The Heroine’s Journey of Sarah Mathilda Pearce

What is the best thing that I love about my work?

My favorite part is to give life to fantasy stories, to offers new dreams to the audience, and meet passionate people who believe in the success of my projects.

What is my idea of perfect happiness?

My happiness comes from doing what I like the most, working in cinema and share it with family and friends. 

What is the trait that I most admire in myself?

I love to write, to create imaginary lives, and to work on the scripts with the actors. I also enjoy working with a crew, because everyone has something creative to add to transform a nice story to a beautiful movie. It’s the best way to work, and certainly the only good way in cinema.

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work?

To start a project and never finish it. This happens from time to time and it’s an heartbreak every time. The reasons can be financial problems or changes coming out during the preparation. All this led you to stop believing. You are losing faith, and at that point, nothing can go on. You can’t stop fighting one day of your life or everything will fall apart.

The fact that we constantly fight between money and art. Producing is the worst part for this ancestral war. Money can change people, same way as success can do it. Staying human and yourself is sometimes very hard when there are some money issues. Whatever, we have to deal with it and find the right people to work with.

What is your greatest extravagance?

Sometimes when I’m writing scripts, I look crazy! I’m talking alone, doing all the characters at the same time, making some moves; putting some papers all over the desk, on the ground and the bed. Most of my stories come from dreams. I wake up in the night and start writing.

When would i lie?

I’m trying not too; I prefer to keep things for myself. Not telling what you think can save you sometimes. But if I lie, I must have a really good reason: to protect someone, or to avoid some difficult change in a project.

When and where was I the happiest, in my work?

In fact, it was quite recently! I just came back from the Berlinale. I have met so many people from the entire world and it’s been really like a great island, with a lot of different languages. But there is on language that they all understand: the creative one. All theses people want to do or sell movies because they are really passionate, more than anything else. I have the time of my life right there, even if it was cold…

If I could, what would I change about myself?

My eyes! I’m blind as a bat without my contact lens. This is quite a handicap for editing, and watching movies, because headaches come fast. Maybe, one day I could finally get an operation…

What is my greatest achievement in work?

For now, having the best crew ever on my principal project. A film shoot is hard

sometimes, but I will have been nothing without them. I also have seen my name for the first time last month on credits of a feature film, as a director assistant. I know is only the first one, but we all have to start somewhere. And going to the film festival in Berlin was the third greatest achievement or I should say a new beginning…

Where would I most like to live?

At that moment, I think of Canada, Vancouver. I have family there and always dream to go there to live, but only if I can still working in cinema. Vancouver is a perfect city for me between the mountain and the sea, and the movie activity is dynamic.

What is my most marked characteristic?

I can give my trust easily to someone, but once you betrayed me, I can never forget and it’s sometimes hard for me to forgive. Even if I do forgive, I will still remember what people have done to me and it can takes years for me to talk again to those people.

What is my most inspirational location, in my city?

I always have live near Montmartre, and I think I have spent all the important moments of my life up there. Winter, for hot chocolate in a cafe with my schoolbag. Summer, for writing and having party with friends on my favorite hill. For me, it is the most inspirational place.

What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city?

I always have been fond of that restaurant call “le Soleil de la Butte” near the Sacré Coeur, there are often a band playing at evening. In summer, the sun coming in all other the restaurant room. For the warm summer evening, the pavement area is really nice.

What books influenced my life and how?

I like to read fantasy books, a few thrillers, classical of literature and book on cinema and spectacles arts. For fantasy, I love The Farseer series, by Robin Hobb; the universe is really strange and dark. For classical, I have one particular book of Victor Hugo that I love the most, call Han d’Islande, it’s the first beginning of the Quasimodo character and a wonderful adventure story. The Rougon Macquart series of Zola is my second favorite French classical. About spectacle, the book that really makes me dreaming was a book on water spectacles call Spectacles d’eau, by Alice Bloch. I always have something special with water since I was a synchronized swimmer.

Who is my hero or heroine in fiction?

How to choose only one? I always love the super-hero movies, but I think Catwoman and Jean Grey are my favorite. I love their duality, good and bad. I think every woman has that part of shadow I her.

Who are my heroes and heroines in real life?

In real life, I really like Rockaya Diallo. I have the pleasure to work with her at one time and she is a strong woman, fighting against racism, women’s rights, she is often talking at the television, and she is really smart and human. She is so passionate.

Which movie would i recommend to see once in a lifetime?

If I choose only one, I will say The Lord of the Ring, by Peter Jackson. It’s the most beautiful literature adaptation for all years and certainly a great cinema lesson for everyone.

What role plays art in my life and work?

Very important role! I need it for inspiration, and not only one, all of them are useful. Painting offers a lot of incredible characters, different atmospheres, and lights for movies. Sculptures with human form already have stories, perfect for mythological inspiration. But the most powerful for me, it’s music. I cant’ write without listening to music. The music gives a great soul to the words.

Which people in my profession would i love to meet in 2017?

I have the opportunity this year to meet a few producers from others country: Canada, USA, Spain, Ireland…I really hope to work on some project with them. But also, to work again with my crew of my principal project, we still have a lot to do and I hope to go very far with them. I hope I will have a new opportunity to work again with Fatima Adoum, Roméo Sarfati, and Rockaya Diallo. They are really great people!

What project, in 2017, am I looking forward to work on?

First, I have a fantasy webserie in post-production. The two first episodes will be release for an exceptional night in a cinema in Paris at the end of March 2017. Three others episodes are still on postproduction and will come out, in April, May and June 2017.

Where can you see me or my work in 2017?

You can watch the serie introduction by the actors: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LKElyAaWrIQ&t=1s&list=PLgR8s8Z10WN0N5ApLAaeTADL5_fym1UxB&index=2

You can follow us on our official page https://www.facebook.com/webserieHidden/

You can watch the episodes on that website: https://www.lovemyvod.fr/

I also work on writing two features film.

As an executive producer, I’m working on scripts in development with Bruno Mercier, on two features in co-production with Canada. You can visit the website for more information: https://www.les-mures-sauvages.net/development

To see my work as a producer, you can watch that documentary short movie:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rq2ZrTMKFLM&list=PLgR8s8Z10WN0N5ApLAaeTADL5_fym1UxB&index=1

What do the words “Passion Never Retires” mean to me?

In my opinion, that mean you are ready to make many sacrifices to succeed. You can work alone on day and night, holidays and weekends for long years without complaining or failing. It’s sometimes hard but finally there is always something good coming out at the end.

Which creative heroines should Peter invite to tell their story?

Fatima Adoum. She is really good actress, nice, human, beautiful and always optimistic.

How can you contact me

By Facebook:

Leave a Reply

