The Heroine’s Journey of Sonia Joubert

What is the best thing that I love about my work?

Etre libre ! Ne pas être dans une routine. En tant qu’artiste, j’aime l’idée de création. C’est pourquoi, à coté de mon métier de comédienne, j’écris des scénarios et réalise. Créer des personnages, des histoires et que cela prenne vie, me passionne énormément.  J’aime aussi l’idée de partage dans le travail car dans ce métier, on est rien sans les autres.

To be free ! Not to be in a daily routine. As an artist, I like the idea of creation. This is why I also write screenplays and direct beside being an actress. Creating characters, stories and watching all that coming to life is what I’m tremendously passionate about. I also like the idea of sharing in work because in this job you’re nothing without the others.

What is my idea of perfect happiness?

Question philosophique ! that’s a philosophical question! I think in order to know true happiness you first have to be happy with yourself, love yourself and accept who you are just the way you are. But it is true that for me the idea of a complete happiness can only be the one you share with the people you love and of course THE person dear to your heart. Perfect happiness is also accepting that life won’ only be made of perfect moments et knowing to get satisfied with simple happiness that life can offer us every day.

Je pense que pour connaître le bonheur, il est d’abord primordial d’être heureux avec soi-même, s’aimer soi et s’accepter tel que l’on est. Mais il est vrai que pour moi, l’idée d’un bonheur parfait ne peut être que partagé avec les gens que l’on aime et bien sûr LA personne chère à notre cœur. Le bonheur parfait, c’est aussi accepter que la vie ne sera pas toujours faite de moments parfaits et savoir se satisfaire des petits bonheurs simples qu’elle peut nous offrir au quotidien.

What is my greatest fear?

Paradoxalement, même si j’aime l’idée de ne pas être une routine quotidienne, il n’est pas toujours facile pour moi de ne pas savoir de quoi sera fait mon avenir. Je pense que les artistes doivent accepter de vivre dans l’instant présent, sinon des angoisses peuvent facilement surgire…

Paradoxically, even if i like the idea of not having a daily routine, it’s not always easy not to know what your future will be made of. I think as an artist you must accept to live in the moment, otherwise some anxiety can easily arise.

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself?

Justement ! De ne pas être toujours dans le moment présent…

Not to be in the moment indeed !

Which living persons in my profession do i most admire?

Il y en a beaucoup. Mais pour citer les cinéastes que j’admire le plus, je dirais Paul Verhoeven, Les frères Dardenne et Andrea Arnold. Chez les acteurs et actrices, j’admire depuis toujours Catherine Deneuve pour sa magnifique carrière mais aussi son charisme et sa personnalité. Une sorte de déesse pour moi ! Chez les acteurs, j’ai un petit faible pour Brad Pitt! Il réinvente ses personnages à chaque fois. Il est bel homme certes mais je le trouve aussi très fantaisiste dans sa manière d’aborder chacun de ses personnages. Un petit coté clownesque même je trouve. Je dirais aussi Gael Zaks, un brillant acteur Franco-Americain, j’aime la profondeur et l’intensité qu’il apporte à ses rôles.

                                                                                                                                                                       There are many. To name some Directors I admire the most, I would say Paul Verhoeven, the Dardenne brothers and Andrea Arnold. To talk about actors, I’ve always admired Catherine Deneuve for her amazing career but also her charisma and her personality. She’s some kind of goddess to me ! Among actors, I have a little soft spot for Brad pitt! He reinvents his characters each time. He’s a handsome man but I also find him fanciful in the way he deals with each of his characters. I would even say he’s a bit clownish. (I would also say the brilliant French-American actor Gaël Zaks, I love the depth and intensity he puts into his roles)

What is my greatest extravagance?

Le lâcher prise total, ne pas me soucier de se que les autres vont penser de moi. C’est très agréable comme sentiment et ca m’arrive parfois heureusement !

The total let go, not worry about what others will think of me. This feeling is quite nice and luckily I have it sometime.

On what occasion would I lie?

Argh !… Je suis comédienne dans il m’est déjà arriver de mentir sur mon âge à des castings.

Arrgh… ! I’m an actress, it happened that I lied about my age at castings.

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work?

