The Heroine’s Journey of Julia Tet

Julia Tet – independent curator and artist 

What is the best thing that I love about my work?

It’s inspiration and passion which helps me to get it. All the time I am trying to catch the things that move me, inspiring to do something new and to find new answers to common questions, new ideas, new keys. I am working with art and it’s always a quest about new attitudes and vibes.

What is my idea of perfect happiness?

Suppose, it’s quite a common idea: «imagine all the people, living life in peace». Nowadays it’s very actual point. But for me the happiness is freedom, to do what you love, to be with those you love and where you want, express yourself the way you need. Being understood and on your place is definitely the sign of happiness. Feeling it, living by it – the final purpose of life for me.

What is my greatest fear? 

Lose my way and people I love.

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself?  

Stubbornness, sometimes it interferes. And maybe also skepticism, sometimes it’s hard to believe in miracles, that good thing can happen without any latent malice.

Which living persons in my profession do i most admire?

Marina Abramovich now inspires me a lot. She really made a revolution and demonstrates the position of strong sincere woman all the time. Also Patti Smith, as a poet and writer, first of all, her free-spirit lyrics is powerful. And Hans-Ulrich Obrist as a curator. Would like to work with him one day.

What is my greatest extravagance?

The way I express myself via my art and fashion. Suppose, the big extravagance is still sleeping inside me but wakes up one day and it will be like the carnival or bigger bang show. Also waiting when it happens.

On what occasion would I lie?

When it is better to make life better. Life is a beautiful lie in many cases.

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work? 

Sometimes it’s too much stress about communication with people in the process of organization. People can hurt and you should accept it without beating back, because of many reasons. So I am gathering the collection of scars and one day I will make an exhibition about it.

When and where was I the happiest, in my work?

When I realized that the project has been done on a very good level. And also when people shared my attitude towards the result.

If I could, what would I change about myself?

I would like to be more self-confident and free, in mind. For an artist it’s important to be free, to manage to see more and express yourself easily.

What is my greatest achievement in work? 

Well, my “baby project” is Russian Contemporary Art Week (RCAW) and the greatest achievement about it is still ahead, I hope.

Where would I most like to live?

Everywhere. My dream is to have a job that will give me the opportunity to be anywhere I want any particular time. But for now, the most comfortable city for me is Berlin, with his freedom and diversity in Arts. It has really opened myself to me again, and all the time reincarnating me when I am here. Hope, one day it will become my home. It is my soul home, by the way.

What is my most treasured possession?

It’s my experience, my unique story that helps me to create myself.

What is my most marked characteristic?

Independence, I would like to say. Freedom is one of the most important things for me.

What is my most inspirational location, in my city?

In Berlin I adore Auguststrasse, with its unique atmosphere, it has a rich history associated with art. Each building, every wall has some special secrets and still are often used for installations or performances. The street is just like breathing with art and creativity.

What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city?

In Auguststrasse there is a place called Collectors Room. It’s a museum and also a nice cafe to work, with friendly people. I like to spend my time in this place. And there is some spontaneous tradition for me: before I leave Berlin I usually have a dinner in this place. The picture for this project is also made in Collectors Room, just before my departure to Moscow.

What books influenced my life and how?

I like to read biographies – the stories of heroes, who has left something significant after them. Each story is a good tutorial how to live life worthily. The last book was about Alexander McQueen, is genius and mystery life. Now I am reading Marina Abramovic’s memoir. These books help to understand their personality and art more clearly, the conditions that helped a hero to be born.

Who are my favorite writers?

It depends on the mood and the need for some specific reflections. Sometimes classics are perfect because at a various time you perceive it in a different way, where like in Bible, you can find all questions to all the answers. I enjoy Somerset Maugham, his smart detective stories. Francis Scott Fitzgerald and Truman Capote are good for 20th-century bohemian atmosphere. And about grungy poetical vibes, I adore beatniks and Patti Smith. She is a real living genius of our generation – brave, strong, but at the same time, very gentle, elegant and ethereal.

You Only Die Once. What music would I listen on my last day?

«Dark side of the moon» by Pink Floyd. Can’t find a better album for me.

Who is my hero or heroine in fiction?

I feel lots of heroes inside of me. One period I am Alice from Wonderland, the other – Holly Golightly, and Jeanne D’arc, after all. I think each of us should create a new hero worth to get into the plot of a book.

Who are my heroes and heroines in real life?

To tell the truth, our world has a lack of real heroes, or we know not too much about them. Wish to be inspired more by other people. All the time I am in search of new muses. And now hero stories is mostly about the past. Maybe we just should wait for them to come or better to become our own heroes by ourselves.

Which movie would i recommend to see once in a lifetime?

Cinema is a great art medium of current times. You just should choose the directors, as writers, who is more about your style. For me, it again depends on the mood and period of life. Recently I prefer the works by Wim Wenders, because his message is very bright, about light in people’s life, his works just make you feel and think deeper. I am also a fan of Jim Jarmusch for poetical rock-n-roll mood.

What role plays art in my life and work?

My life and work are absolutely about Art. I feel as an art agent, the guide, and connector, maybe also the muse, and as an artist, of course. And these roles are interrelated.

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime?

Suppose, my family, friends, all heroes, involved in the projects. Because it’s all about the investment of passion, efforts and time. And it’s a merit for lots of people around.

Whom would I like to work with in 2017? 

This year is about big plans. There is a list of artists in our project: Russian Contemporary Art Week Vol.2,  with whom will be really great to work, to be inspired by their ideas. But to keep the intrigue, I would like to save the secret of names.

Which people in my profession would i love to meet in 2017?

Besides of my partners and the artists who we would like to exhibit this year, I would like to get master classes from the titans of contemporary art: Marina Abramovic, Hans-Ulrich Obrist, Jeff Koons, Damien Hirst and many others. Maybe, one day it will be possible. And the sooner, the better. Maybe, this year…

What project, in 2017, am I looking forward to work on?

With my team and also with Curator1990 we are planning to make the festival: Russian Contemporary Art Week Vol.2 in Berlin. Hope this plan come true.

Where can you see me or my work in 2017?

Hope, in Berlin. The dates and the place are to be announced. There is also my site with brief description about my works: www.arttet.com

What do the words “Passion Never Retires” mean to me? 

Passion is energy, that moves your life. Without passion life is nonsensical.

Which creative heroines should Peter invite to tell their story?

Vika Latysheva – my colleague and really passionate curator of Curator1990

Dariya Susak – co-curator in RCAW and media-artist in Berlin

Vera Kochubey as a superhero in contemporary art

Aliona Ojog, for her interesting personal artistic story

Ekaterina Anuchina – my friend, wonderful musician, and traveler

How can you contact me?

It’s better via site: www.arttet.com

Leave a Reply

