The Heroine’s Journey of Eda Meggyeshazi

What is the best thing that I love about my work?

Mostly, that making music can be anything. It can mean a different thing to everyone. I love, when a song comes together or when it have the right effect on the audience. But I think what I most like that it is full of possibilities, and it is endlessly intuitive you just know, when it is right.

What is my idea of perfect happiness?

I have a very strong memory or notion of myself when I was a child, and I remember being incredibly contented, it was before school or maybe even before kindergarten, that is the closet to happiness, at least this is how I would describe it. However, lately my happiest moments come with music, when I am excited about a new song or a gig.

What is my greatest fear?

Losing my loved ones.

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself?

Laziness, I can procrastinate endlessly, however sometimes it turns out to be quite fruitful.

Which living persons in my profession do I most admire?

It must be Meredith Monk. I remember seeing her live when I was fifteen, it was so ensuring: everybody has a place in this world.

What is my greatest extravagance?

I buy quite a lot of books, I make sure to always read them, but I buy loads.

On what occasion would I lie?

I do tell fibs, at least I used to, when I was a child. I also lie, if I don’t want to hurt someone. But surprisingly, when I have to confront people honest always worked best.

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work?

It is quite hard to be a woman in this field, standing alone on the stage, people used to ask me question like: ‘Who write your songs’ and when I told them it was me the next question would be, and ‘who writes the lyrics?’ I always found it funny.

When and where was I the happiest, in my work?

I had the greatest gig of my life in Aurora, which is a small place in Budapest. I think then. Also when I get to travel with my music it is also great happiness; there is something entirely satisfying in playing a concert in one city then playing another in another place.

If I could, what would I change about myself?

More self-confidence would be a great improvement.

What is my greatest achievement in work?

Still sticking to it, despite the odds.

Where would I most like to live?

In my apartment, it is the best place I know.

What is my most treasured possession?

My dulcimer, the instrument I play on.

What is my most marked characteristic?

Probably, my voice and my movements.

What is my most inspirational location, in my city?

I live in Budapest and I love the whole city, I am always walking. I love the history of the buildings, when I find one, that I like I always look its history up on the internet, who lived there, or who designed it, what the story is behind it. I also adore that there is a river; water has a special meaning in my life.

What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city?

I used to love going to Stika, because the lights were very warm there, and they had the same tiles on the floor as in my grandmother’s kitchen. But the best is, when it is warm outside and you can have pick-nicks on Margaret Island every weekend.

What books influenced my life and how?

There are two, one is Milan Kundera’s Immortality, this is the book that taught me how a contemporary novel needs to be read, it also contains my favourite gesture, which is a hand-wave. The other one is Bohumil Hrabal’s Too Loud Solitude, for a while I thought it was about me, that it was my life-story, but now I know it is not.

Who are my favorite writers?

For novels absolutely love the Czech contemporaries, as I mentioned Kundera and Hrabal. In poetry I love Warsan Shire, Nayyirah Waheed and Yeaths. I also love Giorgio Agamben, who is an Italian philosopher.

You Only Die Once. What music would I listen on my last day?

I would just sing all day long.

Who is my hero or heroine in fiction?

All the women in Warsan Shire’s poems.

Who are my heroes and heroines in real life?

My sister. I have never met anyone like her. It surprises me how similar and different we are, how we grew up under the same circumstances, and became two very different but close persons.

Also my mother, definitely her too.

Which movie would i recommend to see once in a lifetime?

Vera Chytilova: Daisies, David Attenborough: Birds of Paradise

What role plays art in my life and work?

I have never known a life without art. I was exposed to contemporary and classical art form an early age. Both my sister and I learn to play an instrument, learnt to sing, and learnt to dance. I guess I just never grew out of its magic, and it stuck with me for the rest of my life.

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime?

My closest friends. They always surprise me, how much I can count and rely on them.

Whom would I like to work with in 2017?

Péter Jakab, the head of my label, Klinik. I can’t wait to see what we are capable to do together..

What project, in 2017, am I looking forward to work on?

My next album, and a music video.

Where can you see me or my work in 2017?

You can hear me here: https://soundcloud.com/musica-moralia

https://musicamoralia.bandcamp.com/

You can see me here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JOkmhDcnQwA https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=91p-zr9Jvc8 https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R9Weq0PAtf0

What do the words “Passion Never Retires” mean to me?

For me it is, that event if you are not constantly working on your project, it is part of you. It is part of biology, as a matter of fact your body, the way you are thinking is all part of it, it is inseparable form you. It exists even if you are silent, asleep, introverted. It is there, it is you. I don’t think that passion needs to be loud or storm-like, you just need that tick, that reminds you, what your goal is.

Which creative heroines should Peter invite to tell their story?

Judit Garam

Sári Ember

How can you contact me?

Email: edameggyeshazimail.com Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/musicamoralia/ Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/musicamoralia/

Leave a Reply