La motivation ! Pas toujours facile pour moi de me motiver à écrire par exemple. Ce n’est pas une velléité première chez moi. L’échec aussi, car il faut savoir accepter de passer des castings et de ne pas être pris.

The motivation ! It’s not always easy to motive myself to write for exampleIt’s not necessarily my first inclination. Failure too, because you have to accept to go to castings and not always get hired.

When and where was I the happiest, in my work?

Lorsque j’ai reçu mon premier prix pour mon premier court-métrage : SOLEIL. C’était à La Soirée des Réalisateurs à Paris. J’ai ressenti beaucoup de joie à ce moment précis car je ne m’y attendais pas. Recevoir ce prix fut comme un symbole d’accomplissement du travail que j’avais pu fournir durant des mois. Ce fut une expérience enrichissante certes mais difficile aussi au niveau de la préparation.

When I receive my first prize for my first short film ‘SOLEIL’. It was at the Directors Night in Paris. I felt a lot of joy at this moment because I did not expect it.Receiving this prize symbolized to me the accomplishment of all the work I put into this project for months. It was a rewarding experience but also hard in terms of preparation work.

If I could, what would I change about myself?

Humm… Peut-être être plus grande… de dix centimètres au moins !

Humm…May be being a bit taller…Of at least 10 centimeters !

What is my greatest achievement in work?

Pouvoir susciter des émotions auprès des gens.

Being able to arouse emotions to people.

Where would I most like to live?

J’ai grandi et pratiquement toujours vécu à Paris. Mais disons que si je devais y partir, ce serait pour vivre en Californie et particulièrement à Los Angeles. Au delà du coté Hollywoodien bien sur, j’aime la chaleur, la douceur de vivre et le coté « healthy et sporty » qui se dégage de cette ville. Elle peut paraître très superficielle mais elle ne l’est pas tant que ça quand on la connaît. Et elle est plus culturelle que l’on croit. Après il faudrait que je m’habitue à la climatisation à 3° à chaque fois que tu rentres quelque part mais bon… !

I grew up in Paris and almost always lived there. But if I had to leave somewhere, it would be to live in California and particularly Los Angeles.Beside the Hollywood feel of course, I like the heat, the sweetness of life and the ‘healthy and sporty’ feel that comes out of this city. LA can seem superficial but it’s not when you really know it. It is more culturally rich than we think. Than I would have to get used to the 3 Celsius degree AC every time you walk in somewhere, but well… !

What is my most treasured possession?

Une bague de ma grand-mère. Elle est trop grande pour moi mais j’aime la porter.

A ring from my grand-mother. It’s too big for me but I love wearing it.

 What is my most marked characteristic?

Mes grands yeux bleus !

My big blue eyes !

What is my most inspirational location, in my city?

Le Musée d’Orsay. J’aime ce musée, je le trouve inspirant et apaisant.

The Orsay museum. I like this museum, I find it inspiring and soothing.

What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city?

Le Mama Shelter Paris 20ème.

Mama Shelter in Paris 20th district.

What books influenced my life and how?

Un livre m’a marqué à 14 ans, c’est La Nuit des Enfants Rois de Bernard Lenteric. Je devais faire un exposé dessus lorsque j’étais au collège et l’avais choisi par hasard. C’est le seul livre de ma vie que j’ai relu plusieurs fois. J’aime tellement ce livre que j’ai voulu rencontré l’auteur (malheureusement décédé depuis) pour lui proposer de l’adapter en scénario. Nous nous étions rencontrés au Café de Flore, lieu mythique, et il m’avait dit que le livre était déjà en cours d’adaptation en film d’animation. Nous avions beaucoup échangé et ce fut un merveilleux moment.Ce livre m’a donc influencé dans l’idée d’écrire des scénarios.

A book had a big effect on me when I was 14, It’s ‘ La nuit des Enfants Rois’ from Bernard Lenteric. I had to do a report when I was in junior high and I picked it randomly. It’s the only book I read several times. I love this book so much that I wanted to meet the author ( Unfortunately deceased since) to offer him to adapt it to a screenplay. We met at the legendary ‘Café de Flore’ and he told me that the book was already in the process of being adapted into an animated film. We talked a lot and it was a wonderful moment.

Therefore this book influenced me into writing screenplays.

Who are my favorite writers?

