The Heroine’s Journey of Francesca Giraudi

What is the best thing that I love about my work?

I am a figurative painter and a digital artist. Although both disciplines involve different execution methods, they give me the challenge to investigate the inner aspects of myself. My work demands a continuous, personal research. Identifying my strengths as well my limits and working to go beyond them are constant parts of my work. Visual art is a matter of communication: a story, a feeling, an emotion. It’s like a poem, where the author has the moral duty to convey his sight and make it everyone’s.

What is my idea of perfect happiness?

Reaching a good balance between my deepest desires and goals and the duties of everyday life. Happiness is made up of moments. I am happy when I feel the connection to the Whole, when I experiment the sense of my existence on Earth. Every time I feel comfortable with Me among the Others I am happy.

What is my greatest fear?

My greatest fear is to see the signs of aging and at the same time not to understand the real meaning of life completely. I am 44 years old now and my aim is to become more and more receptive and reactive and so wiser and happier.

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself?

The impatience.

Which living persons in my profession do I most admire?

Anselm Kiefer. I love his delicacy and strength/”brutality” of his works, made up of several layers of painting and natural elements, masterfully blended.

What is my greatest extravagance?

The attraction by the exciting events as well the spontaneity. Restrictions are not for me.

On what occasion would I lie?

I would probably lie to a stupid, dishonest and mean person.

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work?

Working at home at the moment: I really hate to clean it up. When I used to have my studio, I could leave everything as it was.

When and where was I the happiest, in my work?

It happened in 2007 in Milan. My decision to make Art for work was recent. A photographer friend of mine introduced me to a well- known gallerist, who, seen a couple of my works, decided to offer me a solo show. The exhibition was a success: I sold three pieces and I was really happy to start the adventure of being an artist in a such encouraging way.

If I could, what would I change about myself?

The need to see tangible signs of love and care from the others and the little sense of humor that characterize me. I’m working on these aspects…

What is my greatest achievement in work?

To have overcome a whole year spent – the 2015 – destroying my works. I think it happened because I did not want to accept myself entirely.

Where would I most like to live?

In Martinique or in Japan (Matsushima’s bay). I love the sea and the water element is what I love most.

What is my most treasured possession?

The sensibility, the physical strength, the joy of living and the capacity of wonder. My enthusiasm often is like the one of a child.

What is my most marked characteristic?

My instinct and my big sense of freedom.

What is my most inspirational location, in my city?

The Sforza Castle of Milano.

What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city?

hclub>diana. It has a lovely green garden in the heart of Milano.

What books influenced my life and how?

“A Happy Death” by Albert Camus.. The book moved me because the desire of happiness burns in the protagonist. The happiness is the realization of an internal desire of liberty, self-determination and knowledge.

Who are my favorite writers?

Raymond Quenau; Albert Camus; Raymond Radiguet. I do love the poems of Rainer Maria Rilke and Jorge Luis Borges.

You Only Die Once. What music would I listen on my last day?

“Le boomerang” by Serge Gainsbourg. I would ask to play it twice, because the great song lasts 2 minutes and 52 seconds only…

Who is my hero or heroine in fiction?

Léon (Jean Reno)

Who are my heroes and heroines in real life?

Those, men and women, young or old, black, yellow, white, who show passion and joy in what they do, no matter in which field. Those who struggle, those who spent their time to dedicate themselves in their activity generously have my full respect and admiration.

These people give me a big strength and energy always and they are heroes to me, because through their attitude and actions they become wonderful teachers.

Which movie would I recommend to see once in a lifetime?

I would recommend two movies, that have something in common, even if they take place in two different epochs. “Mephisto” by István Szabó and “Being John Malkovich” by Spike Jonze.

What role plays art in my life and work?

Art plays a central role in my life since the teen years. I inherited the art’s passion from my mother. My University thesis was a critical essay on a triptych by F. Bacon. For several years I worked at art galleries and for some art magazines, publishing my interviews to well-known artists. During those years I’ve always painted and written poems. In 2007 I decided to make art for work. Actually Art is my life and my work. There are no boundaries between the two dimensions. I learned and I firmly believe that a good artist is a good and devoted human being.

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime?

My greatest fan and partner in crime is my 9 years old daughter, Lucilla. Some paintings of mine have become hers. They hang on her room’s walls. No way to sell them! Some years ago a lawyer friend of mine has been my sponsor for a while. In a time where galleries ask money to show emerging artists works, I should say that the galleries who believe in you are sponsors. Fortunately, I have met some of them. Finally, there’s my father, who, during the last years, commissioned me several digital and painted works. Thanks My Dear Dad!

Whom would I like to work with in 2017?

On December 2016 I wrote to Sandro Chia, plucking up the courage and following my instinct, proposing him to exhibit together, because he is a well-know, talented and colourful Italian figurative artist, who I admire. Although we did not know each other, he answered me very kindly asking me to write down why that proposal could have been a successful idea. Excited I enumerated the reasons but no reply till today arrived me…So, I would really like to work with Sandro Chia before 2017 ends…..Let’s keep the fingers crossed J)

Which people in my profession would I love to meet in 2017?

Sandro Chia, for the reasons I’ve explained. Anselm Kiefer, because he inspires me and because I believe that my way of painting has some connections with the German Expressionist roots. I would also love to interact with the dance-actors of the Tanztheater Wuppertal Pina Bausch. Pina Bausch is a figure who I admire for her attention/ tension to the human contradictory aspects. My research points to reveal the inner feelings of men and women. In this sense I feel close to the German expressionist tradition.

What project, in 2017, am I looking forward to work on?

I am working on a very challenging project already, which I submitted to a prestigious Gallery in Milan on June 2016 and that it has been accepted. Starting from a tribute to Shunga, the exhibition is going to be, through the artworks realized by two contemporary figurative artists, (a Japanese artist and myself) an occasion to show and to underline the affinities, at least in origin, between the two cultures- eastern and western- on the eroticism’s theme.

Where can you see me or my work in 2017?

On May 23 to June 10 2017 (estimated dates) bi- personal “Kisu no Hi”. On display 10 new works at Galleria Paraventi Giapponesi- Alessio Nobili (www.paraventigiapponesi.it/) Via Marsala, 4, Milan.

On May 14 to July 16 2017 – during the Venice Biennale – Group Exhibition at Ca Faccanon, Venice.

Before the 27th of May 2017 Group Exhibition “The landscapes by the Serenissima Republic of Venice in the modern age” in the city of Casaleone (VR).

On October 20/22, 2017 Group Exhibition at the Carrousel du Louvre, Paris.

What do the words “Passion Never Retires” mean to me?

To me they mean perseverance, faith, joy, curiosity, inner wealth, no expiration date, life, research, search, experiences, to make sense, that never end, unless we decide to be resigned human beings.

How can you contact me? You can contact me by e-mail: fgiraudi@libero.it by Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/giraudifrancesca/ by facebook: https://www.facebook.com/francesca.giraudi.10

My two books.  Intimate Wilderness and Artisti 

Leave a Reply

