The Heroine’s Journey of Monika Burkholz

What is the best thing that I love about my work?

Mi trabajo es para mí como un juego,¡ y a mí me encanta jugar!. Cuando trabajo con adultos juego a interpretar un papel. Cuando trabajo con niños juego a ser la niña que un día fui, y realmente me siento como si de nuevo lo fuera.

My job is to me like to play, and I love playing!. When I work with adult people the game is to play a role. Working whit children, I play to be the girl that I once was, and I really feel like I am again.

What is my idea of perfect happiness?

Yo creo que todos tenemos nuestro propio lugar en el mundo, que a veces no es fácil encontrar. La felecidad tiene mucho que ver con encontrar ese lugar.

I think we all have a place in the world, which is not so easy to find. Happiness has a lot to do with finding your own place.

What is my greatest fear?

La enfermedad

The illness

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself?

Soy muy desordenada y muy despistada. Siempre estoy buscando alguna cosa porque no sé donde la puse.

I am very messy and very clueless. I am always looking for something that I don´t know where I put

Which living persons in my profession do i most admire?

Una de las personas a las que admiro es Pepe Viyuela. Es un actor y payaso español. Como payaso tiene un par de números muy graciosos, uno con una silla y otro con una guitarra, que en España todo el mundo conoce.

One of the people that I most admire is Pepe Viyuela. He is a Spanish clown and actor. Like a clown he plays a couple of shows very funny, one of them whit a guitar and the other with a chair, that everybody knows in Spain.

What is my greatest extravagance?

Creo que salir a un escenario a contar cuentos, acompañada de una enorme rana verde es ya bastante extravagante de por sí…

I think that to go out on a stage to tell tales, accompanied by an enormous green frog, is quite extravagance..

On what occasion would I lie?

Mentiría para evitar que un niño sufra. No puedo soportar ver a un niño llorar.

I would lie to avoid a child to suffer. I can´t understand to see a child crying.

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work?

En mi trabajo no todo es estar frente a la cámara o frente al público. Una parte importante de mi trabajo es buscar trabajo. Estoy siempre asistiendo a casting, buscando nuevos proyectos o nuevas oportunidades, buscando nuevos lugares en los que contar mis cuentos. Soy artista, secretaria, comercial…

In my job, not everything is to be in front of the camera or in front of the public. An important part of my job is to keep looking for work. I am always going to any casting, looking for new opportunities and new projects, looking for new places to do my storytelling. I am artist, secretary, saleswoman…

When and where was I the happiest, in my work?

Hace dos años estuve contando cuentos en la biblioteca pública del Pozo del Tío Raimundo, en un barrio que tiempo atrás tenía fama de ser muy conflictivo. Yo no sabía con qué iba a encontrarme, pero resultó ser uno de los mejores cuentacuentos que he hecho. Al terminar la función una niña se acercó a mí y me dijo:” cuando sea mayor quiero ser cuentacuentos como tú”. Casi lloro.

Two years ago I went to make a storytelling to El Pozo del Tío Raimundo public Library, in a neighborhood that once had a reputation for being very conflictive. I didn´t know what I was going to find, but It turned out to be one of the best storytelling that I have done. When I finished the show a girl came to me and said me: “ when I grow up I will be storyteller like you”. I almost cry.

If I could, what would I change about myself?

Creo que nada. He aprendido a aceptarme tal y como soy.

I Think nothing. I have learned to accept myself as I am.

What is my greatest achievement in work?

Teniendo en cuenta lo difíciles que están las cosas en España para los actores y actrices, cada contrato que he firmado como actriz ha sido ya un gran logro.

Considering how difficult things are in Spain for actors and actresses, every contract I’ve signed as an actress has already been a great achievement.

Where would I most like to live?

Cerca del mar

Near to the sea

What is my most treasured possession?

Mi hijo

My son

What is my most marked characteristic?

Mi sentido del humor

My sense of humor

What is my most inspirational location, in my city?

El Parque del Retiro

The Retiro Park

What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city?

Hay una asociación cultural llamada La Casa de Córdoba que tiene un restaurante que me encanta en verano. Es un patio andaluz en el corazón de Madrid.

There is a cultural asociation called La casa de Córdoba that has a restaurant that I love. It is like an Andalusian patio in the heart of Madrid.

What books influenced my life and how?

El Principito. Lo he leído varias veces más a lo largo de mi vida y nunca ha dejado de emocionarme y sorprenderme.

The Petit Prince. I have read it several times over the course of my life and it has never ceased to excite me and surprise me.

Who are my favorite writers?

Gabriel García Marquez y Eduardo Mendoza entre otros.

Gabriel García Marquez and Eduardo Mendoza among others

You Only Die Once. What music would I listen on my last day?

La fauta Mágica de Mozart.

The Magic Flute, from Mozart.

Who is my hero or heroine in fiction?

Súper Coco, de Barrio Sésamo

Supercoco, fron Sesam Street

Who are my heroes and heroines in real life?

Hay muchos héroes anónimos en la vida real. Por ejemplo, los voluntarios que trabajan como payasoso de Hospital, llevando risas a lugares donde hay dolor y tristeza.

There are a lot of anonymous heroes in the real life. For exemple volunteers working as Hospital clowns, giving laughs in places where there are pain and sadness.

Which movie would i recommend to see once in a lifetime?

El Show de Truman

The Truman Show

What role plays art in my life and work?

Yo creo que el arte es una necesidad para el ser humano. Es la mejor vía para expresar y transmitir emociones y sentimientos. Para mí es una gran fuente de inspiración.

I think art is a necessity for human being. It is the best way to express emotions and feelins. It is a source of inspiration to me.

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime?

Mi amiga Eugenia, a la que conozco desde que tenía seis años. Siempre me ha apoyado en todas mis iniciativas artísticas.

My fríen Eugenia, who I met when I was six years old. She has always supported me in all my artistic projects.

Whom would I like to work with in 2017?

Personas que me aporten cosas interesantes, que tengan otras ideas y otros puntos de vista, para seguir aprendiendo y seguir creciendo con ellos.

People who bring me interesting things, who have other point of view and another ideas, to continue growing up and continue learning whit them.

Which people in my profession would i love to meet in 2017?

Gente que me ofrezca proyectos interesantes.

People who offer to me interesting projects. Where can you see me or my work in 2017?

Muy pronto se estrenará la película EGO SUM, en la trabajé en el papel de Psicóloga. Dentro de poco se emitirán en television dos capítulos de la serie Centro Médico, donde trabajé recientemente. Como cuentacuentos, se me puede ver con en pequeñas salas de teatro, colegios,bibliotecas…

Very soon will premiere the film EGO SUM, where I worked in the role of Psychologist. In short, two chapters of the serie Centro Médico in which I worked recently will be broadcast on Spanish television. Working as Storyteller you can see me in small teather rooms, libraries, schools..

What do the words “Passion Never Retires” mean to me?

Que nunca debes abandonar.

That you must never give up.

Which creative heroines should Peter invite to tell their story?

Ouka Leele

How can you contact me? https://www.facebook.com/MonikaBurkholz/

https://laranaoliva.wordpress.com/

burkholz79@gmail.com

[www.youtube.com/watch?v=d6LX1LMArCQ&w=560&h=315]

Leave a Reply

