The Heroine’s Journey of Ana Japson

What is the best thing that I love about my work?  Connecting with amazing people in amazing places-during last three years I did makeup on TV, at the theatre, at EU Parliament and even at racecourse!
What is my idea of perfect happiness?  Being 100% true to myself, and totally sincere to others.
What is my greatest fear? Regretting I didn’t live my life to the fullest, when I’m old
What is the trait that I most deplore in myself? Giving up easily on something new, if I’m not mesmerised by it right away. Some great things in life take time to build up.
Which living persons in my profession do i most admire?
Isamaya Ffrench for following her own makeup philosophy and staying out of mainstream .
What is my greatest extravagance?  Casual saturday walks all dressed up as fancy as only russian girl can.
On what occasion would i lie? When it’s necessary to avoid dangerous situation or survive.
What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work?  Washing my makeup brushes! I’m actually planning to hire someone to do it for me in the future:)
When and where was I the happiest, in my work?  When I got to do first lookbook in Belgium, it was for Alter Era fall/winter 16-17, and it’s still my one of my favourite one, shot in botanical garden.
If I could, what would I change about myself?  Being more present. Less nostalgic about past, less dreamy about future. Life happens now only now, right?
What is my greatest achievement in work?  Having a freedom to express myself . No matter if I work with magazine, designers or bride, if they trust me enough to let me do what I want, I feel I’m on the right path
Where would I most like to live? I belong in many places, but I would prefer that one where my dearest people are.
What is my most treasured possession? I know it sounds cheesy but still: my friends and family.
What is my most marked characteristic? I’m a curious girl. If there is something I can’t understand, I’ll “dig”, until it’s clear to me.
What is my most inspirational location, in my city?  I’m into fusion megacities like NY or Hong Kong . Cities where you can find anything you can only imagine.
What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city? If you up for fine Italian cuisine, try Ristorante Pizzeria Antas in Etterbeek, but make sure you book table in advance, it’s always busy.
What books influenced my life and how? No surprise here- I’m a big fan of  Harry Potter since I was 13, I believe it helped me to realise fully the controversy of choices in life .
Who are my favorite writers? Easier say my favourite books: I’m mostly into classic English literature, so since middle school my top list  Includes: Jane Eyre , Lord of the rings, Dorian Gray, Wuthering Heights
You Only Die Once. What music would I listen on my last day? I wouldn’t listen any music,  I would better enjoy to listen to people, sounds of the city and nature.
Which movie would i recommend to see once in a lifetime? American Beauty
What role plays art in my life and work? One of the main roles! Visual art is the biggest inspiration source for my makeup artistry.
Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime?  Me, Myself and I
Whom would I like to work with in 2017?  Kate Mur, one of the few another makeup artists from Russia who made it on international arena. Her messy arty style is very close to my aesthetic taste.
Which people in my profession would i love to meet in 2017? Ellis Faas, when I go next time to Amsterdam. I fell in love with her makeup brand since she did lipgloss collection with colours identical to different human blood colours . I just love the concept behind the product.
What project, in 2017, am I looking forward to work on? Since last year I’m really enjoying working with special materials for makeup . For example, for one shooting I did a human muzzle from flower petals, it worked out really well! So I continue this experimental project, next time with special face jewellery.
Where can you see me or my work in 2017? I update my instagram almost every day, check it here  instagram.com/anajapson
What do the words “Passion Never Retires” mean to me? When you do what you truly love, you need no motivation.
Which creative heroines should Peter invite to tell their story? My dear friend Ellie Van den Brande, owner of GRAND imaging consultancy (www.icgrand.com ) photographer and entrepreneur from Antwerp, she is a great example of a self-made lady boss.
How can you contact me? anajapsonmua@gmail.com ,
Leave a Reply

