The Heroine’s Journey of Courtney Cannon

What is the best thing that I love about my work?

I love that I am getting paid to do something I have always enjoyed. I have always had a love of books and being able to work in the industry as both a writer and in the author services industry means that I can be hands on with readers and writers throughout the publishing process. I am able to see characters spring to life little by little until they find their place in the heart of readers. I also get to know those readers and form strong emotional bonds of friendship.

What is my idea of perfect happiness?

Being able to spend time with the people I love and create my stories without the worry of finances. Not worrying that because of the paths that I have chosen and others that have been thrust upon me that my children will suffer in some way.

What is my greatest fear?

Leaving things unfinished. I take on a massive amount of work for other people, and while I love helping other authors achieve their dreams, I sometimes feel as if I will never have time to fully explore my own writing.

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself?

I think at times I am too hard on myself. I hold myself to an unattainable standard at times. Because I am so ambitious, and I want to learn or do so many things at once, it can make me feel inadequate when I don’t do as well at something as I think I should.

Which living persons in my profession do I most admire?

I am going to have to go with J.K. Rowling. She is a woman of integrity who literally pulled herself out of depression, a bad relationship, and poverty and created a world that inspires so many people young and old. She is also a very giving person and devotes much of her time and resources to charity work. She always stands up for what is right, no matter the cost, and I admire that. She is a woman of conviction.

What is my greatest extravagance?

Books and chocolate. I end up buying a lot of books and chocolate is a must have to keep myself functioning. I am an ad clicker. If I see an ad for a book with an interesting cover and synopsis, I will most likely either order the book or send myself a sample to see if I would like to purchase it at a later date. I am also subscribed to several free and discounted book newsletters, which does nothing to cull my Amazon shopping habits.

On what occasion, would I lie?

To spare someone’s feelings. I don’t like hurting people, and sometimes they need to be told a half-truth, so they keep trying. I don’t think we should completely lie to them, but maybe just express constructive criticism with a smile and an offering of support.

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work?

How much of my time it consumes. I rarely sleep because I am always so busy.

When and where was I the happiest, in my work?

I think that depends. I am always glad to deliver a story or a cover to someone and have them be excited because it is what they envisioned or is better than what they envisioned for their book. That makes me tremendously happy.

If I could, what would I change about myself?

My self-doubt. I struggle with doubting myself and my abilities often.

What is my greatest achievement in work?

I think that is yet to come. I think my greatest achievement will be opening my publishing company in June or July and also in releasing my first fulllength novel. I think in the past, finally getting a piece published in an anthology was an incredible achievement, but the best is yet to come.

Where would I most like to live?

Ireland! I have been dreaming about Ireland since I was a little girl. I have always had a deep connection to it for some unexplainable reason. It was always my dream to move there and write my book!

What is my most treasured possession?

My children. They are the reason I work so hard. I strive to provide for them, not only necessities but to teach them that hard work does pay off and that you can do and learn anything that you put your mind to.

What is my most marked characteristic?

 

My determination. I never give up. I always keep fighting no matter what is thrown at me.

What is my most inspirational location, in my city?

I will probably have a different answer than anyone who lives here, but I find Steele Creek park to be very inspirational to me because of the peace and tranquility of it.

What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city?

The Olive Garden! I love Italian food, and their salad is amazing!

What books influenced my life and how?

Anything by J.R.R Tolkien. I have been a huge fan of his works since I was a child. I am also fond of J.K. Rowling, Jane Austen and Charles Dickens.

You Only Die Once. What music would I listen on my last day?

Probably David Bowie or Joy Division. I am very varied regarding musical taste, but I do tend to like songs with lyrics that mean something and that speak of pain or life lessons.

Who is my hero or heroine in fiction?

Samwise Gamgee. Sam is an often-overlooked character because he’s not the clear choice of hero. He is a gardener. He was not the one chosen to take the one ring to Mt. Doom, but without him, Frodo would have never made it there. He is a shining example of not judging a book by its cover. He’s the fierce friend, the most loyal and loving character and, I believe, the strongest of the entire fellowship.

Which movie would I recommend to see once in a lifetime?

The Boy In the Striped Pajamas. I think there is a message in that movie that everyone should take to heart. It could be you. It could be me. If a little boy who was so innocent could be treated that way, then it could definitely happen to any of us. We should never think that we are safe from hate and bigotry and we should always strive to extinguish such feelings in others to safeguard the future so that no more innocent little souls will suffer from ignorance.

What role plays art in my life and work?

Art is a great deal of what I do. I design digital art, I create and promote art of the mind. I would say that art is my life in general, every day.

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime?

My sister. My little sister is the greatest soul I have likely ever met. She understands me, she believes in me, and she is the most giving person. I love her to pieces.

Whom would I like to work with in 2017?

I’d love to collaborate with my best friend Lauren this year on a book. She is just getting back into writing, but her ideas are brilliant!

Which people in my profession would I love to meet in 2017?

I would probably faint if I ever got the chance to meet either J.K. Rowling or Cassandra Clare.

What project, in 2017, am I looking forward to work on?

Finishing my novel “Forget Me Not” I think that will be my main goal, as well as starting the sequel.

Where can you see me or my work in 2017?

On my websites, Facebook, Twitter, YouTube. I am a bit of everywhere on the web!

What do the words “Passion Never Retires” mean to me?

That I will never be finished! That when you have a passion for something, you can’t just stop, it drives you and consumes you until you do its will or until you are miserable for ignoring it.

Which creative heroines should Peter invite to tell their story?

Rebekah Dodson would be a wonderful addition to this collection.

How can you contact me?

Newsletter: http://eepurl.com/chhZkj
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/clcannonauthor/
Twitter: https://twitter.com/CLCannonAuthor
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/cl_cannon
YouTube: http://youtube.com/clcannonauthor
Amazon: http://amazon.com/author/clcannon
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/CLCannon

Leave a Reply

