The Heroine’s Journey of Nancy Van Reeth

What is the best thing that I love about my work ?

What I like about my work is that my work is my passion, it is my bubble of freedom, escape, happiness.

Ce que j’aime dans mon travail, c’est que mon travail, c’est ma passion, c’est ma bulle de liberté, d’évasion, de bonheur .

What is my idea of perfect happiness ?

I do not have an idea of the “perfect” happiness, I love the little pleasures of everyday life, a kiss of my children, a smile exchanged, a conversation, start a new drawing, a beautiful music, the smell of a new gum or paper…

Je n’ai pas une idée « du » bonheur parfait, j’aime les petits bonheurs du quotidien, un bisou de mes enfants, un sourire échangé, une conversation, débuter un nouveau dessin, une jolie musique, l’odeur d’une nouvelle gomme ou du papier…

What is my greatest fear ?

My biggest fear affects my children, I am afraid they are not happy.

Ma plus grande peur touche mes enfants, j’ai peur qu’ils ne soient pas heureux .

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself ?

I deplore my eternal dissatisfaction with my work, I think that I am too perfectionist.

Je déplore mon éternelle insatisfaction face à mon travail, je crois que je suis trop perfectionniste .

Which living persons in my profession do I most admire ?

I admire people who do things with sincerity and passion. I admire Danielle Jacqui who painted and decorated her house of mosaics, who created the “Biennale d’art singulier” in Aubagne, 25 years ago. This lady continues to create, she is combative and courageous, she has great plans.

J’admire les personnes qui font les choses avec sincérité et passion. J’admire Danielle Jacqui qui a peint et décoré sa maison de mosaïques, qui a créé la « Biennale d’art singulier » à Aubagne, il y a 25 ans. Cette dame continue de créer, elle est combative et courageuse, elle a de grands projets .

What is my greatest extravagance ?

I pick up round, smooth pebbles that I keep in my pockets, I like to touch them, it’s a strange contact.

Je ramasse des petits cailloux ronds et lisses que je garde dans mes poches, j’aime les toucher, c’est un contact étrange.

On what occasion would I lie ?

I do not know how to lie!

Je suis nulle en mensonge!

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work ?

Finishing a drawing, when the time comes for the last little details, I put a little time to finish… because once finished, the drawing does not belong to me anymore! But at the same time, it is also a liberation.

Terminer un dessin, quand vient le moment des derniers petits détails, je mets un temps fou pour achever… car une fois terminé, le dessin ne m’appartient plus ! Mais en même temps, c’est aussi une libération .

When and where was I happinest in my work ?

In 2012… I was contacted for the first time to exhibit my work in festivals of outsider art … First by Thierry and Jo Bariolle who organize the Festival d’Art Singulier, Outsider and insolite in Authon du Perche and then, by Danielle Jacqui for its Biennial d’Art Singulier of Aubagne. I felt very honored to join this group of outsider artists!

En 2012… j’ai été contactée pour la première fois pour exposer mon travail dans des festivals d’art singulier, outsider… D’abord par Thierry et Jo Bariolle qui organisent le Festival d’Art Singulier, Outsider et Insolite à Authon du Perche et ensuite, par Danielle Jacqui pour sa Biennale d’Art Singulier d’Aubagne. Je me suis sentie très honorée d’intégrer ce groupe d’artistes outsider !

If I could, what would I change about myself ?

Nothing… not because I’m perfect, but if I change something, I would not do what I do… Anyway, I would erase some wrinkles.

Rien… non pas parce que je me trouve parfaite mais, si je change quelque chose, je ne ferais pas ce que je fais… Enfin si, je gommerais quelques rides .

What is my greatest achievement in work ?

My biggest achievement is when I am told that my work releases poetry, beauty, femininity, emotion… it is to see that people are affected by my work! I am happy to contribute to some beauty in the world.

Ma plus grande réussite, c’est lorsqu’on me dit que mon travail dégage de la poésie, de la beauté, de la féminité, de l’émotion… c’est voir que des personnes sont touchées par mon travail ! Je suis heureuse de contribuer à un peu de beauté dans le monde .

Where would I most like to live ?

My home, my nest… this is where I like to live… but I would love to go to New York, I love Amsterdam and Pragues, the countries of the north…

Chez moi, mon chez-moi, ma grotte, mon nid… c’est là que j’aime vivre… mais j’aimerais beaucoup aller à New York, j’aime Amsterdam et Pragues, les pays du nord…

What is my most treasure possession ?

