The Heroine’s Journey of Justyna Sepiał – Rychlik

What is the best thing that I love about my work?

Creation process. I love every step from first touch of piece of fabric to closing fitting. I love to see how costume create a character; how person wearing my dress starts smiling and rising a head. Clothes does not make the man? False!

What is my idea of perfect happiness?

Do what I love with people I love.

What is my greatest fear?

Caterpillars. My family always defends me of this monsters.

In my work? That someday I would go to “normal” work, in office or hypermarket.

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself?

I’m messy.

Which living persons in my profession do I most admire?

I don’t know. I admire piece of art, not artist.

What is my greatest extravagance?

I hate to wear one costume twice.

On what occasion would I lie?

Based on my experience, I think that’s not possible to do business without at least small lies. Another – if it change nothing but the true could hurt someone to much. Or for saving life.

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work?

In this special domain of fashion (historical accurate recreation) I met many dilettantes and uneducated people trying to do it. The present generation is unable to see benefits of constructive criticism. So they do something wrong again and again and all around says only “how lovely” and every remark is considered an attack.

When and where was I the happiest, in my work?

When one important and famous person told me “I know your works, I wanted to meet you for a long time”.

If I could, what would I change about myself?

That’s hard question. Would it still be me?

What is my greatest achievement in work?

I hope it is still before me. I want to be better, works with bigger project, makes more beautiful costumes. For today? That I’m still in business, after 20 years, in spite of all.

Where would I most like to live?

 

In more politically stable country. But my daughter whispers me “in mountains”.

What is my most treasured possession?

My books. I could say “my library”. To be more precise: 20 linear meters of fashion, art, history, tailoring and other specialized publications, collected for many years.

What is my most marked characteristic?

Austerity, restraint, responsibility. I’m not an enthusiastic person. At work I’m sometimes too serious.

What is my most inspirational location, in my city?

I’m from Cracow. Could be more inspirational city in my country? Now I’m living in industrial city 100 km away, it is very modern place. But around are small towns with great history, I like to visit them.

What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city?

Café “Byfyj. Just downstairs. But I don’t like to eat outside the home.

What books influenced my life and how?

Surprisingly, science books. My favourites are anthropology, paleontology, biology, evolution. Thanks to science and knowledge the world is more wonderful.

Who are my favorite writers?

Isabel Allende, Richard Dawkins

You Only Die Once. What music would I listen on my last day?

Mozart’s “Requiem”

Who is my hero or heroine in fiction?

EsmereldaEsmeWeatherwax – one of the witches from Terry Pratchett’sDiscworldnowels.

Who are my heroes and heroines in real life?

Elizabeth I Tudor. Of living now? All women fighting for human and women rights. Jerzy Owsiak – a founder and President of the Wielka Orkiestra Świątecznej Pomocy, one of the largest non-governmental, non-profit, charity organizations in Poland.

Which movie would I recommend to see once in a lifetime?

“Paul”

What role plays art in my life and work?

It is half of my life or more. Music, paintings, poetry are still with me. At work I’m listening music, paintings and pictures are base of my work, poetry helps me relax.

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime?

 

My husband.

Whom would I like to work with in 2017?

I’m not easy person for cooperation, I’m demanding and fastidious. Better question is who would like to work with me?

Which people in my profession would I love to meet in 2017?

As many as possible.

What project, in 2017, am I looking forward to work on?

I will make a costumes for baroque ballet group. This is something new for me. I have already made costumes for early dance and music, but baroque is special – it will be recreations of 18th c stage costumes of ballerinas. And – of course – I must to bring together historical accuracy and individual expression of every dancer. Dress must to be reflection of artist’s soul. Second – I will show my rococo costumes on great performance in National Museum in Cracow.

Where can you see me or my work in 2017?

I will be on few events in Poland and Czech, also small exhibition museum will be in March. Detailed announcements are always on Mme Chantberry’s fb.

What do the words “Passion Never Retires” mean to me?

You can’t retire your life. Of course I need some rest, some breaks, time for other activity, but in short time brain wave and inspiration are forcing me to new work. I think it will be as long as I only could.

Which creative heroines should Peter invite to tell their story?
Sharon Burnstone, Angela Mombers, Izabela Pitcher

How can you contact me?

My web www.chantberry.com – here you can see photos, mme@chantberry.com is my email, on fb – Mme Chantberry – Kostiumologia I Krawiectwo Artystyczne. 

 

Leave a Reply

