The Heroine’s Journey of Princess Mapp

What is the best thing that I love about my work?

I love to create! Literally when I take something, from nothing my insides get warm and fuzzy. Now don’t get me wrong because when I photograph a person the canvas is already beautiful. My job is to bring out the best of what is already there. Kind like the cherry on top of the the whip cream well in this case a photograph or video.

What is my idea of perfect happiness?

My idea of perfect happiness is doing what you love. I believe that the majority of people spend half their lives trying to figure that part out. It is the subtle soft inclinations that we should follow to get to the end of the rainbow. Don’t get me wrong I have been around the mulberry bush one hundred and one times! It is a process that when you finally realize OH MY Goodness I can do this forever then you are tapping into your greatness. I love to take pictures, shot videos and write! These are my perfect happy buttons.

What is my greatest fear?

I dread leaving this earth and not finishing the things that God put in my heart to do. For one I truly believe my projects will be a blessing to so many others. So why go to the grave not accomplishing the journey to be a light based on my own self discoveries? It is our servitude to allow our experiences to be a bridge for others whether good or bad as they too self discover life. Who wouldn’t want a handbook? “The Do’s and Don’t’s in Life…by an Overzealous Entrepreneur Mama!” My life will be televised, in other words FEAR is not an option as I fight to beat the clock!

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself?

I have been guilty on more than one occasion of being too nice. You know the saying people take your kindness for weakness. Well, I am from an era that you treat people how you want to be treated so I can’t bend out of that position because I deal with a few tyrants from time to time. We all do. I was the girl that said, “Hey what just happened?” Now in the case of being too nice it has caused me some losses because I thought I was doing the right thing and in the end yep I was left holding the bag. I won’t stop being nice but I do take precaution on the choices I make in business and life. Lessons learned which usually is the best teacher, your experiences.

Which living persons in my profession do i most admire?

Wow who do I most admire? Well, I love Quentin Tarantino for is excellence to be different and unique in his story telling as a director, writer, and actor. He gave a lot of unknown actors chances that put them on the map. Yes, Tyler Perry is among the list simply because I coined myself “Tyler Princess.” The actress, writer, author, photographer, videographer, editor, comedic actress who can legally wear a dress when I look like a Granny. I can’t forget to mention Tracie Ullman, one of my favorites! I love to dress in different characters and make people laugh with the variety of my voices. A huge part of my inspiration came from watching her when I was younger.

What is my greatest extravagance?

Okay there is a toss up between clothes and shoes. Every lady loves a good shoe but then again something about looking good and feeling good. Okay yes I am guilty of shopping. There I said it! I have this store that I am totally addicted to called Cache’. Everyone should have at least 2 Saint Johns in their selection.

On what occasion would I lie?

Oh gosh I think I would lie under pressure in a situation that was life or death. Then again I am a big mamas bear so if it meant getting my kids out of a bind I may call it fibbing just to feel better about lying. I really do straddle on the fence of feeling guilty and not doing the right thing. There is a big conviction going on when I do. Usually I am just not a good lier. I will probably be the first to give up the goods.

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work?

I can be perfectionist at times which is not good. This can get you stuck going over something too much or not believing it is just right, let it go. I have had to trust my gut and realize I did what I can do time to pass it along on the converter belt to get finished in some cases. I had a feature film I wrote years ago that I finally dusted off and had someone read for an edit. They came back with a positive response saying um this is fine what are you waiting on? I just heard crickets like um well nothing I guess! So yes learning to let go and let God.

When and where was I the happiest, in my work?

There is something about looking at a finished thing. For instance after taking pictures and I sit down to edit I am like totally blown away at what I captured in the moment. Even when I am editing and I put together the pieces that was in my head it feels so good looking at the finished product. I am still learning on many levels but as I go I am the happiest when I see it all come together. Of course my belly kicks along the way.

If I could, what would I change about myself?

One of the worst traits I have is procrastinating. UUGH! Yes, I am guilty of putting a few things off and I am raising my hand so I can be accountable to someone. After you read this just give me a nudge and check, ask me if I’m on track because this girl has so much work ahead of her that there is no time to sit and twiddle these thumbs.

