The Heroine’s Journey of Amanda Vanoletti

What is the best thing that I love about my work?
The beginning process: looking at fashion shows or makeup editorials and getting excited thinking how can I reproduce the same shiny, glittery and magical effect. My goal is to re-create beauty by being inspired by others who follow the same pursuit.

What is my idea of perfect happiness?
Doing what you love and that allows you to show what you are best at.

What is my greatest fear?
To end up lonely and to not accomplish nothing.

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself?
My insecurity and anxiety for the small things of everyday life or for the future.

Which living persons in my profession do i most admire?
As I consider myself more a kind of fashion illustrator than just a fine art artist, I’d say some of the big fashion stylists because their artistic visions are the source of my inspiration for my paintings.

What is my greatest extravagance? I have a lot of glitter and sparkling stuff for my paintings, and I never stop falling in love with new ones while shopping.

On what occasion would I lie?
When I can hurt others feelings for something that is not that important

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work?
The “no” days in which nothing goes like I want while painting and also when I’m not understood by others, when I need to explain my art too much and still not finding that comprehension.

When and where was I the happiest, in my work?
When I got contacted by a makeup artist (Robin Werner) to take part in a workshop and exhibit my paintings. I felt happy because he just looked at my paintings and understood completely that it wasn´t just a portrait but that it was a mix of art, fashion and makeup.

If I could, what would I change about myself?
I would like to change what I most dislike as written before, I would like to be more secure and to stop over think everything.

What is my greatest achievement in work?
That I did all by myself. We never approached oil colors during my artistic studies, some teacher even tried to make me change my way to draw because my vision was too much towards the fashion world. Instead, I decided to continue doing as I wanted and to develop my idea even more. I like the result!

Where would I most like to live?
I’m already experiencing living abroad, it is both interesting and challenging. Even your most dreamed destination will have its pros and cons, therefore, I think that the best place is where your family and beloved ones are.

What is my most treasured possession?
My photographs, and the ones that my dad took to me and my sister when we were little.

What is my most marked characteristic?
My eyes and my smile, both big.

What is my most inspirational location, in my city?
I always love to see the Duomo in Milan.

What is my favorite place to eat and drink, in my city?
I don’t really have one, I don’t go out so often, I’d say Rossopomodoro, I really like pizza there.

What books influenced my life and how? Who are my favorite writers?
I have read a lot of different genres of books written by different authors, I don’t have a favorite.

You Only Die Once. What music would I listen on my last day?
Metallica! During my early teenage years, I had a metal/dark look, now that kind of look is gone but I still like that type of music.

Who is my hero or heroine in fiction?
This is a difficult question. I don’t have someone who I totally see as a role model because I know that it is fiction. I’d say Clarice Starling from the film “The Silence of the Lamb” first of all because it is my favorite film and also because she has to put aside her fears to achieve what she wants, and this is what we also try to do in real life.

Who are my heroes and heroines in real life?
My parents who worked their way up to what they are and what we have now.

Which movie would i recommend to see once in a lifetime?
The Rocky Horror Picture Show for the artistic, glamourous and glittery part.

What role plays art in my life and work?
I’d say very important because I can’t think about my life without making art.

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime?
My family. They are also my first critics.

Whom would I like to work with in 2017?
Dolce & Gabbana or some makeup artist like Pat McGrath. I like their way to create a dream and to make me dream.

Which people in my profession would i love to meet in 2017?
I’d say as before Dolce & Gabbana, I’d really love to be on the “behind the scenes” to see the all creative process and how they find inspiration.

What project, in 2017, am I looking forward to work on?
Starting to study make-up in order to combine it more with my works.

Where can you see me or my work in 2017?
Right now only on the internet.

What do the words “Passion Never Retires” mean to me?
That I will be able to create art as long as I want, that this sensibility will never go away.

Which creative heroines should Peter invite to tell their story?
Denice Michel, on instagram or facebook as @monsterchildsfx.

How can you contact me?
I have both Instagram and Facebook, @amandachiarav.

Leave a Reply

