 🙂
What do the words “Passion Never Retires” mean to me?
The yearning ones soul needs to exude its passion until our last breath. We must dare to dream, and never wake up from our dream. Everyone has a passion, and it needs to be released.
Which creative heroines should Peter invite to tell their story? 
I think most people in my industry have a story to tell.
How can you contact me? Makeupartistmana@gmail.com

 

Leave a Reply