See the “trick” beautiful in all things, my ability to amaze me, I find that is a great chance.

Voir le « truc » beau dans toutes choses, ma capacité à m’émerveiller, je trouve que c’est une grande chance .

What is my most marked characteristic ?

I believe that I have patience at all times!

Je crois que je possède une patience à toute épreuve !

What is my most inspirational location in my city ?

Everywhere and nowhere, at home, in the car, in the queue at the cash desk, in nature…

Partout et nulle part, chez moi, en voiture, dans la file à la caisse d’un magasin, dans la nature…

What is my favourite place to eat and drink in my city ?

A small organic restaurant close to home, you eat really well and the setting, the decor are very nice.

Un petit resto bio près de chez moi, on y mange vraiment bien et le cadre, la déco sont très chouettes .

What books influenced my life and how ?

I read a lot of different styles but, to my 18/19, I discovered Tolkien and Fantasy… this style of writing, imagination, magic, novelty, all that amazed me, it was a discovery and a style that I love since.

Je lis beaucoup de styles différents mais, vers mes 18/19 ans, j’ai découvert Tolkien et la Fantasy… ce style d’écriture, l’imaginaire, la magie, la nouveauté, tout ça m’a émerveillé, c’était une découverte et un style que j’adore depuis .

Who are my favorite writers ?

Kundera, Hesse, Maupassant, Bukowsky, Murakami, Tolkien, Pratchett, Ursula K. Le Guin, Ransom Riggs, Reif Larsen…

You only die once. What music would I listen on my last day ?

« Pie Jesu, Requiem de Fauré » par Barbara Hendricks.

Cocorosie et Sigur Ros.

Who is my heroes and heroines in real life ?

All little magical beings, fairies, sirens, spirits and Nature!

Tous les petits êtres magiques, les fées, les sirènes, les esprits et la Nature !

Which movie would I recommend to see once in a lifetime ?

All Jim Jarmusch’s films for poetry, slowness, beauty, melancholy and music!

Tous les films de Jim Jarmusch pour la poésie, la lenteur, la beauté, la mélancolie et la musique !

What role plays art in my life and work ?

Art is part of my life, art is everywhere, it’s a whole.

L’art fait partie de ma vie, l’art est partout, c’est un tout.

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime ?

My biggest fan is a very discreet person, I will simply say that he is a knight.

Mon plus grand fan est une personne très discrète, je dirai simplement que c’est un chevalier .

Whom would you like to work with in 2017 ?

I dream of a project around woman, femininity and nature with my friends female artists.

Je rêve d’un projet autour de la femme, la féminité et la nature avec mes amies artistes .

Which people in my profession would I love to meet in 2017 ?

There are too many people I would like to meet to quote only one !!

Il y a trop de personnes que j’aimerais rencontrer pour n’en citer qu’une seule !!

What projet, in 2017, am I looking forward to work ?

I have several projects in progress… I work on a series of goddess in indian ink and in large format, I like the series.

I also work in the illustration of a poem by Thierry Lambert for an artist’s book and I have several exhibitions to prepare too!

J’ai plusieurs projets en cours… je travaille sur une série de déesses à l’encre de Chine à la plume, des grands formats, j’aime les séries.

Je travaille également à l’illustration d’un poème de Thierry Lambert pour un livre d’artiste et j’ai plusieurs expositions à préparer aussi !

Where can you see me or my work in 2017 ?

In early June, I exhibited at the 11th “Festival d’Art Singulier, Outsider et Insolite” in Authon du Perche, France.

End of June – beginning of July, I will exhibit at the 3rd “Biennale des Arts Partagés” in St Trojan les Bains, France.

In October, at the “Pays de Lumbres au Singulier”, in France.

Début juin, j’expose au 11 ème « Festival d’Art Singulier, Outsider et Insolite » à Authon du Perche, en France.

Fin juin – début juillet, j’exposerai à la 3 ème « Biennale de l’Art Partagé » à St Trojan les Bains, en France.

En octobre, au « Pays de Lumbres au Singulier », en France.

What do the words « Passion Never Retires » mean to me ?

This passion is something natural like breathing…

Cette passion, c’est quelque chose de naturel comme respirer…

Which creative heroines should Peter invite to tell their story ?

Danielle Jacqui et Caroline Dahyot

How can you contact me ?

Mon blog : nancy-vanreeth.net

Facebook : Les Shamanes

Instagram : vanreethnancy

Leave a Reply

