The Heroine’s Journey of Cheryl Muir

What is the best thing that I love about my work?

Writing is such a joy for me. I love getting to know my characters and peeling back their layers until I truly understand their motivations. I very much see my fictional characters as real people and, as an INFJ who is captivated by the human psyche, it’s a characteristic that mirrors my ‘real life’. Is there anything more fascinating than people and why they do the things they do…?

What is my idea of perfect happiness?

It’s the combination of present-moment gratitude fused with ambition and excitement. In other words, happiness is loving where you’re at today while being excited about where you’re heading in the future.

What is my greatest fear?

As a creative, I’m always excited to receive new downloads of ideas for books, courses, speeches, collaborations, and so on. My fear is not having enough time to birth all of these ideas. It comes down to choice; and I make mine by focusing on what’s of highest service to others combined with my own level of excitement. When you birth creative projects with conviction and a genuine wish to help, everyone wins!

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself?

I can be really tough on myself. Very self-critical. Recently, one of my followers on Twitter commented on a collection of 5* reviews on Amazon and how happy and excited I must be about it. This comment really struck me because I realised I hadn’t even taken in the accomplishment. I think many of us do this, and it’s especially prevalent with my fellow ladies in business and literature. We need to learn to celebrate our success. It’s something I’m working on.

Which living persons in my profession do i most admire?

As an author this may be a little predictable, but I have huge respect and admiration for J.K. Rowling. To see a fellow writer who, like myself, struggled with depression and who rose to such heights, fills me with inspiration and optimism. I also admire how she uses her platform for good. She speaks out against online bullying and injustice and does so with wit and smarts!

What is my greatest extravagance?

I always ensure I’m eating clean, healthy food. If we put garbage in a Ferrari, we wouldn’t expect it to run efficiently, or at all – our bodies are the same. It’s worth the investment.

On what occasion would I lie?

I’m a human lie detector! I can practically smell mistruth in others. And I always say what’s on my mind, honestly and openly. It’s the best way.

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work?

I genuinely love what I do! Writing books and running a business is thrilling. It’s fast-paced, varied, and allows me to be highly creative and set my own schedule. It stretches me and helps me to grow as a person. I learn every single day. Even on the days when it seems like it’s not working (especially then).

When and where was I the happiest, in my work?

I remember the first time I held my debut novel in my hands. I was so happy I could have cried!

If I could, what would I change about myself?

I started my personal development journey in 2010 and dug deep into my past, choosing to heal past hurts. I look back at the person I was then and I feel like a completely different person. Today, I’ve reached a place where I’m genuinely happy with myself and my life. It’s taken me a long time to get here, and I’m incredibly grateful.

What is my greatest achievement in work?

That’s a tough one! I think we’re all fairly gun shy when it comes to our achievements, rightly or wrongly. Thinking about it… I’ve built a business around who I truly am as a person, and I’m proud of that. It gives other women permission to be themselves and to shine bright. I’ve incorporated all of my unique quirks, interests and professional experience and designed programs and courses to help aspiring authors make their book dream happen. That feels really good. It’s incredibly rewarding.

Where would I most like to live?

Having lived in Canada for more than seven years, I recently returned to England, my home country. I absolutely love being back here and spending time with my family. Rediscovering British snacks and tea has made me really happy! I’m going to stay here for a while.

What is my most treasured possession?

I have a bracelet from my Grandma Joyce made from precious gems and crystals. It means the world to me for many reasons, and I treasure it. I also have my Nana Ruby’s engagement ring and ruby wedding ring. To hold a symbol of love in my hands, one that belonged to a family member, is powerful beyond words.

What is my most marked characteristic?

There are things about me that seem normal to me. But I’ve been told I’m incredibly driven and extremely creative.

What is my most inspirational location, in my city?

I’m currently living in the Lake District, England, where I was born-and-raised. I love to spend time near Lake Windermere. Seeing the water and the hills is very calming. I always come away from the area with ideas flooding my brain!

What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city?

There are some lovely little cafés up in the Lake District. I love to explore new ones on my free days!

What books influenced my life and how?

I’m a self-confessed self-help junkie and I love to read about psychology and human behaviour. One of my all-time favourites is The Big Leap by Gay Hendricks. There are many others, which I list out in full on my website, but The Big Leap always stands out for me.

Who are my favorite writers?

There are a number of them. I respect J.K. Rowling, E.L. James and JoJo Moyes for demonstrating what’s possible for female authors. I have huge admiration for David Morrell for his genuine love of the written word and his commitment to in-depth research (we also share a love of Victorian London and its history). And finally, to the brilliant Lauren Sapala for her deep understanding of the sensitive, intuitive INFJ writer.

You Only Die Once. What music would I listen on my last day?

Wow – that’s a deep question! I’ve never thought about it. Something happy, I think. Something to celebrate life!

Who is my hero or heroine in fiction?

I’m a comic book nerd and I love a villain or an anti-hero! Fish Mooney springs to mind – she’s Jada Pinkett Smith’s character in the TV show Gotham. Fish is badass – I love her strength and tenacity!

Who are my heroes and heroines in real life?

This is a complete 180 from the previous answer, but I’m fascinated by Florence Nightingale and all she accomplished for women in her field. Her compassion combined with her tenacity was a powerful force.

Which movie would i recommend to see once in a lifetime?

Two spring to mind – one is epic love story Titanic; the other is gangster classic Scarface. What can I say, I have many different layers…!

What role plays art in my life and work?

My first book editor once said to me, “You’re making art.” It was the first time I thought of writing as art, and it allowed me to stay one step removed from what I create. My writing is an extension of me, an expression – not a reflection.

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime?

My Mum!

Whom would I like to work with in 2017?

I would love to partner with fellow sensitive, intuitive writers. And also entrepreneurs who are spiritually open and focused on personal growth.

Which people in my profession would i love to meet in 2017?

The same as above, really – writers and entrepreneurs on the same wavelength.

What project, in 2017, am I looking forward to work on?

I’m really looking forward to completing the Angel of the Night series! We’ve had a wonderful response from readers and I’m so excited to share the conclusion of the trilogy with them.

Where can you see me or my work in 2017?

There are a number of really juicy, helpful tools for aspiring authors that I’m releasing in 2017. If you have a dream to write a book, keep an eye on my website http://www.cherylmuir.com or my social media channels for all of the details.

What do the words “Passion Never Retires” mean to me?

Passion is about a deep, burning desire and a genuine love of your vocation. It’s not a job you retire from. It’s a life-long journey that you relish every single day.

Which creative heroines should Peter invite to tell their story? Kim Williams, Flourish R&R – http://www.kimwilliams.me/contact-flourish Lauren Sapala, author and entrepreneur – http://laurensapala.com/contact/

How can you contact me?

You can find me on all the social media machines – my handle is @cheryljmuir – and also on my website, http://www.cherylmuir.com. Feel welcome to reach out and say hi (it’s me, not a robot)!

Facebook – http://www.facebook.com/cheryljmuir

Twitter – http://www.twitter.com/cheryljmuir

Instagram – http://www.instagram.com/cheryljmuir

Tumblr – https://www.tumblr.com/blog/cheryljmuir

Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/Angel-Night-Monster-Cheryl-Muir/dp/1910832553/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1480196521&sr=8-1&keywords=Cheryl+J.+Muir

YouTube:https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCr2I4Eyg6DZ7dNGPV-NzjNg?app=desktop

Leave a Reply

