The Heroine’s Journey of Verena Altenberger

What is the best thing that I love about my work?
Due to my job, I’m able to deep dive into various milieus, scenes, professions with which I’d probably never been in contact. Most of the time, these encounters are extremely enriching. Every day I learn more and more. Furthermore, I have the feeling, the acting world has somehow different rules: Sometimes I shoot two months in a row or throughout the whole night, sometimes I have a lot of leisure time (while everyone else is working in a nine-to-five job). On one day I do not wear anything else than my sweatpants, on the other day a designer robe on the red carpet. The acting world is quite different to the world I grew up in…

What is my idea of perfect happiness?
Demanding, intensive work, whereas having a respectful interaction. Sitting outside on an evening without the need to wear a jacket and to drink wine and eat cheese with friends and family.

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself?
Every now and then I’d like to be more encouraged.

What is my greatest extravagance?
I hardly ever cook at home but rather go to good restaurants instead.

On what occasion would I lie?
Frankly, I do not think lying is such a big sin…Thus I lie every now and then – I’m a story teller 😉

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work?
On the one hand there is a kind of uncertainty in my work; although this means also being free in so many things. On the other hand, I sometimes wish I could act according to the book, had someone who could easily tell me what is right and what is wrong. But this is an illusion in my profession.

When and where was I the happiest, in my work?
In summer 2016 I shot the drama “The best of all worlds” in Salzburg where I grew up. I could play using my very own dialect/heritage and work with Adrian Goiginger who is a great director and whom I admire.

If I could, what would I change about myself?
Sometimes I’d like to think less and just use the “power off” button in my head.

What is my greatest achievement in work?
I’m able to agree to roles which are important to me as a person and as an actress due to my current economic and personal setup.

Where would I most like to live?
I love Vienna where I currently live. Thinking about the future, I sometimes dream of a hideaway in the Tuscany, Italy. Nevertheless, I hope I can spend a good time in many different and interesting locations because of my work. I would love to stay in New York, Rome, Paris and Bangkok for a while.

What is my most treasured possession?
My photo albums.

What is my most marked characteristic?
Over the moon – down in the dumps.

What is my most inspirational location, in my city?
The Danube Canal in Vienna: This river floats right through the city’s heart – feels like being at the pulse of Vienna.

What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city?
The “Il bio” – a very small and family owned organic food restaurant in the 7th district of Vienna. They don’t have a menu but serve what is available that day.
www.ilbio.at

What books influenced my life and how?
“The House of the Spirits” (“La casa de los espíritus”) by Isabel Allende and “One Hundred Years of Solitude” (“Cien años de soledad”) by Gabriel García Márques. Because of their strong, magical female characters and interesting, fine-spun family stories.

Who are my favorite writers?
Stefan Zweig, Isabel Allende, Pablo Neruda, Erich Kästner, Bertold Brecht, Carlos Ruiz Zafón, Hernik Ibsen, Gabriel García Márques, Jörg Fauser.

You Only Die Once. What music would I listen on my last day?
I don’t know yet.

Who are my heroes and heroines in real life?
My mother.

Which movie would I recommend to see once in a lifetime?
Forrest Gump.

What role plays art in my life and work?
I see my profession as art and my biggest wish is this stays as is.

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime?
My partner in crime? Definitely my boyfriend.

Whom would I like to work with in 2017?
I’d like to shoot a valuable Austrian movie again. There a so many great movies made in Austria, so many interesting directors. And maybe there will be a project abroad too. I’d be very happy with that.

What project, in 2017, am I looking forward to work on?
I am really looking forward to shoot an interesting short movie project with Adrian Goiginger.

Where can you see me or my work in 2017?
Right now in cinemas in Austria and Germany: „Die Hölle“ by Stefan Ruzowitzky. Cinema release worldwide and release of “The best of all worlds” tba.

How can you contact me?
Via my homepage www.verena-altenberger.com

Leave a Reply

