The Heroine’s Journey of Donna Littlewood

What is the best thing that I love about my work?
I love how making and designing beaded micro macrame jewely engages my senses in how it looks and in how it feels to my hands. I love how it engages my mind in the geometry of it and in the solving of a puzzle when trying to design the contstruction to be nearly seamless.

What is my idea of perfect happiness?
Living in Love…spending time with friends, family, my cats, nature and making things. Bliss for me is a cup of coffee (or iced tea) on my side table, a Star Trek video playing in the back ground, and a project on my work board. Making enough money doing what I love so I can spend more time doing it…

What is my greatest fear?
Losing the love and respect of those I love. Irrational perhaps, but I often see things differently than those around me and this can cause conflict. I have a strong streak of needing to please others combined with a fierce determination to be true to myself. Thankfully I am blessed with many wonderful and loving people who seem to accept me as I am. I find this amazing.

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself?
I most deplore how my fears can sometimes make me a difficult person to live with.

Which living persons in my profession do i most admire?
Joan Reeder Babcock and Marion Hunziker-Larsen – their work is amazing! I am always inspired and humbled by their work.

What is my greatest extravagance?
My cats…I spoil them rotten!

On what occasion would I lie?
I am not very good at speaking a lie. To avoid hurting someone, I more likely to not say anything or try to find something true to say.

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work?
Pricing. I hate pricing. I want to charge a fair price, but I am too emotionally involved with my work to be objective as to what that fair price is. Too little? Too much? I can never be sure.

When and where was I the happiest, in my work?
Whenever and wherever I am free to just make things without too many outside interruptions! When I am in a “bead fever”, all I want to do is create. At these times, even sleeping and eating are felt as unwanted interruptions. Of course, that is when my cats want my attention most!

If I could, what would I change about myself?
I would like to change how my fears can sometimes make me difficult to be around. I am working on it and practicing mindfulness helps a lot.

What is my greatest achievement in work?
Not sure how to answer this one. I don’t think of any single piece of work as being my greatest achievement. I think more in terms of process, like when I figure out a solution for a problem in a piece I am making. For example, finding a way to tie off all those cords so the piece appears seamless.

Where would I most like to live?
Oh, my goodness…I have to choose one? There are many places I am attracted to. Although I grew up in the desert and I do love the desert, I think I’d really like to live in a wooded area. And rain, I like rain.

What is my most treasured possession?
My beads (and cord)! I would be lost without the means to make more jewelry. I would say my loved ones (friends, family, cats) are my most treasured possessions, but I do not consider them possessions…they are in my life because they want to be. They are most definitely treasured, but not possessions.

What is my most marked characteristic?
Passion, I think. I am passionate about everything from creativity to politics.

What is my most inspirational location, in my city?
I don’t really have just one inspirational location. I find inspiration in all of nature.

What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city?
I have recently moved, so I don’t yet have a favorite spot picked out here, although I do like the local internet cafe. In my previous town, my husband and I used to enjoy going to a local Chinese buffet. The food was good and the employees were friendly. We would each take a book to read and have a leisurely meal in a relaxing environment.

What books influenced my life and how?
Oh, wow. Where do I start? Erich Fromm’s “To Have or to Be?”, Red Hawk’s “Self-Observation…” (and his books of poetry), Robert Jordan’s “Wheel of Time”. These books make me think, offer insight, and inspire me to strive to be my best.

Who are my favorite writers?
Robert Jordan, Sheri S. Tepper, Octavia Butler, Neal Stephenson, and a new favorite, Robin Hobb.

You Only Die Once. What music would I listen on my last day?
I guess it would depend on my mood that day. I love so many different kinds of music. I guess, if I had to pick one right now, it would be some Celtic Folk music.

Who is my hero or heroine in fiction?
Matrim Cauthon in the Wheel of Time series. I love how he is a prankster, a gambler, and a flirt…but, he would run into a burning building to save someone.

Who are my heroes and heroines in real life?
My dear friend Mystica. She is the sweetest person I know, but can be very fierce when protecting someone she loves or defending a principle. She is always there for a friend even when it is painful for her.

Which movie would i recommend to see once in a lifetime?
Again, I must pick just one? Well, I can’t. I would have to pick a trilogy – Lord of the Rings. It has beauty and adventure. And, it demonstrates that perseverance is key to success and that even the most unlikely people can make a big difference in the world.

What role plays art in my life and work?
It’s all about beauty and love.

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime?
My husband James. He was my biggest fan – he would even wear some of the bracelets I made just so he could show them off. Sadly, he passed away last year.

Whom would I like to work with in 2017?
I am collaborating with my sister who occasionally makes lampwork beads that I use in my jewelry and some wire-wrapped “Tree of Life” pendants that I make the beaded rope necklaces for. Otherwise, I pretty much work alone.

Which people in my profession would i love to meet in 2017?
I would enjoy meeting any and all of the members of our facebook Micro Macrame Group. There are a lot of talented and passionate people who participate there.

What project, in 2017, am I looking forward to work on?
I am hoping to finally finish my first book and start on another.

Where can you see me or my work in 2017?
www.knotgypsydesigns.com

What do the words “Passion Never Retires” mean to me?
That no matter how old I get, I will still want to make things.

Which creative heroines should Peter invite to tell their story?
Joan Reeder Babcock, Annika de Groot, Marion Hunziker-Larsen to name a few.

How can you contact me?
knotgypsydesigns@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

