the Heroine’s Journey of Liesbeth Keder

What is the best thing that I love about my work? The moment I start a new drawing and I forget about everything. Only me, a piece of paper and a pencil. And very loud music on my iPod to keep the world outside.

What is my idea of perfect happiness? Sitting or walking in the sun, being with someone I love and just enjoying the moment.

What is my greatest fear? It’s not a fear anymore because it already happened once: that I loose my passion, my drive, the urge to create. I felt lost without it.

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself? I’m a terrible procrastinator.

Which living persons in my profession do i most admire? Eliza Ivanova, Michael Carson, Jeremy Mann.

What is my greatest extravagance? I’m a sucker for new mascara’s…

On what occasion would I lie? Is fantasising also lying?

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work? To begin, make a start. And acquisition. Ugh.

When and where was I the happiest, in my work? Everytime when I loose myself in my work, when I’m ‘in the flow’.

If I could, what would I change about myself? That I would do more, think less.

What is my greatest achievement in work? I wanted to see my illustrations published in a book and that happened when I was 27. It was agonising and exhilarating at the same time.

Where would I most like to live? In a Beachhouse in Italy.

What is my most treasured possession? Hmm…I would say my memories but those are not really possessions.

What is my most marked characteristic? I have a strange sense of humor.

What is my most inspirational location, in my city? The Bookstore.

What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city? Mugs & Muffins.

What books influenced my life and how? Books about art and photography. My parents had a lot of books about Art, they were such an inspiration. I remember my mother had this little art book about Dürer and I looked at it so many times it eventually fell apart.

Who are my favorite writers? I know that I loved Hermann Hesse’s Demian and Thomas Hardy’s Far from the Madding Crowd when I was young. Now I don’t have any favorite writers, I just read whatever seems interesting to me.

You Only Die Once. What music would I listen on my last day? Maybe it won’t be just once but if so I would say music that makes me feel happy, although I would also listen to Last Goodby by Jeff Buckley and that makes me cry…

Who is my hero or heroine in fiction? I love the idea of heroes with superpowers like Superman, flying all over the place, coming to the rescue.

Who are my heroes and heroines in real life? Everyone who turnes a tragedy they’ve experienced into a source of strength.

Which movie would i recommend to see once in a lifetime? As it is in Heaven.

What role plays art in my life and work? It’s a daily inspiration. The way other artists work, their technique, what they draw/paint and what they leave out. What they see and the way they want to show it to you. It’s fascinating.

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime? My friends.

Whom would I like to work with in 2017? If we click on a creative level and I feel the energy flowing.

Which people in my profession would i love to meet in 2017? Anybody who inspires me.

What project, in 2017, am I looking forward to work on? Something different from what I do now: working on a new fashion line with a friend of mine.

Where can you see me or my work in 2017? Instagram @liesbethkeder

What do the words “Passion Never Retires” mean to me? There is always something inspiring around the corner, something to feed my passion.

Which creative heroines should Peter invite to tell their story? Monica Knaapen, Maaike Hermans.

How can you contact me? Instagram: http://www.instagram.com/liesbethkeder websites Illustration and Photography: liesbethkeder.wixsite.com/lalizillustration liesbethkeder.wixsite.com/laliz facebook: http://www.facebook.com/liesbeth.keder E-mail: liesbethkeder@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