What is my greatest achievement in work?

When I am able to put smiles on others faces. I think this is a huge achievement because it shows a sense of accomplishment. Maybe it was a smile but ever a tear whatever I am creating it needs to pull the emotion of the individual that is viewing it whether it is photograph, video or a book. My job ultimately is to make sure I can trigger that persons emotions one way or another.

Where would I most like to live?

Honestly I love California. I am a Cali girl although I grew up in Hawaii my heart is in California! The sun, rain, mountain, hills, beaches are at my finger tips. You can’t help but love it. I can recall my daughter telling me adamantly she wanted to live where there are regular seasons. I just looked at her and replied I don’t think you would like that. So we had an experience of a really cold winter night in the desert and she quickly told me that she cancelled that idea.

What is my most treasured possession?

My camera, pen and my pad. These three devices will be in charge of changing the world around me through the expression of my creativity. They will make sure I leave a legacy through my work for my children and a road “Mapp” for my kids if they get off track. They will make sure I stay on course to complete everything that is a good and perfect which came from above. I will be able to make life stand still in a moment and others can always go back and reflect on that particular day in life where time froze because of the click of a button or by rewinding that day. I do the world no justice by running out of ink.

What is my most marked characteristic?

I think it is my personality! I am a funny person by nature and love to make other laugh. I will dress up with little spectacles, put on a big butt and throw on a grey wig and my granny will go to work in the cutest way. Now if I don’t have the props, the voice gets them every time. Seriously though it is my huge personality and love for others!

What is my most inspirational location, in my city?

My most inspirational location in my city is to sit in front of my computer. As long as I am able to type and think I’m thrilled. I have mountains that are in my view through the window as I create. Now if I have to get out and take headshot I usually find that Lancaster Blvd has great backdrops that I love! Drive a few miles anywhere in town and the Joshua trees are amazing to include in my pictures. I had a great time photographing my daughter who is a young actress, Princess K. Mapp, splat dab in the middle of a field of Joshua Trees.

What is my favorite place to eat and drink, in my city?

I love mediterranean food. There is a restaurant in my city called Olive’s and the food is amazing. They always have a great selection of wine. Okay I could be partial because I filmed their commercial but no really it is delicious. Located right on Lancaster Blvd. in the city of Lancaster.

What books influenced my life and how?

I have always had a passion for business. With that journey I love Napoleon Hills,” Think and Grow Rich.” I actually keep it near and may pick it up time to time. So intriguing to know what got others clicking in their journey of success. I always think about a section in their that explained Henry Ford not having the answer when posed a question but he hired the right person that did. When he pushed a button on his desk that person appeared. What a wonderful approach in life, we are all valuable one way or another. I may not have the answers but collectively we can get the job done together. The other one is “Battlefield of the Mind,” by Joyce Myers. I learned that I had to change my thinking in matters and get past the negativity by understand Gods word is last and final. Sometimes we can let negative thoughts dictate our flow in life. Think positive for better results is key.

Who are my favorite writers?

Joyce Myers, Rick Warren, Cindy Trimm and Bishop McClendon. These all have a common thread spiritually but I believe it is key to have a base to springboard from so I have to be right in my foundation first or nothing else matters. I can have all the success and money but be standing on quicksand without a firm foundation. These writers have all given me that one way or another. Plus I keep their books near cause I never know when I need pull out my arsenal. Now on the fictional side I will say Paulo Coleho and his book “The Alchemist”. I read this book in my early adulthood and realized how important it is to succeed in whatever I do so that I can change the world around me. That ripple affect for family, friend and community.

You Only Die Once. What music would I listen on my last day?

I am a jazzy type of girl with a lot of soul and R and B so put on some David Sanburn then slowly mix in my girl Sade, later add little Keshia Cole as I reflect on my life or even Masha Ambrosius. I would rock into the night with Michael Jackson and think about getting down with Prince and then end with everyones girl Alicia Keys-This Girl is on Fire!

Who is my hero or heroine in fiction?

