The Heroine’s Journey of Barbara Alesse

What is the best thing that I love about my job? Maybe that I can change “life” very often. It means that every character I play gives me the possibility of wearing somebody else’ shoes but also every work I accept means new colleagues, new directors, and new cities, new “homes”.

What is my idea of perfect happiness?  Being in peace with myself and people I love.

What is my greatest fear?  The death of someone I love.

What is the trait that I most hate  in myself?  I don’t conclude all of my projects!

Which living persons in my profession do i most admire? In this moment I’ve the chance to work with Gabriele Lavia: he’s a real master, he knows every aspect of theatre and he has an enormous culture. He spends his life studying but luckily he has also the will to teach…

What is my greatest extravagance?  The colour of my clothes must reflect the colour of my mood…

On what occasion would I lie?  To get the role I want…

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work?  To negotiate the salary with productions every time…

When and where was I the happiest, in my work?  All the performances of “Noises Off” in Genova ( almost 200 in the same city!) and when I worked in Egypt for the Jouhayna spot, the most shared in 2014 by Egyptian women…

If I could, what would I change about myself?  I would like to be less rigid, mentally and physically!

What is my greatest achievement in work? I got a graduation in theatre and a diploma in acting in one of the best schools in Italy  (Scuola del Teatro Stabile di Genova). Working as a director, recently, gave me a lot of satisfaction.

Where would I most like to live? Paris! The city I belong to, where I really feel myself.

What is my most treasured possession? I don’t like to be attached to material things but maybe the ring of the engagement is what I appreciate most.

What is my most marked characteristic? Once I would say I’m very serious… Now I say that I’m very changeable!

What is my most inspirational location, in my city?  Piazza del Pantheon, Rome.

What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city? Giolitti, a marvellous cafeteria near the “Laghetto dell’Eur”

What books influenced my life and how? “Little women” and “Reading Lolita in Teheran”: both of them made me love literature more and more! And also because I’ve always wanted to be Jo and after the reading of the Azar Nafisi’s book I started studying Iran history.

Who are my favorite writers? In general, I love all the books of Murakami Haruki, Dostojevskij, Tolstoy,  Calvino,  Shakespeare, Natalia Ginzburg, Jane Austen

You Only Die Once. What music would I listen on my last day? Dreams,by Cranberries, I don’t know why!!!!

Who is my hero or heroine in fiction? Princess Sissi,  I’m too romantic…

Who are my heroes and heroines in real life? Meryl Streep, Samantha Cristoforetti, Simon de Beauvoir, Rita Levi Montalcini, Maria Montessori, Marjane Satrapi, Ariane Mnouchkine. My heroines are all women…

Which movie would i recommend to see once in a lifetime? Citizen Kane: maybe it’s a common choice but it’s a real masterpiece!

What role plays art in my life and work? I work in theatre, art is the target of my work. But I can’t consider myself an artist, I’m only a humble student in art. In my life, art means living memorable moments, searching  beauty…

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime?  My partner, Massimiliano: we like to work together and we’re trying to produce our plays!

Whom would I like to work with in 2017?  Toni Servillo!

Which people in my profession would i love to meet in 2017? Can I daydream? Leonardo Di Caprio and Meryl Streep 🙂

What project, in 2017, am I looking forward to work on?  I directed a play, “La rivoluzione delle sedie” and I really would like if it could be performed abroad…

Where can you see me or my work in 2017? I’m in tournée with Gabriele Lavia and Michele Demaria in “L’uomo dal fiore in bocca” (Pirandello), we’ll be in Savona (1-3 march), Verona (7-12 march), Reggio Emilia (14 and 15 March), Livorno (17 and 18 march), and then, we’ll see…

What do the words “Passion Never Retires” mean to me? The only thing I can do is following my passion..

Which creative heroines should Peter invite to tell their story? I suggest to Peter Ilaria Cinefra, Valeria Perdonò and Marielle Gautier.

How can you contact me? On Facebook! You can find me or the page about “La Rivoluzione delle Sedie”, the last play I directed.

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=OmWW9wKC_zw

https://www.amazon.it/Ariane-Mnouchkine-Th%C3%A9%C3%A2tre-Soleil-Barbara/dp/8889036214/ref=sr_1_12?ie=UTF8&qid=1488321775&sr=8-12&keywords=ariane+Mnouchkine

Leave a Reply

