The Heroine’s Journey of Laura Lago

What is the best thing that I love about my work? Revealing people’s nature and honesty.

What is my idea of perfect happiness? Remembering that happiness is inside, all the time.

What is my greatest fear? No fears.

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself? I have to work hard in order to love myself and I try every single moment to connect with my highest potential, it is not easy all the time but « deploring » is not in my dictionary.

Which living persons in my profession do I most admire? I like photographers who are not afraid to show their humanity through their work. I’ve recently discover Substantia Jones and « The adiposity Projet « I would also mention Claudio Larrea from Argentina, I like a lot his urban portraits because it takes me close to my home town.

On what occasion would I lie? When I’m late for an appointment but that doesn’t count, does it ?

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work? The editing is always hard.

When and where was I the happiest, in my work? Everytime I shoot someone and it’s only the two of us. I love that intimacy.

If I could, what would I change about myself? I would go to bed earlier. I’m a night lady.

What is my greatest achievement in work? At the moment, I won First place at the Musée of Art and History at Colombes and the photos I’ve done for Catherine Ringer, a female rock& roll icon in France.

Where would I most like to live? I would love to split my year between Paris and Buenos Aires

What is my most treasured possession? My faith and my family are my biggest treasures, but I wouldn’t call them « possessions »

What is my most marked characteristic? Because of my background as a performer I think artists tend to feel that they can rely on me, they know that they can trust me.

What is my most inspirational location, in my city? Paris is synonymous with inspiration

What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city? At my friend Juan’s or at my sister Alejandra’s house in Buenos Aires. In Paris at home with my family.

What books influenced my life and how? At my twenties : Siddartha (Herman Hesse) at my thirties :The wisdom of the Lotus Sutra (Daisaku Ikeda, Takanori Endo, Katsuji Saito, Haruo Suda) and at my forties : The Buddha in Your Mirror ( Woody Hochswender, Greg Martin and Ted Morino) They open the door to awareness, wisdom and happiness.

Who are my favorite writers? Albert Camus, Milan Kundera, Simone de Beauvoir, Daisaku Ikeda, Julio Cortazar, Gabriel Garcia Marquez, Joel Cano and the list goes on….

You Only Die Once. What music would I listen on my last day? I don’t believe that we only die once, life is made as an accumulation of little deaths, but to play the game : Argentinian music for sure.

Who are my heroes and heroines in real life? My mother, my uncle Hugo Lopez and Daisaku and Kaneko Ikeda.

Which movie would I recommend to see once in a lifetime? The Wings of Desire (Wim Wenders) for the poetry. Dogville (Lars Von Trier) for the message. The Secret in their eyes (Juan José Campanella) for the sequence shot at the stadium. Singing in the rain (Stanley Donen and Gene Kelly) for Gene Kelly obviously and all the films from director Paolo Sorrentino, for the photography.

What role plays art in my life and work? The whole role, I consider myself as an artist without any pedantry.

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime? My life partner Arthur is always there for me.

Whom would I like to work with in 2017? Asaf Avidan, Soko… Let’s dream big : the next film of Paolo Sorrentino.

Which people in my profession would l love to meet in 2017? Paolo Sorrentino, again… I love his work !

What project, in 2017, am I looking forward to work on? It’s already started but I wish I could find the time and the money to dedicate myself fully to « HUMANA » an unique project where I engaged myself from the inside : starring in the videos, to the outside : photographing people who belong to my surroundings and with whom I have special connection. Humana related to mourning, lost and resilience. https://vimeo.com/181341359 http://www.humana-projet.com http://www.photo-lauralago.book.fr/galeries/humana/

Where can you see me or my work in 2017? At the moment and until the 16 of March, my exhibition « Beautiful Bonheur » photographies from the backstage of the famous parisian cabaret Lido de Paris, is on at the Hôtel Joséphine in Paris. https://www.facebook.com/HotelJosephine/?hc_ref=PAGES_TIMELINE&fref=nf https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kwv3YDdgQJw

I also keep an update on my website :

http://www.lauralagophotographe.com/

Facebook page with all my news and next events. https://www.facebook.com/lauralagophotographe/

Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/lauralagophotographe/

What do the words “Passion Never Retires” mean to me? Passion is on me, it itches, it burns and it soothes.

Which creative heroines should Peter invite to tell their story? Heloise Lenoir (Madame Lenoir) very touching, generous and a great musician. https://www.facebook.com/heloiselenoir

and Mathilde Bouvard, talented painter : https://www.facebook.com/mathilde.bouvard.10

How can you contact me?  lauralagophotographe@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

