The Heroine’s Journey of Maria Fagotti

What is the best thing that I love about my work?

I really love being able to film, to show things they way I personally see them and then make a video out of it.

What is my idea of perfect happiness?

I did not really think about it but I suppose it is realize my dream of becoming a film director, so that I could do what I love.

What is my greatest fear?

At the moment is to fail entering the university and do not have the opportunity to do what I like the most.

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself?

The most of the time I don’t think highly of myself, even when I have to. Most of my friends told me that I should worry less about what people think or say and just concentrate of what I want to achieve.

Which living persons in my profession do i most admire?

I hope I will get the chance to meet David Lynch, he is the film director I most admire and the one who inspires me every time I watch one of his films.

What is my greatest extravagance?

I think it is my way of telling stories through my films. I like to represent very simple stories but in a different way. Even something daily (as “go to school” for example) can be shown in a strange a more interesting way.

On what occasion would I lie?

I lied a lot for many different things, most of the time I did it in order to not to talk with people I don’t like, especially when they ask many personal questions.

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work?

What I don’t really like, sometimes, is having to do videos at weddings or school recitals just to earn some money. Most of the time the people I work with, in these events, don’t really understand the artistic side of my work.

When and where was I the happiest, in my work?

When I finally managed to make my first short movie and  find a very good actress was one of the best moment of my work. Usually I make videos for other people, so the filming and the editing are mine but the project is not. That’s why being able to see my first one come alive is something that made me really happy and excited.

If I could, what would I change about myself?

Sometimes I would say my body and others the way I see it. Probably If I could I would get rid of all the awful thoughts about myself that I keep making.

What is my greatest achievement in work?

When I started making short film I had no idea of ‘how to organize’ a production, even a simple and without budget as mine. But when I decided to make a good short film, even a 5-minute one needed a good plan. So, I think having learnt how to make that plan is my greatest achievement.

Where would I most like to live?

I am quite obsessed with Japan, Germany and Britain but at the moment I would just stay for few months in every place inspires me, without stop and live there.

What is my most treasured possession?

A shark tooth. You may think it is strange, but that was bought for me from a really special person and when I wear it around my neck, (as a necklace) it makes me feel special.

What is my most marked characteristic?

Always be organized and always have something to do. I just can’t stand doing nothing, I always have to do something and when I really don’t know what to do I like to clean my room (yeah, that is pretty strange for a teenager).

What is my most inspirational location, in my city?

Okay, that may sound awkward, but actually it is the cemetery near my home. When I was thirteen I loved to go study there, sometimes even drawing. As I entered high school that didn’t change and now is where I like to go for a walk and to write. I think it’s because it’s quiet and I can think and write down all my ideas peacefully.

What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city?

I don’t have a favorite place to eat in my town, but as long as it’s a good sushi restaurant is fine for me.

What books influenced my life and how?

I’m the kind of person that doesn’t read lots of novels, because I prefer reading essays and poetry most of the time. However I choose “De profundis” by Oscar Wilde, “Alice in wonderland” and Andersen’s tales. The three of them shows different worlds, the first one in a realistic way and the others in a very unusual one and being able to combine reality and fantasy in my film is what I want to achieve.

Who are my favorite writers?

There are too many of them, but I think I can pick up the most relevant: Arthur Rimbaud, Paul Verlaine, Charles Baudelaire, William Blake and Giacomo Leopardi for the poetry. Gabriele D’annunzio, Lewis Carroll, Hans Christian Andersen, Oscar Wilde for the novels. Giulio Carlo Argan, Michel Foucault for the essays and literary and art criticism.

You Only Die Once. What music would I listen on my last day?

It’s kind of sad to think of that but I think Radiohead and Jeff Buckley are my choice.

Who is my hero or heroine in fiction?

Buffy Summers from ‘Buffy the vampire slayer’. The first time I watched that tv series I was only four and my dream was to become a vampire slayer.

Who are my heroes and heroines in real life?

I think Tiziano Terzani is one of the person I most admire. He has been the best journalist, a human being and not just a robot who seeks gossip.

Which movie would i recommend to see once in a lifetime?

“Some like it hot”. It’s fun and also a good movie, it’s perfect if you want to watch something with your friend or with your girl, It’s just suitable for any occasion.

What role plays art in my life and work? 

Art is part od my daily life, I just could’t live without it.

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime? 

I think a friend of mine could be called like that. He’s always nice to me and always sincere about what he appreciate of my work.

 

Whom would I like to work with in 2017?

I thought about a short film where I would love to put a song sung by a girl who has a youtube channel and has a particular and beautiful voice. I would like to have a collaboration with her.

Which people in my profession would i love to meet in 2017?

At least one of the directors that I admire. I might be annoying but David Lynch is my first choice.

What project, in 2017, am I looking forward to work on?

Another short film for which I am writing the script right now.

Where can you see me or my work in 2017?

I just hope I will be accepted to the University of Edinburgh and finally work in Britain.

What do the words “Passion Never Retires” mean to me?

It means that if what you’re doing is really something for you, it express yourself completely, it doesn’t matter how old you are or where you are, you will always do it, without even thinking about it.

Which creative heroines should Peter invite to tell their story?

I would love to read a story about a girl who is trying to be an actress or something related to the cinema.

How can you contact me?

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/mariavideomaker/

Deviantart: http://memeyil06.deviantart.com

Leave a Reply

