The Heroine’s Journey of Dayan Kodua

 

What is the best thing that I love about my work?

The best thing I love about my work is creating human being, telling their stories and in this process, always learning something new about myself and building more knowledge about my work. After every filming, I feel a little more mature and different. Really interesting.

What is my idea of perfect happiness?

My idea of perfect happiness is really being align with myself. Because being in that state gives me energy, happiness and strength I can do anything I want. And I love that. Also, my family and friends that I so much love and they love me back. That is real happiness.

What is my greatest fear?

My greatest fear…seriously? I don’t really know. I have not thought about that yet.

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself?

None. I am friendly and always give a hand, when someone needs help and I feel I can be doing something. I know people take that for granted and sometimes, people will not even appreciate my kindness, but I don’t feel I have to deplore that. I am nice but not stupid.

Which living persons in my profession do I most admire?

Oh my goodness. There are so many living people in my profession I adore. Where do I start? I truly adore Viola Davis, Kerry Washington, Gabrielle Union, Octavia Spencer, Denzel Washington, and Oprah Winfrey and here in Germany, where I live I adore Senta Berger and Barbara Auer.

What is my greatest extravagance?

I believe my greatest extravagance is that I spend so much money on food from farmers market. I just love good quality food. I barely shop clothes. So I always try to meet friends at the farmers market. So we can talk and try all the fresh stuff.

On what occasion would I lie?

When someone I am not really friends with ask me “How are you”? And my answer will be “fine” even if I feel like a crap. Most people don’t really care how someone really feels. So always fine is good, in my life. Even if I know it is a lie.

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work?

I love my work. What I don’t need are the people in my field that behave like they are so important. We all need to chill more.

When and where was I the happiest, in my work?

OMG! I am always happy when I see my agents number on my phone display or when I receive a script, then I got crazy when I am reading the script and the book is awesome and my role is awesome. And when I get on set, I am the happiest person on earth. I need to have these feelings more. And I just like being on set. I like working together with great artist that I can always learn from. Just my watching. I had so much fun filming in Italy, Trieste. The director Aelrun Goette was so fantastic. She pulled everything I had out of me to make my character Kahfee express her feeling she is ready to do anything to create a better future for her daughter in Europe. This kind of work fulfils me.

If I could, what would I change about myself?

I would just like to be more patience. That is not very easy. As an artist, I want everything to move faster. Especially after audition. Then WE have to wait until we get that phone call. I always get too nervous. Other than that, I like everything about myself.

What is my greatest achievement in work?

I think as an actress, every YES is an achievement. I don’t have something in particular, but I have many different things I have achieved. For example creating my book “My Black Skin” that present 25 successful black German as role Models and the exhibition to this piece.

Where would I most like to live?

I love living in Germany. Although the weather could be a little better. If I had L.A weather in Germany, that would be the bomb.

What is my most treasured possession?

My most treasured possession is my home.

What is my most marked characteristic?

My most marked characteristic is that I am absolutely friendly and funny. I enjoy laughing about myself.

What is my most inspirational location, in my city?

My most inspirational location in my city is a farmers market I like to hang out, watching the cows, horses, eating self made organic cake and thinking about life. Nice

What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city?

I pretty much enjoy Chinese and Thai cuisine. I don’t have a particular place I go; I just try out different restaurants. But my absolute favourite place is in my mom’s kitchen. She cooks all that yummy Ghanaian dishes and I always put on some weight when she comes to visit.

What books influenced my life and how?

Paolo Coelho –The Alchemist, Esther and Jerry Hicks – Ask and it is giving.

Those books have helped me understand myself better and I now know there are great things we cant see, but they are there and how to just trust and believe in myself and in the universe.

Who are my favourite writers?

Paolo Coelho

Esther and Jerry Hicks

You Only Die Once. What music would I listen on my last day?

Some African high life

Who is my hero or heroine in fiction?

Nzinga of Ndongo and Matamba

Who are my heroes and heroines in real life?

My mom and my children.

Which movie would I recommend to see once in a lifetime?

Pretty Woman

Hidden Figures

Fences and Moonlight.

What role plays art in my life and work?

A big role. I do art and I enjoy seeing art.

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime?

My Children and my husband are my greatest fan. And sometimes, my parents and sisterJ

Whom would I like to work with in 2017?

There are too many. For e.g. I would like to work with Fatih Akin, Tim Story, Viola Davis, Kerry Washington. Too many on my list.

Which people in my profession would i love to meet in 2017?

Danai Gurira, Viola Davis Shonda Ryms

What project, in 2017, am I looking forward to work on?

! am very open and welcoming all great things coming in for 2017. Also I am working on a stage play. Right now I am in the finance status. So I am looking forward to get that through, so I can bring the piece on stage here in Germany.

Where can you see me or my work in 2017?

On German TV in Tatort, in Eltern allein Zuhause

What do the words “Passion Never Retires” mean to me?

Passion is passion. You have it or you don’t. And no matter what, if you have it you will always want to live that passion. Sometimes big, sometimes small, but even when we turn 100, we can always live that passion.

Which creative heroines should Peter invite to tell their story?

Tomo Kawaguchi : tomoyume469@hotmail.com

How can you contact me?

dayan@dayan-k.de

FILMMAKERS: http://filmmakers.de/dayan-kodua

And IMDB: http://www.imdb.com/name/nm2146582/

* When you have written books: http://www.myblackskin.de

Leave a Reply

