The Heroine’s Journey of Maricelle Peeters

What is the best thing that I love about my work?

That it is an endless journey. The more you learn and the deeper you go into the matter, the more beautiful and more special it becomes.

What is my idea of perfect happiness?

To have the freedom to develop myself and discover the world.

What is my greatest fear?

I have no fear, but sometimes I can find something really exciting.

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself?

That every time again my expectations of others are too high.

Which living persons in my profession do I most admire?

I just returned from Moscow and I‘m really impressed by the energy of the Moiseyev dancers and the beauty and serenity of the Bolshoi ballerina Olga Smirnova. This inspires me a lot at the moment.

What is my greatest extravagance?

To have the courage to follow my feelings and my dreams.

On what occasion would I lie?

I don’t want people to worry.

What is the thing I dislike the most in my work?

I still find it difficult to understand that there are people who follow a ballet class or character dance class show no respect for the profession and don’t work 100% to get the best out of themselves, while I really want to share my knowledge and passion with them.

When and where was I the happiest, in my work?

Since I teach I have experienced many moments of happiness. Small and big.

If I could, what would I change about myself?

I would like to be stronger verbally in public. Often I can not immediately find the right words. However, when I teach I can.

What is my greatest achievement in work?

The moment I understood what it actually means to transfer knowledge and how to do this. Since this moment I felt I became a teacher instead of a lesson giver.

Where would I most like to live?

Somewhere where people are open minded, inspire each other and willing to learn and to work hard. So you can achieve more together.

What is my most treasured possession?

The knowledge I have gained through my experiences from many different sources.

What is my most marked characteristic?

Because of the enthusiasm and passion for my profession I never give up. I still have goals I want to achieve.

What is my most inspirational location, in my city?

Unfortunately there is not, that’s why I like to travel.

What is my favorite place to eat and drink, in my city?

That’s Spirit. It’s a very good organic and vegetarian / vegan restaurant.

What books influenced my life and how?

I am a bookworm; so many books have inspired me.

Who are my favorite writers?

The writers who touch my soul.

You Only Die Once. What music would I listen on my last day?

The first symphony of Tchaikovsky.

Who is my hero or heroine in fiction?

Le Petit Prince.

Who are my heroes and heroines in real life?

The people who make me think and challenge me.

Which movie would I recommend to see once in a life?

Planet Earth.

What role plays art in my life and work?

Art is part of my life and work. It is the basis of my existence.

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime?

Bahjet. For almost 20 years.

Whom would I like to work with in 2017?

Children and teenagers who are eager to learn.

Which people in my profession would I love to meet in 2017?

Likeminded and open minded colleagues. To get together more quality in our profession.

What project, in 2017, am I looking forward to work on?

The publication of my first ballet book “Ballet Recipes” – The ingredients of classical ballet technique.

Where can you see me or my work in 2017?

At Ballet studio Le Rêve in Rotterdam, Ballet studio Marieke van der Heijden and incidental at the National Ballet Academy in Amsterdam. As a guest teacher in different ballet schools in the Netherlands and France. About my book I hope it will be found in many ballet schools and in the homes of many ballet students and teachers.

What do the words “Passion Never Retires” mean to me?

To pass on your passion and knowledge forever.

Which creative heroines should Peter invite to tell their story?

Sarah Britton from My New Roots.

How can you contact me?

Email: balletstudiolereve@online.nl

https://balletstudiolereve.nl

https://www.facebook.com/BalletstudioleReve

Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=brRPU–9cnU

Leave a Reply