Now call me corky why don’t you or common but what woman doesn’t think she is Wonder Woman? I truly believe I can leap over tall buildings-no obstacle is too big, defeat the bad guys- kill them with kindness and bring home the bacon to fry it upon in a pan. I have had the pleasure of being a mom that has learned to balance it all. We moms are the true hero that Wonder Woman definitely exemplifies.

Who are my heroes and heroines in real life?

My mother has been my Hero. She overcame so many things through my lifetime. I learned what tenacity meant. Perseverance and love looked liked up close and personal. I am who I am because of Jeanne Maria Mapp. She looked life in the eyes regardless of what lemons where dished at her she made the best lemonade. I know how to be the best I can be in any situation because of my mother going before me. The great actress, the best mom, a phenomenal business woman all came from my life love experience with my mother. No school or teacher could give me that, thanks mommy R.I.H.

Which movie would i recommend to see once in a lifetime?

The Imitation of Life is a movie to see in your lifetime. This story was very powerful to me not that I had a similar situation but because sometimes we can take things for granted in any situation not realizing what is important and what’s not. Hold on to your relations through family and friends that have true value because in life when something is gone or over you can’t get it back.

What role plays art in my life and work?

The greatest role I ever had and still have is being a mother. I am entrusted by God to guide a part of His creation based on my experiences. It starts at home. I grew up in Hawaii and had the pleasure of being in a big melting pot. I learned how to treat others how I want to be treated. I learned there were no color lines there. Yes, fast forward and this life has changed over the years where things are very different. Do I want to run away to my little grass shack in Hawaii sometimes? Most certainly! But what was instilled in me and the values I learned then define me by my character now. I teach my kids the same things.

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime?

My oldest son, Ikaika is my ace, confident and forever motivator! I had him at a younger age but as I went through life discoveries he was right there cheering me on. Now he is my counselor and guide when I hit any bumps in the road. It surprised me that one day I found myself listening to him on advice about my finances and thought wow I did a great job!

Whom would I like to work with in 2017?

If I can work side by side with Viola Davis and Denzil Washington would be ideal. I would be a sponge sucking it all up as I learn how a great actress transform into the character all the while learning how to direct a masterpiece, one of my projects of course. This would be ideal but I could settle on my daughter playing a young Viola under Denzil Washington’s direction. One or the other would be fine with me.

Which people in my profession would i love to meet in 2017?

Meryl Streep would be first on the list. I believe she has some golden nuggets I can chip away from all aspects of the business. Her knowledge would be priceless being that she has managed to sustain herself in this industry and seen so much. Goldie Hawn follows after reading her Biography I feel more in love with her infectiousness personality. Oprah Winfrey of course, who doesn’t want to meet Oprah? Tyler Perry since I find myself closet to him in a lot of ways. I was listening to him one day talk about finding that one thing and sticking to it! That motivated me especially since I have heard that over and over. I’m going to end on The Boss~ Diana Ross, my girl!

What project, in 2017, am I looking forward to work on?

I am currently in a pilot that is being shopped. What I love about it is that I know many lives will be inspired and transformed as they watch. The best part is I will be able to be me and my projects that I won’t go to my grave with will all unfold one by one.

Where can you see me or my work in 2017?

I am in a movie called “On The Run” that should be coming out. I play a feisty chick called Lucy. On a Network near you~ pilot in negotiations as we speak! My book which is a journal for moms you can purchase through blurb.com(link below). I also have a kids book series and the first one will be launched this spring. It is a wonderful series that gives kids in distress hope. Look for that soon.

What do the words “Passion Never Retires” mean to me?

When you have found that thing, that one thing that motivates you like nothing else you will always have a drive like no other. That passion is a burning light that stays lit all the while as you pursue the dream. Things just get better in time and as you grow you continue to glow. That light never goes out.

Which creative heroines should Peter invite to tell their story?

Cheryl Rich, Tameka Cruel, Camille King,Ty Creative and Seana Goodson,

How can you contact me?

(661)412-3003 princesscabproductions@gmail.com http://www.crownedatbirthproductions.com http://www.crownedatbirthphotos.com https://vimeo.com/crownedatbirthproduction http://www.blurb.com/user/princesslee?profile_preview=true

Leave a Reply