J’aime beaucoup Maupassant dont j’ai lu pratiquement toute l’œuvre. En plus contemporain, j’apprécie beaucoup Sébastien Japrisot et Philippe Djian. D’ailleurs leurs romans sont souvent adaptés au Cinéma.Sinon en tant que comédienne, j’ai lu pas mal de pièces de théâtre et mes dramaturges préférés sont Tennessee Williams, Bernard-Marie Koltès et Matéi Visniec (que j’ai eu la chance de rencontré car j’ai monté une de ses pièces : La Femme comme champs de Bataille).

I like Maupassant a lot. I almost read all his books. For more contemporary work, I truly like Sébastien Japrisot and Philippe Djian. Actually their books are often adapted into films. Otherwise as an actress, I read many plays. My favorites playwrights are Tennessee Williams, Bernard-Marie Koltès and Matéi Visniec, I had the chance to meet him when I put on one of his plays: ‘La femme comme champs de Bataille’.

You Only Die Once. What music would I listen on my last day?

« I want to break free » de QUEEN. J’adore QUEEN !

‘I want to break free’ from QUEEN. I adore QUEEN!

Who is my hero or heroine in fiction?

Princesse Sarah ! Les filles de ma génération comprendront !!!
Princess Sarah ! Girls of my generation will understand !!!

Who are my heroes and heroines in real life?

Ma maman !

My mom!

Which movie would i recommend to see once in a lifetime?

SOLEIL, mon court-métrage !

SOLEIL, my short film !

What role plays art in my life and work?

Toute ma vie !

My whole life !

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime?

Ma sœur. On est très différentes et on a pas toujours été super proches mais plus les années passent plus notre complicité grandi. C’est chouette !

My sister. We’re very different. He haven’t always been close to each other but as the years go our complicity is growing. That’s nice !

Whom would I like to work with in 2017?

Il y a beaucoup de personnes avec qui j’aimerais collaborer, que ce soit en tant que comédienne ou scénariste/ réalisatrice. Disons que c’est aussi à moi de leur faire savoir! Sinon je fais confiance à la vie, qui m’a toujours permise de rencontrer des supers personnes avec qui j’ai pu avoir la chance de travailler. J’ai hâte de rencontrer les prochaines !

There are many people I would like to collaborate with, as an actress, screenwriter or director. Let’s say it’s also my job to let them know! Otherwise I have confidence in life who always allowed me to meet great people I had the chance to work with.

I can’t wait to meet the next ones !

Which people in my profession would i love to meet in 2017?

J’ai pu rencontrer Andrea Arnold et les Frères Dardenne dernièrement, il me reste à rencontré le cinéaste Paul Verhoeven dont je suis fan mais la, il doit probablement se rendre aux Oscars pour son film « Elle » donc j’attendrais!

I met Andrea Arnold and the Dardenne brothers lately, now I have to meet the director Paul Verhoeven who I’m fan of, but right now he’s probably on his way to the Academy Awards for his film ‘Elle’ so I’ll wait !

What project, in 2017, am I looking forward to work on?

J’ai écrit un nouveau scénario de court-métrage. Je cherche donc un producteur ou productrice pour m’accompagner dans la réalisation de ce projet. J’ai hâte qu’il puisse prendre vie bientôt…

I wrote a new short film script. I’m therefore looking for a producer to come along with me on this project. I can’t wait for it to come to life…Where can you see me or my work in 2017?

What do the words “Passion Never Retires” mean to me?

Toujours croire en ses rêves, mais si le chemin peut être difficile et sinueux parfois…

Always believing in your dreams, even if the path can sometimes be tough and winding.

Which creative heroines should Peter invite to tell their story?

Maryvette Lair. C’est une chanteuse fantaisiste super.

Maryvette Lair. She’s a great fanciful singer.

Where can you see me or my work in 2017?

Vous pouvez voir mon premier court-métrage / You can see my first short movie with english subtitles by this link :

https://vimeo.com/205090797

Ma page comedienne/ The link to my acting page:

http://www.agencesartistiques.com/Fiche-Artiste/635599-sonia-joubert.html

Ma bande demo/ My showreel:

https://vimeo.com/154597008

How can you contact me?

My agent’s e-mail:

contact@agence-callback.com

My e-mail:

Sonia_joubert@hotmail.com

Leave a Reply

