The Heroine’s Journey of Jessie Varin from La Nouvelle Seine

What is the best thing that I love about my work?

Ma liberté, J’ai rêvé le métier que je fais aujourd’hui. Je ne pensais pas y arriver un jour, et pourtant. J’ai ma propre salle de spectacle, un lieu de liberté artistique totale, que je dirige avec une équipe que j’adore. Et puis la vue de mon lieu de travail… Notre Dame de Paris.
My freedom, I dreamt of doing exactly this. I didn’t think I could make it, and yet… I have my own theater/I own a theater and I’m totally free there artistically wise, and I love the team I work with. And of course you can’t beat the view : Notre Dame.
What is my idea of perfect happiness?
Un fou rire grâce à mon amoureux ! A lover that makes you burst out laughing.
What is my greatest fear?
Que la salle de mon théâtre soit vide… Not selling a ticket / That the curtain open to an empty room.
What is the trait that I most deplore in myself?
Mon anxiété due souvent à un manque de confiance en soi…
Anxiousness, I should trust myself more…
Which living persons in my profession do i most admire?
Tous les comédiens avec lesquels je travaille, j’ai besoin d’aimer et d’admirer leur travail pour les programmer au théâtre.
All the actors/comedians I work with. I need to love and admire someone to work with them
What is my greatest extravagance?
Rouler en scooter dans Paris malgré mon côté très tête en l’air.
To ride a scooter in Paris knowing I’m such a scatterbrain !
On what occasion would I lie?
Pour éviter de blesser quelqu’un.  Not to hurt someone.
What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work?
Régler tous les petits problèmes du quotidien, de la fuite d’eau dans les toilettes, à la coupure d’internet… J’ai très peu de patience dans ce genre de cas. Dealing with all the day to day small problems ; going from a leak in the toilets to fixing the internet connexion. I have no patience for that.
When and where was I the happiest, in my work?
Quand la soirée est sur le point de commencer, qu’il y a cette petite excitation, tout le monde s’affaire pour que tout soit prêt pour nos premiers clients. Et les spectateurs qui te remercient lorsqu’ils sortent des spectacles après avoir ri, pleuré, réfléchis…
When the show is about to begin and that everyone keeps fixing up small details to make it as close to perfection as possible. The excitement we all feel without needing to talk is precious. And of course when the public comes out after the show to thank or congratulate us for making them laugh, cry, think…
If I could, what would I change about myself?
Rien, il serait temps que j’apprenne à m’aimer comme je suis !
Nothing, it’s about time I should love myself as I am.
What is my greatest achievement in work?
Ouvrir ce Théâtre indépendant à Paris malgré la concurrence et un contexte économique peu favorable. No doubt opening this indépendant theater in Paris despite a fierce compétition and a challenging economic background.
Where would I most like to live?
Paris, dans mon quartier du 19ième arrondissement près des Buttes Chaumont. J’y suis trop bien. Where I actually live, in Paris near les Buttes Chaumont in the 19th arrondissement. I love it there.
What is my most treasured possession?
Mon Vespa Rouge !
My red vespa !
What is my most marked characteristic?
Mes lunettes de soleil en toute circonstance.
My sunglasses… no matter what !
What is my most inspirational location, in my city?
La Péniche la Nouvelle Seine. The barge La nouvelle Seine
What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city?
Chez Justine, rue Oberkampf – Paris 11
What books influenced my life and how?
Le LION de Kessel… A l’époque je ne savais pas qu’on pouvait pleurer en lisant un livre. The Lion of Kessel… Back then I didn’t know you could cry reading a book. 
You Only Die Once. What music would I listen on my last day?
Try a little tenderness by Otis REDDING
Who is my hero or heroine in fiction?
Jessica PEARSON dans la Série SUIT, ou Olivia POPE dans SCANDAL. Je suis une série addict. Des femmes fortes, malignes dans les affaires et toujours très très bien habillées. Jessica Pearson in Suit or Olivia Pope in Scandal. I’m a series addict. Strong women, cunning in business and always very well dressed.
Who are my heroes and heroines in real life?
Nelson Mandela, Victor Schœlcher et tous ceux qui ont lutté contre des discriminations. and all that who fought against discrimination.
Which movie would i recommend to see once in a lifetime?
Eternal sunshine of the spotless mind by Michel GONDRY
What role plays art in my life and work?
C’est mon métier, ma passion… Par l’art, j’aime apprendre, rire, pleurer… Il est partout, tout le temps… Art is what is driving me, more than a job it’s a passion. I learn, laugh and cry through art. It’s every where, all the time.
Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime?
Toute ma famille et ma maman en particulier. My whole family, my mom in particular
Whom would I like to work with in 2017?
Kery James et J.R pour une installation autour du bateau… for an installation around the barge.
Which people in my profession would i love to meet in 2017?
Notre nouvelle ministre de la culture pour qu’elle me propose une énorme subvention pour aider le Théâtre de la Nouvelle seine
Our new minister of the arts, so that she gives us a big grant and help us do more things at La Nouvelle Seine.
What project, in 2017, am I looking forward to work on?
Développer ma jeune boite de production dans le spectacle vivant, trouver le prochain artiste que j’aimerais accompagner vers le succès…
Where can you see me or my work in 2017?
www.lanouvelleseine.com – Péniche sur Berges, face au 3 Quai de Montebello – 75005 PARIS.
What do the words “Passion Never Retires” mean to me?
Ma raison de vivre et de me lever le matin… Sans passion… il n’y a rien ! It’s the reason for me to even breathe and get up in the morning. Nothing can be without passion.
Which creative heroines should Peter invite to tell their story?

Caroline DROGO une superbe peintre – illustratrice, avec laquelle je travaille a la Nouvelle Seine – http://www.carolinedrogo.com/ a wonderful painter and illustrator I have the pleasure to work with on the barge.

How can you contact me?

jessie@lanouvelleseine.com

Intragram #lanouvelleseine

Leave a Reply

